We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Loco Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 27 Isla de Vieques B&B and Inns
minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Great place to stay. We still can't figure out why anyone would stay in Isabel II. Esperanza is the best and Coco loco was the perfect place to stay. Joe was wonderful: attentive, polite and super hospitable. We used the backyard space (gorgeous!) for some grilling and relaxing.

The room was clean and the kitchen was well equipped.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ally c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Great accommodations just a short walk to restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the studio a few years ago and had a great experience. The studio is perfect for a couple and is spacious and very clean. This year we went with another couple and rented the 2 bedroom apartment. It was perfect. There is plenty of space and stays very cool even in the middle of the day. It's also really nice to have a kitchen and a grill especially if you're looking to save a few bucks by not eating out every night (definitely go to the grocery store in Isabel II rather than the one down the street in Esparanza which is WAY more expensive). The outside space is awesome as well, and you can't beat evening drinks on the rooftop deck. With all of that being said, the best part about staying at Coco Loco are the wonderful hosts, Joe and Margo. They go above and beyond to make sure everyone is comfortable, and they are always willing to share their knowledge of the island. My group is already planning a repeat trip for next year and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. It's truly the best!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here in April of 2011. The location is fabulous. It's within walking distance to restaurants and the biobay tour starting location.

We really enjoyed Joe & Margaret's hospitatilty. They even let us borrow fins to use while snorkeingl. We rented the 1 br apartment downstairs. The room is nice and the bathroom was spacious. Even though it's in the middle of a neighborhood, I felt there was plenty of privacy. I liked having our own little hallway... a place to lay out sandy shoes and towels.

The reason why I rate this "average" and not "excellent" is because the bed was horrible. It was extremely uncomfortable for me and the sheets kept popping off the corners.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandagreen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We chose this lodge mainly because we will visit Biobay in Vieques during Christmas and many other lodges didn't accept one night stay. After reading all the reviews on TA, I decided to go with Coco Loco, good try, we got accepted and to ensure my place, I sent the deposit as requested.

Before we travelled, there was various news about the ferry being erratic, Margo helped us a lot by checking the updates. When we arrive, Jo & Margo also helped to call my tour guide and arranged the next early morning taxi pickup, to make sure everything goes right. I also enjoy talking with them to know more about life in Vieques & caribbean.

Regarding the lodge, it is a nice building in town of Esperanza, it is close to everything! The room is nicely decorated and is spacious! I really enjoyed my stay there and would definitely recommend anyone who is going! Pick up Coco Loco and you can't be wrong!:)

Room Tip: double room is quite nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soleil_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We had this place to ourselves for 2 nights while exploring Esperanza (without a car). It is only a 5 minute walk to town, but a fairly quiet neighborhood (no bars or other nightlife). It is an attractive house with a large backyard. The hosts, Joe and Margo, are friendly and give off a laid-back vibe. The one bedroom we stayed in was spacious and generally had what we needed.

Liked:
- 5 minute walk to town in a residential neighborhood. (although 15+ minutes from closest nice beach, since on west end of town and beaches are mostly on east end (e.g., Sun Bay)). 2 (small) grocery stores down the block.
- Full kitchen. (we cooked our breakfasts and dinners, although the very basic grocery store does make this challenging and most tourists probably would eat out, at least lunch/dinner)
- Spacious bathroom (with plenty of counter space).
- A/C in bedroom.
- Nice breezes, especially being one floor up and all the windows. Also ceiling fan in main room.
- Handy things, such as large umbrella, radio, Vieques beach guide, etc.

Disliked / room for improvement:
- Was planning on going with their recommendation for the biobay tour, using a local person (Nester) for $25/person, hoping to avoid a crowded tour. We arranged pickup (7 PM across from Tradewinds), but no one showed up after waiting 1 hour and calling and leaving voicemail. When I finally connected with him the next day, he said his staff was there (made no sense – we were sitting there and it was not crowded) and he put me on hold and then hung up on me. Bad experience, and they should not recommend him in the future. We ended up going with Blue Caribe Kayaks – the biobay was cool, but this tour operator was only OK – would probably go with Abe’s, but they were booked.
- A little noisy with the roosters and dogs, but tolerable with the A/C on and the windows closed.
- Some things showing wear & tear and could probably be replaced (e.g., can opener, umbrellas, windows in bedroom – 1 did not close all the way)
- Internet not functional (they were switching providers)
- Don’t accept credit card.
- Floor never felt that clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margo C, Owner at Coco Loco Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Margo and Joe's comments: Thank you so much for your feedback. We depend on the suggestions from our Guests in order to improve our service. Our enthusiasm for the Vieques Biobay is very great- we believe that it is so magnificent, that there isn't a Tour Guide who could "ruin" the experience. We suggest Nestor as the least expensive tour guide with a license. He would not be our top choice as far as excellence in service, interesting guide, easy to understand, or comfortable transportation. That said, we are extremely disappointed that he didn't show up for our Guests on Nov 26, 2011. In the eight years that we have suggested Nestor as a very reasonably priced guide, he has never done this. To the very nice people who were left without a tour, we are so sorry. We contacted Nestor and explained that this is very bad service, and we cannot suggest him if this is a problem with his company.
We have taken the comments about our One Bedroom Apartment very seriously, and we replaced our can-opener and the umbrellas left in the apartment. The floor is always mopped twice by our cleaning crew, and we apologize to these very nice guests; it was extremely rainy for the duration of their stay, which makes for a difficult job to keep the floor as spotless as we normally do.
We were impressed by the good nature and positive attitude of this couple- the weather was very uncooperative for a few days, but they ended up doing all the things that other vacationers do, finding opportunity in the occasional sunshine, and not letting the rain stop them from enjoying Vieques! Also, we repeat our apologies for nobody showing up to take them to the Biobay on the first night, and so happy they were able to go on the second night with a different company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We visited Vieques for one day to see Mosquito Bay and stayed in Coco Loco. Even it is low season, many hotels and B&Bs didn't accept our stay as it would be overnight; until asking Coco Loco.

Margo helped us a lot before our arrival and answered all our questions in a very quick and open way. When we arrived, Joseph welcomes us, showed our room and gave information about Vieques. We stayed in one bedroom apartment and they have everything you need. We even had two hammocks in our balcony. Rooms were very comfortable. Houses here doesn't have a glass so you can hear nature sound while sleeping which was a great experience. Margo and Joseph also gives you the opportunity to ripe your own fruit from their garden. I tried some tropical fruits and liked them!

The hotel is in Esperanza, a very cool location for tourists. This island has amazing beaches, and you can go one of them by walking from Coco Loco. For bioluminescent bay tours (with electric boat), you can take the bus, just two blocks away. There are a series of restaurants and bars again two blocks away.

A pretty apartment, good location, beautiful beaches, unbelievable mosquito bay, short but great experience for us. We loved Vieques and Coco Loco!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tosbaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.1 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
566 reviews
3.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
235 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esperanza Inn
Esperanza Inn
#3 of 24 in Isla de Vieques
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Loco Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Loco Guesthouse

Property: Coco Loco Guesthouse
Address: 14 Calle Hucar | Esperanza, 00662-2847, Puerto Rico (Formerly Alas Del Coco Loco Guesthouse)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Loco guesthouse is walking distance to just about everything you need: beaches, little grocery stores, pizza shops, parks, and the Boardwalk (Malecon) with oceanside restaurants, gift shops, bars, clothing stores, a museum with an aquarium of local creatures, rentals of kayaks, snorkeling equipment, jet-skis, and scooters, and more! The Biobay Tour companies pick up people at the corner of our street. We are in the popular neighborhood of Esperanza- but just far enough from the Boardwalk to be free from its occasional noisiness. You can walk a block and a half to join in the fun, or stay behind at Coco Loco if you want to relax! We offer cottage-style beach living at a very low price. Stay for one night, two nights, or however many you need. Our Studio is perfect for short visits or a low budget vacation. Our One Bedroom and Two Bedroom Apartments have wonderful balconies, and stairs to the rooftop! The apartments are spacious and comfortable for however long or short a time you'd like to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alas Del Coco Loco Guesthouse Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing