We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Loco Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 28 Isla de Vieques B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We went to Vieques for 2 nights and stayed with Joe and Margo at Coco Loco. It was a great place to stay. We had a suite upstairs that had a private bedroom, bath, living room, kitchen, and large shared outdoor patio. Coco Loco is a short 10 min. walk from the main strip of Esperanza. We felt very safe and everyone was very friendly. We even walked across the street to watch a baseball game with the locals one night. If you want to see alot of the island, I would recommend renting a car. However, if you plan to stay near Esperanza and relax at the nearby beaches you should be fine. There are beach chairs, coolers, etc. that they have for you to use during your stay. I def. recommend that you check out the Bioluminescent Bay tour if you can. (Abe's Snorkeling and Kayaking) Best part of our visit over to Vieques!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatorbuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Coco Loco Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 68 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2011

My friends and I traveled to Vieques in March of 2011 for a destination wedding and stayed at Coco Loco for 3 nights and had a great time!

We rented one of the second floor apartments and found the place to be clean, central to the local town, and very reasonable in terms of price.

The 1 bedroom we stayed at was very nice and comfortable and had all the little things that you needed to make your stay as enjoyable as possible – clean sheets/towels, fully working kitchen, cable ready tv, radio for listening to music, patio for sitting outside, good working showers, etc., - basically everything you would need in a stay.

Central to the local town – Coco loco is a 3 minute walk to the main strip where you can find all the island restaurants, and shops – so we were able to navigate without a car by either walking or taking cabs (always try and arrange for cabs in advance as you can’t just flag them down like New York or some other large city)

Price – We did some research on Coco Loco prior to going but upon arriving and meeting other people in the wedding party we find that the price we were paying was very competitive (if not less) than what others were paying for other establishments in the area.

Other perks –

The folks who run Coco Loco (Joe & Margo) were very nice and always willing to answer questions or address any issues that we may have had (not that we had any), but they made themselves available and I found them to be very friendly and helpful which was very much appreciated. I got a good feeling even as we were looking at options (prior to booking the apartment) as they were very responsive to my email questions and offered lots of insight on the island.

Overall, a very nice place that gets a recommendation from me!

Thanks,

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

this is the place to go it is very affordable, but better yet the hosts just have a way of making you feel at home, they are very respectful of your privacy, yet seem to be aware of your needs, we have stayed at many different places in our travels but this one seem to take the cake, very safe neighborhood, very clean accomadations, we were given all the information needed to make our vacation a worth wild experience. thank you joe and margo, we will be coming back again and again, we had had some difficulties in san juan, and these hosts just made us feel very welcome in fact they basically saved the trip for us, and just wiped the negativity right out of our vacation we would very much recommend the guest house for young and older people

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loreewade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

The owners were very courteous and have maintained the property in beautiful condition.
Joe Duncan was kind enough to drop us to the ferry terminal as our cab driver did not show up early morning at 6AM.
This was a very memorable stay.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank AllforSunandRomance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Great place to relax! A great place for romantic or family fun. Close proximity to the beach and restaurants. Friendly townspeople and great hospitality by the hosts! I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnita143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

the owners (margo and joe from ny) were more than accomodating. at some guesthouses you feel a bit like an inconvenience to the owners, such was definitely not the case here. the hospitality is generally what makes a stay a good one or a bad one. here, the hospitality was stellar. who said new yorkers were rude?

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank mjungman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We have been to Joe and Margo's guesthouse three times now and we highly recommend the location, hospitality and amenities. We rent a car, go to the local mercado for groceries and cook when we aren't at one of Vieques' awesome establishments. The beaches are some of the best in the world and all very close as the island is small and full of stuff to do. Our first visit 4 years ago has seen the island not change very much, which is a good thing. Book a night, week or longer, you will love it there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robsmoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.1 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
455 reviews
3.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,840 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flamboyan
Flamboyan
#4 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Loco Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Loco Guesthouse

Address: 14 Calle Hucar | Esperanza, 00662-2847, Puerto Rico (Formerly Alas Del Coco Loco Guesthouse)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $75 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Loco guesthouse is walking distance to just about everything you need: beaches, little grocery stores, pizza shops, parks, and the Boardwalk (Malecon) with oceanside restaurants, gift shops, bars, clothing stores, a museum with an aquarium of local creatures, rentals of kayaks, snorkeling equipment, jet-skis, and scooters, and more! The Biobay Tour companies pick up people at the corner of our street. We are in the popular neighborhood of Esperanza- but just far enough from the Boardwalk to be free from its occasional noisiness. You can walk a block and a half to join in the fun, or stay behind at Coco Loco if you want to relax! We offer cottage-style beach living at a very low price. Stay for one night, two nights, or however many you need. Our Studio is perfect for short visits or a low budget vacation. Our One Bedroom and Two Bedroom Apartments have wonderful balconies, and stairs to the rooftop! The apartments are spacious and comfortable for however long or short a time you'd like to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alas Del Coco Loco Guesthouse Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing