We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we had booked”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Sarnia, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not what we had booked”
Reviewed March 31, 2008

When we made the reservations months prior to our vacation we checked trip advisor and most of the reviews were very good. We were looking forward to meeting the owners and having a great pancake breakfast and enjoying 2 days on Vieques Island. After we got there we were told that the room that we had booked was double booked. We had booked a suite with 4 single beds. We had seen pictures on their website and that is the room that we liked the best. We were told that the only rooms left were rooms with a double bed. Edda had called our home phone after we were already in Puerto Rico to tell us that our room had been double booked but we didn't know until we arrived that day. We were very disappointed in the room. It was a small room with a very uncomfortable rollaway bed. The whole room wasn't pleasant at all. We left for the day and when we came back for the night we wanted a nice warm shower. But we ended up having a cold shower as there was no hot water. Nice!! We were very disappointed and only stayed one night. Edda tried to be pleasant but someone messed up our reservations and nothing was done to satisfy us. Not very good hospitality. We don't know what the other room that we had booked was like. We might have stayed for both nights.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trustypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    50
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
37
98
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2008

We just stayed at Tropical Guest House and the people were fantastic. The rooms are quaint but spacious and unlike any chain hotel, which was exactly what we were looking for in Vieques. It was clean, simple, with all the amenities you need - hot shower, plenty of towels, nice clean beds, tv (we never used it) and air-conditioning. Most of all the couple in charge were so welcoming and helpful, even when we had to stay an extra night on short notice. Overall the experience was great. The hotel is in a great location, close to great cafes, and the ferry. It was the perfect place to cool off after a nice hot day at the beach. If you go to Vieques, it should be first on your list. Thanks Tropical Guest House!!! We had a great time!!!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank mkeho021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2008

I have mixed feelings about Tropical guesthouse. Some of the bad is out of the hotel's control, and others can be fixed. First of all, let me say that Joe and Edda (Joe being the owner and Edda manages the guesthouse) were absolutely great. Very nice, friendly and helpful, so the service is awesome. Also, the rooms are kept very clean, which we enjoyed so much. The hotel is also close to the ferry and some good restaurants and a few of the shops in Vieques - a great coffee lounge at Roy's Coffee Lounge. The price is one of the lowest on the island, if not THE lowest. Now the other part: There is a pesky rooster and dog nearby that will wake you up at 4 am everyday. Our room was TOO basic. The bed was an uncomfortable mattress with just a frame, no headboard even, and two flat pillows and a scraggly blanket. It wasn't very comfortable at all. In my opinion, I would sacrifice the nightstand and chair in the room and just get a comfortable mattress in there with a headboard, it would be much better. Also, we couldn't get into the lounge after Edda had left for the day. I knocked on the locked door and some guests (lounge nazis) opened the door a crack and said we couldn't come in; that the lounge was only for people who stayed in the bottom half of the guesthouse, which must be true or I would have gotten a key to get in after closing time. Now that is a bunch of crap, because the lounge is one of the nicest things about the hotel. Also, maybe some of the other rooms are nicer than the one I had, who knows? I also think that Joe is wanting to make some renovations to the hotel soon - I would suggest throwing out the current beds and getting new more comfortable ones. Forget renovating everything else - all most people want who are staying at a place like this is cleanliness and a good night's sleep. And find the rooster. And make rooster stew. :) Actually,

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — uncomfortable bed and no access to lounge
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eagle2435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viequestgh, owner at Tropical Guest House, responded to this review, March 18, 2008
For our recent and future guests...Our guest house did not change owners. After almost 3 years of providing you with our best possible customer service, we decided to pursue new ventures that will allow us to remodel and bring you more comfortable accommodations, and still keep our prices low. If anyone has the opportunity to meet Edda, our new manager, I'm sure they will feel right at home. As far as wild animals are concerned, please keep in mind that 2 thirds of the island is a nature reserve. What this means is, occasionally we will be visited by egrets, horses, beautiful humming birds, fruit bats, coquis, iguanas, geckos, and yes, roosters. I do promise you this, when I am on the premises, I will chase and put the fear of death into any rooster that crosses the property line! (people have seen me do this) Thank you to all our past and future guests........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2008

Very clean basic rooms and good value. I don't have anything else on the island to compare to but it was similar to a youth hostile or basic, small motel room. Edda and Victor are wonderful people and very helpful and even offered to pick us up at the ferry. They stayed in the office several hours after closing to wait for us since the ferry from Fajardo was filled and the second one was late.

The place is located in a local residential neighborhood but it seemed relatively safe. It didn't seem appropriate for small children. I would stay there again if it was just adults and viewed the trip as an adventure to a remote island. If you are looking for a tropical resort to sit by the pool and drink pina coladas, ask around first.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank jjames11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Previous reviews mention a couple owning the hotel, a bar and breakfasts. This is no longer the case. The woman, Edna, who owns it is very sweet and the rooms are basic but serviceable. She was helpful for recommendations for snorkeling, dining and bio bay tours. There's a minibar stocked with some beer and sodas, but other than that there's no food, vending or drinks. THe guest house itself is in a residential neihborhood - not bad if you want some local color - but be prepared - it's not quiet at night. The cacophony of local roosters, which generally began around 3 in the morning was enough to keep me up 2 nights straight.

  • Liked — Friendly Service
  • Disliked — Doesn't offer much, definitely very basic
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyasukot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2007

We went to Vieques for one night as part of our travels, and all of us agree that this was probably one of our favorite aspects of the trip! It was fantastic! The place was cozy and just perfect for our needs. Joe and Maria were welcoming, hospitable, and super sweet to us during our visit to help us with whatever we needed to get around Vieques. Not to mention, the pancakes Joe made were AMAZING. We loved every minute we were there, and we all wish we could have stayed there longer! Thanks for an absolutely amazing time in Vieques! :)

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank potcimmersion07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2007

I have to say, Joe and Maria (the owners) are truly lovely in every way. We were in Vieques briefly to solidify plans for our wedding, and needed a place to crash for a night -- Tropical Guest House was perfect for our needs. The staff was helpful and friendly, and gave us suggestions for events on the island and directions to where we needed to go. The hotel is no-frills but very clean and with such wonderful service we felt so well taken care of.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank jodis1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
4.2 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
454 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
567 reviews
2.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
371 reviews
4.1 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
SeaGate Hotel
SeaGate Hotel
#3 of 27 in Isla de Vieques
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Guest House

Property: Tropical Guest House
Address: E41 Calle Apolonia Gittings, 00765-3704, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropical Guest House is conveniently located in Isabel Segunda, on the north side of the island. We are walking distance to the ferry, the historical fort/museum, restaurants, and everything "town" has to offer. The beautiful beaches are only a few minutes drive away. Our 15-room guesthouse includes single and double rooms, as well as studios with small refrigerators. Studios can accommodate larger families and groups. All rooms in the guest house have private baths, A/C and TV. Relax in the TGH lounge. Free Wi-Fi internet available. One night stays are welcomed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Tropical Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Guest House Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing