We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa de Kathy was wonderful!”
Review of Casa de Kathy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Kathy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 13, 2014

A great location base for numerous activities on Vieques. All I needed was the small Casita. When I wasn't sleeping, I spent my time outdoors; mostly bicycling throughout the island or occasionally catching up on work via my laptop on the main deck with views of the ocean. Kathy is very knowledgeable about Vieques and its people. She's a great source of information about destinations and activities on the island. My favorite location was snorkeling at Playa de la Chiva. A word of warning to light sleepers: Be prepared for the late night and very early morning rooster calls. Chickens abound in the neighborhood and throughout the island.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSc0tt999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 272 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

The 2 BR apartment was spacious, comfortable, everything we needed for a GREAT week on Vieques. The location was wonderful - quiet neighborhood, but only a 10 minute walk from "downtown" Esperanza. About a 20 minute walk to Sun Bay Beach. It is possible to walk to Sun Bay beach, Half Moon Beach (a longish walk) and Navio Beach (very ambitious walk) from Kathy's. Kathy was friendly, very knowledgeable and helpful. Great beach towels and there were chairs & coolers and even an umbrella there to use for the beach. The kitchen was well equipped and there are two grocery stores within a short walk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUDITH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just got back from staying at Casa de Kathy's in Vieques. The apartment had everything we needed and Kathy was there to answer all questions. It's just a few minutes walk from the lovely town. We rented a Jeep to get to the Fish and Wildlife Reserve beaches, which were beautiful. Our 4 night stay couldn't have been better; very relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curioustraveller5588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

It was a pleasure to stay at Casa de Kathy. It was actually recommended to me by others living on the island due to her long-standing familiarity with Vieques.

Firstly the place was extremely clean and comfortable. There's a great view of the ocean and sunsets from the main decks. Kathy provides you with all you need (e.g., beach towels, dishes, etc) and rents for a very good price other equipment (mountain bikes, snorkeling gear). Kathy gave me a great orientation of where to go on the island, how to best get around, and what the best beach are for swimming and snorkeling. As a single woman who was travelling alone, she also told me what paths are best not to venture out by myself.

I'm also here doing environmental research and Kathy took me into town and introduced to several of the main leaders in the community. She invited me to events and along with her to the beach. Overall she made me feel extremely welcome and provided me with a lot of information.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Casa de Kathy's rooms were very tidy and cozy. Rooms are very well equipped and location is good. Special thanks to Kathy for being so nice and helpfull!
They say that you can't manage without a car in Vieques, but we did just fine for four days. Bicycling to the beaches is good way to get some exercise too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 786Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Casita behind Casa Bromelia as part of our honeymoon December 23-26 2013. The little Casita was perfect for us as it was nice, quite, and private. The location in Esperanza was perfect as it was a very quick walk to the Malecon, but just far enough away to be out of the commotion. It is also close enough to walk to some amazing beaches (Sun Bay & Media Luna) so we were fine with not having a rental car.

What really made our trip extra special was our experience with Kathy. She was very professional, kind, accommodating and was very helpful for us 1st timers to the island. She knows EVERYTHING about Vieques, so be sure to soak up all the knowledge and tidbits you can during your stay. She gave great dining (El Quenepo & Blue Horizon) and beach recommendations, and can help you book excursions and/or taxis for whatever you want to do.

I would HIGHLY recommend staying at either Casa De Kathy or Casa Bromelia. Esperanza is the place to be on the island and you can't have a better host than Kathy!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reedcatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The two bedroom is clean, spacious and convenient. All restaurants and beach are within walking distance. Kathy is very friendly and has lots of information about the little town. Definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XinZhang75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
SeaGate Hotel
SeaGate Hotel
#3 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#6 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Kathy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Kathy

Address: 367 Bromelias Street | Barrio Esperanza, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $85 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Vacation Apartments. Walk two blocks to Caribbean beaches, coral reefs for snorkeling, bio-bay tours and boardwalk restaurants & shops. Studio sleeps up to 2 and two-bedroom sleeps up to 4. Discount for a week. Modern AC, TV/DVD & kitchens. Shared balcony with panoramic ocean-view. Located in quiet, residential village of Esperanza, fifteen minutes from ferry dock or airport. Resident-owner Kathy provides great hospitality and overview to Vieques culture, history, & attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing