We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, perfect location, Clean and furnished”
Review of Casa de Kathy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Kathy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 10, 2008

Stayed at Casa de Kathy 5 days in the Studio.
Kathy gave us the main things-to-know about Vieques.
We are pretty independent so we did not stick at the house and spent hours with Kathy. She seems independent too and won't be on your back!
Points to mention:
5-10mins from the beach & restaurants (walking distance).
Really quiet neighborhood, people are welcoming.
Clean, large and furnished (AC works perfect).
Rented a scooter at altavista (expensive, but fun); if you want a car, you'd better book it prior to your arrival.
For people willing to have meals at the house (we prefer restaurant or picnic at the beach), there's room to do it on the terrace or backyard, but a Barbecue covered area with table and chairs is missing.
Kathy's dog and cat are cool guys.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank elmutchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 271 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2008

Casa de Kathy is amazing! I had read all of the great reviews before booking, and I was not disappointed.
Vieques was truly beautiful, and Casa de Kathy was in a prime location - walking distance to restaurants, and beaches, but somewhat removed on a residential street. If you're looking for an expensive resort-type experience, I would not recommend it, but if you want to feel welcome, safe, and relaxed, this is the place. We did not go into Isabel Segunda, so can't really comment on that or compare to Esperanza, but we did venture out to a couple of the remote beaches, and it was certainly worth the trip - although I don't recommend biking there unless you're ready for a workout - next time we plan to rent a car.
Kathy was also incredibly friendly and helpful - we sat out on her balcony one evening and chatted, and she gave us a ride into town one night when it was raining - really above and beyond. We only stayed for three nights, and wished we could have stayed longer - we definitely plan to return to Vieques, and to stay with Kathy again!

-Bleecker & Bryan, Washington DC

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eden78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at Casa de Kathy's for 2 nights and could not have been more satisfied with our experience. Upon arrival, Kathy gave us a great introduction to the island and suggestions on what we could do and where we could go, and she also gave us lots of materials (maps, etc) to supplement our trip. Kathy is extremely knowledgeable about the island, and made available for us information on its controversial history that really made our experience so much more meaningful. She rented us bikes and scuba equipment for very cheap. The room was perfect for us... nothing fancy, but clean and simple. Great location too!

Stayed: April 2008
Thank noornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

My companion and I booked the two bedroom apartment at Casa de Kathy for 3 nights. Kathy welcomed us when we arrived and gave us a thorough orientation to the apartment and the island in general.

Casa de Kathy is located on a residential street in the town of Esperanza and is within walking distance of the ocean front street where the restaurants, bars, and shops are located. The apartment is roomy, very clean, airy, comfortable and cheerful. The bedrooms have recently been equipped with air conditioners, but the numerous fans were usually sufficient to keep the apartment comfortable. In addition to the bedrooms there is a living room, a well equipped kitchen which would be very useful for long term guests, and a very attractive, tiled bathroom. (I loved the fact that there was a full bar of soap, not those tiny bars usually found in hoteles.)

I was going to deduct a star or two due to a situation that is not Kathy's fault. Our first night my companion slept in the front bedroom which faces the street. He was kept up all night by the barking and fighting dogs roaming the street, and the yippy little dog in the house across the street. I was in the back bedroom, and was only awakened once by the dogs. The next two nights, we switched bedrooms, and, although I was awakened a couple times, the barking was not as bad.

However, Kathy's helpfulness during our stay, made up for that situation. On our second day, we discovered that the battery of our rented vehicle had died. We were due to take off for the Bio-bay tour in a few minutes. Kathy was a life-saver, and personally drove us to the tour office. Thanks to Kathy we didn't miss one of the hightlights of the trip. The next day, she lent us her battery charger, and we were set to continue our exploration of the island.

The accomodations are nice, but it is Kathy that makes this an excellent choice if you are looking for a reasonably priced place in Vieques.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

Just returned from a wonderful 5-night stay at Casa de Kathy. After having just spent $165/night for a mediocre hotel in old San Juan, my expectations for what we would find for $65/night at Casa de Kathy were pretty low. However, to our great delight, this turned out be an absolute gem of a place. We (2 of us) stayed in the smaller efficiency unit, and it was roomy, bright, spotlessly clean, and comfortable. The kitchenette is certainly well-equipped enough to do some cooking. The efficiency unit is located at the back of her house surrounded by lush, tropical vegetation and is quite private. Perhaps the best aspect of all of staying here, though, is the wonderful hospitality that Kathy provides. Kathy went above and beyond what I would expect from any guest-house owner. She provided detailed information of all of the best places to snorkel, bike, swim, shop and eat on the island. She has mountain bikes for rent at a cheaper rate than the shops in town. She is personable and helpful without being obtrusive. One night while we were there, she organized a dinner in her home for her guests and those at a neighboring guest house and had a local Puerto Rican woman cook an inexpensive dinner for all of us. Can't get that kind of treatment at a Best Western! I have never felt compelled to write a review for this site, but I wanted to this time to let people know what a great place this is.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MinnesotaTreeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

My husband and I just got back from staying in Vieques and absolutely LOVED Casa de Kathy. First of all, the location is great. Esperanza is the perfect little town...just big enough to have some nice restaurants to eat at, and just small enough to give one a feel for the culture and everyday life of the people. Casa de Kathy is just a few streets away from the beach and "main street" with all the restaurants. Kathy's help is absolutely priceless. She sat down with us and answered all our questions and took the time to recommend everything from the best snorkeling spots, to the best authentic Puerto Rican cuisine. We didn't have much time to plan our trip beforehand, so Kathy was kind enough to tell us all about the beaches and other points of interest. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment. It's simple and was very clean and well maintained. We really liked having a kitchen as it gave us the option to make lunches. The bed was really comfortable and the neighborhood is peaceful and quiet. Just down the street is a bakery and small grocery store which was really convenient. Overall, I would say that if you're looking for an affordable, comfortable beach house...this is for you. If you want a more ritzy experience with housekeeping and a view of the ocean from your bedroom...check out the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mocann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

We spent seven nights at Casa de Kathy and had a wonderful time. Her house is conveniently located to the beaches and restaurants of Esparanza. But the real reason to stay here is Kathy herself. She went far beyond "Inn-Keeper", answering our questions, making us feel at home, and doing everything she possibly could to make sure we had an enjoyable stay with her. I give her the strongest of recommendations. Kathy is the best---you will absolutely not be disappointed with your stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roth_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.3 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
3.0 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Coral Guesthouse
Villa Coral Guesthouse
#10 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Kathy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Kathy

Address: 367 Bromelias Street | Barrio Esperanza, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $104 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Vacation Apartments. Walk two blocks to Caribbean beaches, coral reefs for snorkeling, bio-bay tours and boardwalk restaurants & shops. Studio sleeps up to 2 and two-bedroom sleeps up to 4. Discount for a week. Modern AC, TV/DVD & kitchens. Shared balcony with panoramic ocean-view. Located in quiet, residential village of Esperanza, fifteen minutes from ferry dock or airport. Resident-owner Kathy provides great hospitality and overview to Vieques culture, history, & attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing