We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa de Kathy Dec. 2012”
Review of Casa de Kathy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Kathy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The place was nice, well decorated and clean : we were feeling like home. The only thing, it was very hot in the 2 bedroom apartment, and if you don't like the air cond. you don't have the choice if you want to sleep.
Kathy had provided to us all the good information to have a nice time at Esperanza! Books, maps, everything you need to know!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val_Btz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 271 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was our first visit to Casa De Kathy. We were welcomed by Kathy with a tour of our studio room, which was perfect for us. We were impressed with all the amenities that Kathy had provided to us, as well as the IPod docking station. We really enjoyed the "homey" feeling rather than feeling like guest at a hotel. The private back balcony was very quaint, and great for sipping wine, and her location to restaurants and the ocean front was very convenient. In addition, Kathy was very helpful in putting us in tough with the Biobay tour after unsuccessful attempts on our part. Overall, this was a great experience and we fully recommend Casa De Kathy as a place to stay while visiting Vieques.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our family if 3 adults stayed at the Casa de Kathy's 2-bedroom apartment for 4 nights. Kathy, the owner, was wonderful both before and during our stay. She sent us advance advice for transportation to her place from the Vieques airport, and she greeted us with lots of local information and advice when we arrived. During our stay, she brought us home-made rice pudding with a Caribbean accent as well as banana smoothies -- what a nice, personal touch! The apartment is on the ground floor of Kathy's 2-story house (she lives in the 2nd story) on a residential street about a 7-minute walk back from the Malecon in Esperanza. We had rented a jeep for our Vieques stay (which we highly recommend to all visitors to Vieques) so we didn't need to walk back and forth and the location of the Casa de Kathy was fine for us. We could park on the street right in front of Kathy's house. The apartment was impeccably clean, well furnished and equipped, and attractive. We loved the large trove of books, pamphlets, maps, etc on Vieques, the huge bathroom, and all of the beach equipment (towels, cooler, beach chairs, beach umbrella) that Kathy supplied for free. We also rented snorkel equipment from Kathy for a very reasonable price (much cheaper than local rental shops). The air conditioning units in the 2 bedrooms were very efficient. Please note that the living room, kitchen, and bathroom are not air conditioned, but they have very good fans that did a fine job cooling the place to a reasonable temperature with the east and west-facing windows open. Although daytime temps were quite high outside, the humidity was low while we were in Vieques, but visitors in more humid seasons might well consider the lack of A/C in the non-bedroom areas a significant minus. But, all in all, we tremendously enjoyed our stay at Casa de Kathy and would highly recommend it to all!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottandelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa de Kathy for the week of 11/28-12/5. Our accommodation in the studio was lovely-large room with plenty of windows, modern bath and efficient air conditioner (which effectively blocked night noises if you don't want to fall asleep to the sounds of frogs, dogs, chickens and roosters. We found the night noises were not disruptive to our sleep and enjoyed the night breezes with the windows open.)

All was spotlessly clean, including both inside our room and all outside areas of the house. We rented a car for one day and walked the rest of the time to beaches (Sun Bay beach, Media Luna beach) and restaurants in Esperanza. We appreciated the location of the house in a residential area and always felt safe.

Kathy is an excellent host, ready to answer any question you may have. She is extremely knowledgeable about the island and is heavily involved in the community. She was generous with her time with us, providing us special breakfast treats and inviting us to attend a local concert at the Fort. We felt like comunity members, not just tourists.

The island is beautiful-enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadekathy, Owner at Casa de Kathy, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

It was a pleasure to host this lovely couple at Casa de Kathy. Having a week's stay meant they could take spend their mornings in the outside sitting area among the tropical vegetation. I enjoyed talking with them and was happy to invite them to a Christmas concert at our Fort Conde de Mirasol. I am blessed to have guests like these who come to Vieques to relax and learn about the local culture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We love nice places off the beaten path with a local flavor but without the crowds. We found it in Esperanza at Kathy's home. The location is nice,close to Malecon and restaurants and a bakery. Our room was very clean,cozy and comfortable with several amenities. Kathy is a very nice,warm person.She will go out of her way to make your stay the most enjoyable experience. She is very well organized and is a "walking tourist info"about everything in Vieques. In the room you have books,maps,info about trips. She organized our Bioluminescent Bay Tour (this is a must see!). We truly enjoyed our stay at her house and will highly recommend her place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agachicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Kathy's house is a quick (and safe, even late at night) walk to the strip, maybe about 8 min. Kathy was very well organized and had loads of info in the room about tips for enjoying your time on the island. Room was nice and very clean. There was no TV but the island is so fun that was the last thing we needed. Kathy was very helpful and did lots of little things that were nice, like letting us use the washer machine, bringing us a piece of cake, organizing a taxi from the ferry, and giving us a ride once when we needed it. It isn’t the least expensive place on the island but we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJinVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Together with two of my friends, we stayed in Kathy's house for one night, it's a nice place with all kinds of facilities in the kicken. Walk distance to the beach. Warm hearted host. Great stay there!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tianxiang Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.3 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
3.0 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Coral Guesthouse
Villa Coral Guesthouse
#10 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Kathy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Kathy

Address: 367 Bromelias Street | Barrio Esperanza, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $104 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Vacation Apartments. Walk two blocks to Caribbean beaches, coral reefs for snorkeling, bio-bay tours and boardwalk restaurants & shops. Studio sleeps up to 2 and two-bedroom sleeps up to 4. Discount for a week. Modern AC, TV/DVD & kitchens. Shared balcony with panoramic ocean-view. Located in quiet, residential village of Esperanza, fifteen minutes from ferry dock or airport. Resident-owner Kathy provides great hospitality and overview to Vieques culture, history, & attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing