We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 2-bedroom apartment”
Review of Casa de Kathy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Kathy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northern Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful 2-bedroom apartment”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our family if 3 adults stayed at the Casa de Kathy's 2-bedroom apartment for 4 nights. Kathy, the owner, was wonderful both before and during our stay. She sent us advance advice for transportation to her place from the Vieques airport, and she greeted us with lots of local information and advice when we arrived. During our stay, she brought us home-made rice pudding with a Caribbean accent as well as banana smoothies -- what a nice, personal touch! The apartment is on the ground floor of Kathy's 2-story house (she lives in the 2nd story) on a residential street about a 7-minute walk back from the Malecon in Esperanza. We had rented a jeep for our Vieques stay (which we highly recommend to all visitors to Vieques) so we didn't need to walk back and forth and the location of the Casa de Kathy was fine for us. We could park on the street right in front of Kathy's house. The apartment was impeccably clean, well furnished and equipped, and attractive. We loved the large trove of books, pamphlets, maps, etc on Vieques, the huge bathroom, and all of the beach equipment (towels, cooler, beach chairs, beach umbrella) that Kathy supplied for free. We also rented snorkel equipment from Kathy for a very reasonable price (much cheaper than local rental shops). The air conditioning units in the 2 bedrooms were very efficient. Please note that the living room, kitchen, and bathroom are not air conditioned, but they have very good fans that did a fine job cooling the place to a reasonable temperature with the east and west-facing windows open. Although daytime temps were quite high outside, the humidity was low while we were in Vieques, but visitors in more humid seasons might well consider the lack of A/C in the non-bedroom areas a significant minus. But, all in all, we tremendously enjoyed our stay at Casa de Kathy and would highly recommend it to all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottandelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    48
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
120
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa de Kathy for the week of 11/28-12/5. Our accommodation in the studio was lovely-large room with plenty of windows, modern bath and efficient air conditioner (which effectively blocked night noises if you don't want to fall asleep to the sounds of frogs, dogs, chickens and roosters. We found the night noises were not disruptive to our sleep and enjoyed the night breezes with the windows open.)

All was spotlessly clean, including both inside our room and all outside areas of the house. We rented a car for one day and walked the rest of the time to beaches (Sun Bay beach, Media Luna beach) and restaurants in Esperanza. We appreciated the location of the house in a residential area and always felt safe.

Kathy is an excellent host, ready to answer any question you may have. She is extremely knowledgeable about the island and is heavily involved in the community. She was generous with her time with us, providing us special breakfast treats and inviting us to attend a local concert at the Fort. We felt like comunity members, not just tourists.

The island is beautiful-enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadekathy, Owner at Casa de Kathy, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
It was a pleasure to host this lovely couple at Casa de Kathy. Having a week's stay meant they could take spend their mornings in the outside sitting area among the tropical vegetation. I enjoyed talking with them and was happy to invite them to a Christmas concert at our Fort Conde de Mirasol. I am blessed to have guests like these who come to Vieques to relax and learn about the local culture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We love nice places off the beaten path with a local flavor but without the crowds. We found it in Esperanza at Kathy's home. The location is nice,close to Malecon and restaurants and a bakery. Our room was very clean,cozy and comfortable with several amenities. Kathy is a very nice,warm person.She will go out of her way to make your stay the most enjoyable experience. She is very well organized and is a "walking tourist info"about everything in Vieques. In the room you have books,maps,info about trips. She organized our Bioluminescent Bay Tour (this is a must see!). We truly enjoyed our stay at her house and will highly recommend her place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agachicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Kathy's house is a quick (and safe, even late at night) walk to the strip, maybe about 8 min. Kathy was very well organized and had loads of info in the room about tips for enjoying your time on the island. Room was nice and very clean. There was no TV but the island is so fun that was the last thing we needed. Kathy was very helpful and did lots of little things that were nice, like letting us use the washer machine, bringing us a piece of cake, organizing a taxi from the ferry, and giving us a ride once when we needed it. It isn’t the least expensive place on the island but we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJinVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Together with two of my friends, we stayed in Kathy's house for one night, it's a nice place with all kinds of facilities in the kicken. Walk distance to the beach. Warm hearted host. Great stay there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tianxiang Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Casa De Kathy was centrally located near the beach and main restaurant area. It's probably only 3 blocks away from the main strip. Kathy was nice enough to pick us up at the ferry as she was dropping off some guests. Once at the house she had maps we can use to figure out our plans and had phone numbers of convenient services (biobay tours, taxis, etc). We came with no plans at all but just to relax and she was very helpful letting us know which beaches were better for snorkeling, or just relaxing and laying out.

We rented the 2 bedroom for 2 nights. Accomodations were exactly as said on the website. Everything was clean and much larger then expected. Did find little lizards running around the house every once in a while which was cute, or scary depending on how you feel about that.
Definitely suggest the Biobay tour. There is a group that meets across from the Tradewinds Restaurant at 6pm to go out if you forget to make reservations with a tour group. Our guy was Tom and he was great, very informative, but just be warned the road to Biobay is a little hairy. Be prepared to be picked up in a old van driving on pot holes, needless to say its one very bumpy road but the experience was well worth it. The one thing you must do in Vieques.

Overall a beautiful experience, loved the horses randomly roaming the area. The weather in the beginning of November was particularly warm probably 90 degrees with 75% humidity. Kathy lets you run the AC in the bedrooms when you are inside the house which helps cool you down after a long day of laying out in the hot sun or hiking around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadekathy, Owner at Casa de Kathy, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I appreciate the positive feedback on my guest house... the convenience of the location and comfort of having a good air conditioner. I am always happy to help my guests make the most out of their time, even if that is just to choose the best beach to do nothing but relax. It is not typical that a little salamander slips in the front door and I usually can catch them and put them out. They do no harm, since they just hide in a dark corner. Salamanders are usually busy eating bugs so they would be much happy outdoors and far away from humans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed with Kathy for 2 nights and she was an excellent host. Not only did she help me out with transport, but was full of recommendations and suggestions on what to do. Of all the places I stayed during my Puerto Rican adventures, Kathy provided the warmest welcome and most useful insights.

Her house is located a couple of blocks from the main strip and has a supermarket nearby. Rooms are simple, clean and quiet (excluding the local animal life and their evening chorus!). She has a plethora of information and has provided a helpful beach/snorkelling guide. She also has snorkelling gear and cool boxes.

If (when!) I return to Vieques, this would be my first choice.

Enjoy and relax in beautiful Vieques!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
451 reviews
3.0 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
235 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa de Amistad
Casa de Amistad
#1 of 27 in Isla de Vieques
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Kathy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Kathy

Property: Casa de Kathy
Address: Barrio Esperanza | 367 Bromelias Street, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Vacation Apartments. Walk two blocks to Caribbean beaches, coral reefs for snorkeling, bio-bay tours and boardwalk restaurants & shops. Studio sleeps up to 3 and two-bedroom sleeps up to 5. Discount for a week. Modern AC, TV/DVD & kitchens. Shared balcony with panoramic ocean-view. Located in quiet, residential village of Esperanza, fifteen minutes from ferry dock or airport. Resident-owner Kathy provides great hospitality and overview to Vieques culture, history, & attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Kathy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing