We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay, great snorkeling!”
Review of Casa de Kathy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Kathy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We spent several day exploring Vieques in May 2012. Staying at Casa de Kathy made our trip even more enjoyable. The room was clean and spacious. Kathy was able to tell us about the local beaches and restaurants -- all were fantastic! Abe's Biobay tour did a great job - the bay is truly spectacular. We have stayed on a number of Caribbean islands -- the beaches are very clean on Vieques and there are lots of fish just a short swim from the beach. Kathy provided great information on where the best fish watching was on the beaches -- very helpful especially since one of the beaches is 1/2 mile long. We would love to return some day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clinton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadekathy, Owner at Casa de Kathy, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

It is great to hear how much you loved Vieques and that your stay at Casa de Kathy wwas pleasant. I am an avid snorkeler and love to share my favorite spots with my guests. Of course, it is also nice to learn of a spot I hadn't appreciated until one of my guests tells me of the colorful fish and reefs that they saw. My snorkeling guide to the most popular spots is posted on my web site for everyone to use. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 271 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

Imagine finding yourself immerse in a tropical island where you are surrounded by history and beautiful beaches that resembles those shots that appear in your screen saver. This idyllic paradise is easy to reach by ferry or air taxi from Puerto Rico. Casa de Kathy will be a great base to explore the island and you will feel that is your home away from home during your stay in Vieques. Centrally, located in Barrio Esperanza (southern part of Vieques), Casa de Kathy provides all the essentials for a comfortable stay in Vieques. The studio is ample and comfortable for two people. The A/C works great! The Kitchenette and fridge is a plus, considering that you would like to keep some snacks, cold beer, soda or water to cool your thirst after exploring Playa Caracas or Playa Sun Bay. Kathy is a welcoming host, always eager to share her expertise and experiences on Vieques history, its past and current struggles and best places to have a great local seafood, a hamburger, or just a cold beverage after snorkeling and swimming in semi-deserted white sands beaches. Give it a try and you will be telling friends about one of the best-kept secrets in the Caribbean and a great place to explore this remarkable island.

Blue beach was great. Make sure to explore the fort, Conde de Mirasol in Isabel II. If you need some grub, the Burgers at Duffy’s hit the spot and the bloody Mary in Trade Winds for Weekend Brunch will make the trick. For the best local food, try El Resuelve outside of Isabel II, the best lunch in town—hefty portions and fresh food, reasonable price ($7-15).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martinae94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadekathy, Owner at Casa de Kathy, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

I am always glad to share advice on restaurants - we are lucky that all of the nearby restaurants are good. On weekends, local vendors sell from roadside kiosks - which is a great chance to experience Viequense cuisine. I am glad you mentioned El Resuelve because it is one of very few remaining restaurants where the local "comida criolla" is available in the evenings. My other favorite is El Fogon for great seafood. If we keep patronizing these restaurants, we will help keep them going. Both require transportation because they are near Isabel II. It was a pleasure having you stay at Casa de Kathy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Spent a couple of nights in a gigantic, very comfortable bed at Casa de Kathy in January earlier this year (2012). Room was very clean and well appointed, the bathroom too.
Kathy herself made us incredibly welcome. She told us lots about the area, and helped arrange our visit to the bioluminescent bay, making sure we went with a reputable firm. And then she really went above and beyond when we leaving Vieques. Having arrived without hitch via the ferry we underestimated how problematic the service is. On departure day the ferry turned out to be out of action. We wouldn't have known if it hadn't been for Kathy and her island network of activists. Kathy helped us arrange our flights back to the mainland. Without her we would have had to swim. Her place is lovely, just a short walk from the beach and Kathy herself is brilliantly helpful and fascinating lady.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharmila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Spent a week at the end of March in Casa de Kathy's two bedroom apartment, which is very clean, comfortable, spacious and well appointed. Loved everything about it, including hanging in the hammock, sitting outside on the covered patio in the morning with great cup of Puerto Rican coffee and many evenings with a good book while enjoying a symphony of the coqui frogs, night birds and a refreshing rainfall. My kind of heaven.

Kathy is an exceptional host with a treasure trove of information about the past and present of the island, which is one of the reasons I chose her guesthouse. I also appreciated her many kindnesses, including fresh papaya, her special recipe and spices for rice and beans, help with my laundry when it got rained on overnight, joining her for a morning of yoga at Sun Bay beach, and an invitation to a local music event and dinner. I felt like I was staying with a friend.

CdK is in a neighborhood just a few blocks from the Malecon and a small mercado where we found almost everything needed for meals and refreshments. Fresh fruits and vegetables were in abundance at the open air market (on the road to Isabel) on Tuesday and Wednesday (better selection on Tuesday).

BTW, I brought several sets of earplugs from home but didn't use them one single night. Despite the intermittent chorus of roosters, dogs and horses clopping down the street, I slept like a happy baby with a full tummy.

We walked everywhere most days, renting a Jeep for two days to explore Isabel, the wildlife refuge beaches and the western part of the island.

Needless to say, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Casa de Kathy on a return trip to the beautiful island of Vieques.

Room Tip: For just a little more, rent the two bedroom apartment if it's available, even if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caribe_dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed in the studio, which is clean and comfortable and has everything you need including a microwave, hotplate and small fridge. VERY comfortable bed, pretty bathroom with a nice shower, plenty of space to put your stuff. Kathy offered us a lot of information and ideas about what to do, and made it easy for us to do the things we wanted to do; she also knows a lot about the struggle against the Navy and the present-day results. If you are interested in local life and not just the beaches, horses, and the great beauty of the place, Kathy's your woman - AND she knows all about the beaches, horses etc as well. If you want interaction and help she is right there, and if you want to be left alone she will gladly do that too. We only stayed 4 nights; I hope to return and stay longer one day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We had originally booked the 2 bedroom at Casa de Kathy on a last minute, 1 night only "squeeze in" that Kathy so graciously booked for us. She had to move us in order to accommodate the busy weekend schedule to her neighbors 2 seperate apartments at Casa de Deb. It was an amazing stay with a down home feel! Kathy is so knowledged and can help out with anything and everything you are looking for! She is also a huge activist for the beautiful island and its perservation! This island is a remote paradise and we wished we would've had so much more time to enjoy. Next time for sure!

Room Tip: Plan plenty of time to savor this luxury! Also bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper, the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trulytracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed in both the one bedroom studio and the 2 bedroom during our week with Kathy. Both were clean and homey. If you are a light sleeper, pack ear plugs as the roosters and dogs wake very early We were within walking distance of the downtown area. We had amazing weather and took advantage of every moment possible in the sun. After visiting Vieques, I doubt that we will look elsewhere for any other tropical vacation location. There was not a beach that we disliked, the snorkeling was amazing and the locals were very helpful. If you have time, take the scenic hike to Black Sand Beach. We snorkeled nearly every bay and beach and actually found Mosquito Pier to be the best. We also found the roadside food stands to have some of the most amazing food! We are looking forward to our return trip in May.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom was much quieter than the studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahandRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
4.2 mi away
SeaGate Hotel
SeaGate Hotel
#3 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Coral Guesthouse
Villa Coral Guesthouse
#10 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Tortuga
Casa de Tortuga
#7 of 23 in Isla de Vieques
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acacia Guesthouse
Acacia Guesthouse
#15 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
110 reviews
3.0 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Kathy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Kathy

Address: 367 Bromelias Street | Barrio Esperanza, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $85 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Vacation Apartments. Walk two blocks to Caribbean beaches, coral reefs for snorkeling, bio-bay tours and boardwalk restaurants & shops. Studio sleeps up to 2 and two-bedroom sleeps up to 4. Discount for a week. Modern AC, TV/DVD & kitchens. Shared balcony with panoramic ocean-view. Located in quiet, residential village of Esperanza, fifteen minutes from ferry dock or airport. Resident-owner Kathy provides great hospitality and overview to Vieques culture, history, & attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing