We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity on a charming island”
Review of Acacia Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Acacia Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 28 Isla de Vieques B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Acacia House is a great choice for a stay in Vieques. It is a very charming guest house (and the only reason we took off a star for sleep quality was due to the outside noises such as dogs and roosters nearby - definitely outside the control of the hosts!).
Jose was an amazing host! He started by sending us an e-mail with very useful information as soon as we booked and then was very helpful and accommodating during our entire stay, yet always respectful of guests' privacy. Honestly, he was the perfect host.
Vieques is not as commercial as most islands and is just a great place to unwind and relax. Esperanza, where the guest house is located, is a cute little town and the strip where most restaurants are located is less than 10 minutes stroll from the guest house. Renting a car, or even a scooter, is definitely recommended if you plan to see the rest of the island and beaches, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EtoileX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 110 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

Jud & Diane

We stayed at the Acacia guesthouse on Vieques and could not recommend it more highly! To set the stage, we arrived at the guesthouse after losing all of our clothing and toiletries, snorkel gear, shoes….basically everything but the clothes we wore at the ferry station in Fajardo (subsequently recovered due to the kindness of a stranger!). Jose, the owner of the guesthouse, immediately came to our rescue. He not only gave us complimentary snorkel gear but his own clothes, and toiletries until we could make it to the local shops to replace our lost items. Vieques is an incredibly charming island but does not have much in the way of shopping (something which adds to the charm in our view). Because of Jose’s warmth and hospitality, what started as a very stressful experience became the memory of a lifetime. The guesthouse itself is spotless and beautiful. The temperature was perfect and the bed was very cozy. The kitchen is nicely equipped and the backyard with its huge mango tree makes you never want to venture out. The guesthouse is conveniently located - just enough off the main drag but a very easy walk to the action in Esperanza. Our stay was so enjoyable, we seriously considered extending our time on Vieques to spend more time at the Acacia. Once again, we cannot say enough about Jose and his property! You won’t be disappointed if you have the good fortune to find room at his inn.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pashmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I Had a great time with my family in Vieques. Jose has a great guest that gave us good advises of were to go to eat and swim. His place is very comfortable and clean. It is a walking distance from the malecon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We have been staying at Acacia annually for 9 years. Great location within walking distance of most sites and restaurants in Esperanza. Douglas and Jose are gracious hosts and are always accomodating. Apartments are clean and quiet. We book our room a year in advance and always look forward to returing the next year.

Room Tip: We have stayed in all of the apartments and all are equally great. The "penthouse" is of c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in the Acacia apartments for about ten years every January. The apartments are clean nicely furnished and livable. The managers live on site and tend to our needs very well. We are able to prepare our own meals in the usable kitchen. Bed is great with good towels and sheets. There is a huge third story roof deck with a great view of the town of Esperanza and the ocean. We like to do our yoga and watch the sunset up there. We can walk to the beach in 15 min. We think it is a great value.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krackeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Located on the Esperanza bay, Acacia Guesthouse will likely offer you the best experience you can have on the island of Vieques. I chose it after reading the review on trip advisor and glad i did it. The guesthouse is located in a quiet hood and there is a 2-min walk to get to the bars and restaurants on the beach. It has clean, neat and well-maintained units. I rented the 1 bedroom on the last floor. It was fully equipped with its private rooftop opening up on an unbelievable 360 deg view of the island.
Doug, the owner, will guarantee you 2 things at your arrival, a) a quiet, seamless and very enjoyable stay at the guesthouse and b) he'll make sure you can get the best of the island, with honest recommendations to tours, beaches and restaurants. Very friendly and eager to help you have a memorable stay in Vieques. Thanks Doug! I'll be back

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gab781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My friend and I stayed at this lovely little guest house in Sept 2011 located in a nice quiet neighborhood. The owner, Douglas, was so helpful and knowledgeable about the island and things to do. He even went out of his way to drive us to one of our activities and then picked us up when it was cancelled.

The home is spotlessly clean and had a wonderful little backyard with a patio and seating and a place to have a BBQ. We enjoyed our morning coffee there. Additionally, the front entrance to our unit was a nice little tropical paradise.

Pros: Quiet location, clean accommodations, and a friendly, accommodating manager. (Douglas)

Cons: As we were not near the downtown area and it was off season, we did not have much in the way of choices for food. Many stores were closed so breakfast was an issue. No shower curtain. We stayed in the only unit with 2 beds and since we were not a "couple" privacy was more important.

Recommendations for Douglas: Hammock in the back to enjoy this tropical paradise. Provide breakfast or at least some coffee and pastries.
Provide a shower curtain.

We would certainly recommend this to our friends and family and would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelki398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.4 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
242 reviews
3.9 mi away
SeaGate Hotel
SeaGate Hotel
#2 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Coral Guesthouse
Villa Coral Guesthouse
#10 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
299 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tropical Guest House
Tropical Guest House
#4 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Guesthouse

Address: 236 Calle Acacia, 00765-4059, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $75 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acacia Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We cordially invite you to stay with us and give us a chance to show you what island hospitality is all about. Acacia Guesthouse is a charming oasis of peace and tranquility located on the beautiful island of Isle de Vieques, PR. This 'home away from home' is located within 5-6 minutes walk from El Malecon, better known as the "The Strip" which is the center of all the buzz and nightlife of Vieques, and yet within its confines offers you the serenity, peacefulness and quietude that island living is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Acacia Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Guesthouse Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing