We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location, Ababor is fantastic!”
Review of Ababor Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ababor Suites
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Location, Ababor is fantastic!”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We choose to stay at Ababor for the location, location, location. This place is literally on the beach. As planner of our trip, the only request my boyfriend has was for me to pick a place that was on the beach. I did good.

We stayed in the Navio room which was very spacious. Everything was clean and cozy. Wanda, the owner, is so nice. She was extremely accommodating and made our stay perfect. We've decided this is the only play we'll stay when we come back. She has a Jeep and scooters you can rent too.

It's so quiet and peaceful at Ababor. Horses and puppies running around everywhere - its amazing. We fell in love with one stray dog on the island. We tried to take her to the Humane Society but they were closed on our last day. Thankfully, Wanda was able to take her to the shelter for us! How nice is that?! We're so lucky Wanda was able to take her because she had heart worms and probably would have died without care. We're still in the process of adopting that dog, hope to get her soon.

To sum it up, stay here! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbalcius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    23
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waitsfield, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Spent a week at Ababor Suites with my teen-aged daughter. Ideal place to get away, relax, and spend quality time together. Wanda is terrific - the first morning, the coffee maker did not work, and Wanda had a new one for me within an hour. The unit (Caracas) was extremely clean and tidy, and very cozy and comfortable as opposed to upscale or luxurious. Loved the huge porch, which became an extension of our living room, and the hammock. Would probably be cramped for more than 2 people. It was hot and muggy for a few nights, so we closed up after dark and ran the AC in the bedroom, which cooled the entire unit well enough to sleep. We rented one of their available Jeep Liberty's, which was a nice car and very convenient, and explored just about every beach on the island. Spent the last 2 days hanging at Ababor, where there's really nothing to do but sit on the beach, read, and play Yahtzee (came with the room), and that was perfect for us. We could also walk into town (Isabel II) and jog through the sidestreets of Bravos de Boston.

Room Tip: Liked the Caracas location and internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrgvtski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

this is a good place to stay if you know the island and can be independent. we saw the innkeeper once in a five day stay. we called a couple of times with questions, and never got a call back. for example, a lightbulb burned out, and it was never replaced.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessavelez7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Had a great time at ababor suits. Stayed in the navio suite. Clean and neat.The beach is right outside your place. Very laid back. Easy to get to anywhere on the island if you have a rental jeep. We rented from Vieque's Car Rental. He was very informative and helpful. Kids loved the free kayaks outside our door and there was no one on the beach by our place. Go to the many other beautiful beaches on the island. We snorkled daily. Do the BioBay, you may never get another chance!

Room Tip: book you room and jeep rental early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue12191956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

If you're truly serious about going someplace quiet, restful, on a beach, and with more horses and roosters than people within a mile radius - this is the place. You're at least a mile from anywhere you can buy so much as a soda, candy bar, or anything else. But, you can get to town in 15 minutes, or clear over to the Jimmy-Buffett-bar-scene on the other side of the island in Esperanza in 35 minutes.

Ababor Suites is well-built, spotlessly clean with tile floors, hot and cold running water, and
a virtually private (though actually open) beach right in front. BBQ grill and party gazebo
provided, along with wi-fi, cable TV, and phone. A great hideaway for serious writing.
I've seen a complaint about dump trucks going by on the road out front, but only heard three or four the whole week I was there.

I'll definitely be back. The only thing I'd do different would be to rent a Suzuki station wagon instead of one of those big wide Jeeps. (Vieques would save a ton of money if they'd restrict the width of the cars allowed on the island.)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavePorter090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Ababor Suites is 200 ft from a quiet sandy beach with an unobstructed view of the Carribean [not counting palm trees] whose only visitors are wild horses and beachcombers.
Rent a car [from Ababor] to get everywhere - many many beaches, restaurants, grocery markets, and the wilds of Vieques. Stay at Ababor and be away- have a car and be in everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baumrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Walk out the door and you're on the beach. You can barbecue in the seaside gazebo and watch the wild horses make their morning visit. We loved falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean. Wanda has thought of everything including free kayaks, coolers, beach chairs--even hammocks! Our suite (Navio) was well-equipped, very clean and comfortable. Vieques is not the place to go for nightlife or gourmet dining, but the beaches are the best we've ever visited. Ababor suites allows you to create your own vacation in paradise. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kipnrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
1.9 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
370 reviews
2.6 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,814 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
451 reviews
3.4 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
235 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa de Amistad
Casa de Amistad
#1 of 27 in Isla de Vieques
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ababor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ababor Suites

Property: Ababor Suites
Address: Carr 200 km 2.1 | Playa Bastimento, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ababor Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites are a retreat into your Caribbean beachfront escape. Your quiet beach exploration vacation is waiting for you at Bastimento Beach. Listen to the waves or the sounds of the palm or bamboo trees swaying with the wind. Rest on the hammock on your private balcony or in the gazebo. Watch the waves or the local fishing boats go by. Observe the wild horses pass by. Unwind on your beach chair while the tropical waters bathe your feet. Explore in the provided kayaks or floating boards. At night, enjoy watching as many stars as you have probably never seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ababor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ababor Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing