We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SeaGate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SeaGate Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
1 review
“Truly Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2009

My wife and I had an absolutely relaxing stay at the guest house. Penny took care of all of the details including our Bio-Bay tour and breakfast delivered to the house every morning. The sunset horse ride was wonderful and will be remembered always. Penny's hospitality pushed the visit to the enchanted island over the top. We will be back with friends and family!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ormani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    110
    17
    14
    8
See reviews for
98
184
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
324 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

We really enjoyed staying at SeaGate. Penny was a wonderful host! She picked us up from the ferry and dropped us off. She also let us rent one of her jeep vehicles for our day excursions, which was good for all the potholes in the dirt roads to the beaches. She also gave us great advice about which beaches to go to (I really liked Red beach). The hotel itself is located on top of a hill from Isabel Segunda, 5 min from the ferry. There are beautiful views and many options (1BR, 2BR, private cottage). The rooms that don't have A/C have a fan. You should bring your own shampoo and conditioner and tons of mosquito repellant. They provided a simple continental breakfast. The only downside is that the other town, Esperanza, has better food, and so it would have been more convenient to stay near there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

Vieques is just an amazing place and we couldn't have found more accomodating hosts than the folks at seagate hotel. Penny & co. made us feel right at home. We took advantage of the package (lodging, horseback riding, biobay tour) they were offering and it was great. Please make sure you get a chance to rent a vehicle either from Seagate or another business when you visit Vieques, the island is small, but you'll need a vehicle to access the remote beaches, etc and that's what really makes the trip.

Recommended activities:
*Go to all the awesome beaches on the south shore.
*Go snorkeling by the wave breakwater (rompeolas) in the north shore. If you need gear, or general info, the folks at Black Beard Sports were great (they're located around the plaza in Isabel Segunda).
*Take Seagate's horseback riding tour.
*Take a biobay tour; I recommend Abe's Snorkeling. Gabe also does snorkeling tours, obviously. Great guy.
*Check out the nightlife in the south shore.
*Check our the views from the old fort, which is right across the street from Seagate.
*Get cheap yummy sandwiches at this little shop by the plaza in Isabel Segunda. The name escapes me, ask around.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank germainperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2009

This was our first trip to Vieques. We rented a 2 bedroom guest house that was clean and adequate. The resort is on a hill that provides good views of the ocean and island. You must rent a vehicle but you need a vehicle on Vieques anyway. The dogs and cats, which are in abundant supply, were free. Continental breakfast was free too and very good. Finally, there are a lot of horses and chickens on Vieques. The roosters start crowing at 3:00 in the morning and don't stop until long after the sun has risen. I am writing this review because I was looking for the webpage. A year has passed and I am ready to go back.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markbryants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

My daughter and I simply loved the Seagate and its extraordinary hospitality and setting. This secluded inn is set in the hills above Isabella Segunda, with sweeping views toward the ocean and across tropical trees. The whole property is a garden, relaxed and so beautiful...a real retreat! Michael and Irma, staff at the Seagate, were so warm and charming. It really was like a home away from home. We ended up with a whole floor to ourselves and I sat out on the veranda in the evening with wine and a candle as I wound down, serenaded by the coqui frogs. We loved Esperanza, but it was great to have a completely different experience as well, for our hotel. The resident roosters were polite enough to be silent in the morning, so it was only distant roosters that crowed in the morning, not a problem at all if you have ear plugs. We were picked up and dropped off at the airport by Irma, who presented Vieques hospitality right away. This isn't a posh-and-pampered place, but very unique and quite recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkel-luvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

We have just returned from our 3rd trip to Vieques, and once again stayed at the Seagate. This is the only place we’ll consider staying at each time we have stayed there we have been treated fantastically well. We always request to get the same top floor room (6) as it has the best view and kid ourselves it is like our own little timeshare. We simply love staying there and this trip was no different. For fair value in lovely surroundings, it cannot be beat and Penny and her staff go out of their way to accommodate your requests. The inclusive morning breakfasts with fresh bread, Irish cheese, fruit and assorted sides provide a very satisfying start. Eating together with guests in the breakfast area allows you to meet and befriend your fellow travelers and you can exchange recommendations on things to, places to eat etc. My kids love the animals on premises and my daughter befriended a cat who would hang out on the balcony with us whenever we were there. One tip I’d recommend is taking an extension outlet cord for the room as there are only a few outlets. With laptops (free Wifi is also now available), cell phones etc, the cord we travelled with turned out to be very handy. The Seagate also offers beach towels and beach items like boogie boards which helps cut down on the luggage you need to carry. When we were leaving to go home, at the Vieques airport my son discovered he had left his cell at the Seagate and when we called, Miguel the office manager located it and volunteered to drive it out to us as we were still waiting for our outgoing flight on Vieques Air Link. This was a nice touch to conclude our stay at the Seagate and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egf1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

Due to poor planning, Brigid and I were stuck for a place to stay after finding all places in town full. But Penny rescues not only dogs but also us humans. She picked us up in her 4x4, gave us a free tour of the town and rented us a lovely basement apartment next to the horses. I have a bad allergy to horses and cats but I was absolutely fine, not a problem. We loved every moment there. It was enchanting. N'est pas Brigid. No taxi would take us to Biolumenescent Bay but Penny's husband that night jumped up and and told us to jump in their 4X4. He sped us for free to the beach as Penny ordered the tour operator by phone not to leave without us. If it was not for them we would have missed the best experience of Vieques. The breakfasts on the patio are simple but wow. The homemade bread we thought was sooo delicious. On leaving they organised a free trip to the ferry on our departure. We would have missed it outherwise. They seem serious no nonense business people but they have hearts of gold. Don't miss Seagate but make sure to organise all your own transport to and from, well in advance. Gary

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tryirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de Amistad
Casa de Amistad
#1 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
4.7 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeaGate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaGate Hotel

Property: SeaGate Hotel
Address: Route 989 Km .04 | Box 747, 00765-0747, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — SeaGate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques' first hotel still in operation. SeaGate Hotel is a unique, pet-friendly, secluded retreat with no two rooms exactly alike. Natural breezes or AC, some with kitchens, all have at least a small refirdgerator and microwave, tv with local channels (Cottage & CQ have Direct TV), balconies or terraces, ocean views, and Concierge service. Complimentary transportation upon arrival from airport or ferry. SeaGate Hotel - you're home. Ingles y Espanol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SeaGate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing