We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels we've had on our trip!”
Review of SeaGate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SeaGate Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels we've had on our trip!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our stay at Seagate was great! The owner picked us up very quickly from the ferry dock when we arrived and took us up to our 2-bedroom cottage. The cottage was very spacious and homey. Lots of nice amenities and a great view!

Very quiet - we slept really well. The continental breakfast was generous and the staff were very friendly/helpful.

Some reviews mentioned that there are a lot of dogs around. I'm not a huge dog person so I was concerned about this at first, but the dogs were quiet and mostly stayed to themselves so it wasn't an issue at all. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shansen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    110
    17
    15
    8
See reviews for
99
185
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the Sea Gate two nights at the end of our recent Caribbean trip. The location is very convenient to walk into town. Penny and her team are extremely accommodating; they picked us up from the ferry and dropped us off at a rental car place. We ended up renting a car and exploring the island ourselves, that was a really easy way to see Vieques and go at our own pace.

The staff members at the Sea Gate gave us lots of recommendations from beaches to restaurants and they were always available for questions. We stayed in the Captain’s View room, it was huge! It was more like an apartment as it had a kitchen and a little living room area. There was a lot of local artwork in the room; it was a very nice room with its own large patio. The room did have air conditioning, which was nice to use at night to help muffle the noise of the roosters crowing. We had a little cat that kept showing up on our patio and a very nice dog that followed us around the grounds a lot.

I got sick while we were in Vieques and Penny helped us find a pharmacist. Breakfast is provided, nothing fancy, but it is nice to not have to think about breakfast in the mornings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Like us, you'll be tempted to ditch the car and stay in a decent hotel right on the beach, and then end up wishing you'd picked the Seagate Hotel (which is slightly inland) from the start. The fact is the best beaches are not right by Esperanza or Isabel II, and it really is worth having a car to explore them and the rest of the island. (Sun Bay beach is fine, and a mile from Esp.)

The Seagate Hotel is that rare combination of great accommodations and a wonderful owner. (Meeting Penny was one of the highlights of this great trip!) The grounds are gorgeous; the rooms even better. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters, which was at the top of the hillside hotel and had an incredible view. The apartment was HUGE, immaculate, and impressively decorated. There is a patio off the living room, with large glass doors. The kitchen, dining area, and bedroom would be the envy of many a NYC apt dweller. Penny went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was perfect -- including driving us to the ferry at 5am on our way off the island, and arranging for us to be met at the dock in Fajardo by a very nice driver who then took us to the airport.

We stumbled across Seagate purely by chance -- our flight from Vieques to San Juan was cancelled, and we were stuck in Vieques for an extra night. We found shelter from the rain at the W, where Lindsay, their very nice concierge, called around to find us accommodation. Penny offered to pick us up and drop us off the next day, and gave us a great rate to boot. Once we met her and saw the rooms, the much more expensive place we'd stayed at til then seemed merely OK.

This first trip to Vieques, we debated and dithered about where to stay. Next time, we won't.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APandKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I'm so glad we picked SeaGate hotel as our choice for a place to stay in Vieques. We fortunately got to stay in the cottage and it was absolutely amazing. First of all, the hotel is on top of a hill so its a good vantage point to check out the area - you can see the water in the distance, our cottage has its own personal parking spot and a rooftop with a hammock to chill out (I saw the sunrise early morning from there). The lady who runs this place is really nice and helpful and the breakfast is simple but tasty. The cottage itself was spacious with air-conditioning in every room. The common areas were tastefully decorated and were very pleasant.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage which are separate from the main hotel build and we absolutely loved it. Ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadeemke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed just for one night, the service was Excellent, is just like their slogan "like home" .
Penny , the owner and Lorenzo are very nice and kind people. They pick up at the pier and take you around if you need it, then take you back to pier when you leave. They are very flexible with the check in&out. Even though our room was small,it was nice quiet and clean, perfect for purpose we needed it. The environment is nice as well and peaceful. Excellent if you want to get out of the noise of the city and breath fresh air. They have a beautiful view of the bay.
We do had enjoyed our stay, and plan to come back.

Room Tip: ASk for the ones on the first floor or away from the horse stables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was pretty happy with the Seagate. Penny went above the call of duty to help us out. I was going to walk into town and she offered to drive me. She seems to show up where ever you are on the property.I mean that in a nice way. She has a lot going on. I liked the 2 rooms and the nice porch. The room has a complete kitchen. I would be happy staying for some time. I really could make myself at home at this hotel. The breakfast was enough to get me going in the morning. The only thing negative is lots of flies and mosquitoes. She has a bunch of animals including horses. Bring lots of mosquitoe spray if you are going to sit on the porch at night like I did. Very clean. No cable just antenna TV. WiFi is Ok but could be better. Hot water was very good.

Room Tip: You really need to rent a car to get to the beaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonRavennaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

The Seagate is a trip in itself. We stayed in the cottage for one night (3 couples). The view is beyond compare for the price. The cottage was very clean and sufficiently comfortable. We had the Seagate book our rent car, our biobay tour and we rode horses with the Seagate. Once we established the correct name for the reservation, all went smoothly.

You must do two things - the biobay tour and the horse back ride. Ruben was fantastic as our cowboy. The horses work hard as do the two cowboys. It was a beautiful ride and cannot recommend it strong enough. But bring water as it gets hot.
The biobay tour was everything I expected. It was an adventure getting there but oh so worth it.

Penny, the Seagate owner, has had a very rough 2012 personally so lighten up people. She has had personal loss none of us want to endure and still has to run and maintain a business.

The Seagate needs some maintenance but for the price you pay it is fine. Penny is trying to do a lot herself to keep costs down and provide an inexpensive place to stay. We loved the cats and the dogs were no problem. Roosters were doing what roosters do with sunrise so bring earplugs if it bothers you.

Beds were comfortable and water was hot. Towels were great.

Penny provides coffee and cereal in the mornings so ask. She was very kind and good to us.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
4.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
367 reviews
2.3 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de Amistad
Casa de Amistad
#1 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
428 reviews
4.7 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeaGate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaGate Hotel

Property: SeaGate Hotel
Address: Route 989 Km .04 | Box 747, 00765-0747, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — SeaGate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques' first hotel still in operation. SeaGate Hotel is a unique, pet-friendly, secluded retreat with no two rooms exactly alike. Natural breezes or AC, some with kitchens, all have at least a small refirdgerator and microwave, tv with local channels (Cottage & CQ have Direct TV), balconies or terraces, ocean views, and Concierge service. Complimentary transportation upon arrival from airport or ferry. SeaGate Hotel - you're home. Ingles y Espanol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your SeaGate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing