We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SeaGate Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Malecon House(Isla de Vieques)
$195
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Blok Hotel(Esperanza)
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hacienda Tamarindo(Isla de Vieques)
$167
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kokomo(Culebra)
$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
$213
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bravo Beach Hotel(Isla de Vieques)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveler rating
250
112
17
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
112
17
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorseback ridehumane societyferry terminalcharming hotelbiobay tourseparate bedroomroosters and dogsa great place to stayisabel iiking bedlight sleepertropical paradiseisland lifewonderful hostsbioluminescent bayfull kitchenvisiting vieques
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 403 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2008

We had a lovely stay in December 2007. Zoraida and Penny immediately welcomed us and made us feel right at home. Zoraida even gave us a driving tour of the town upon arrival. We stayed in one of the lesser expensive rooms. The room was very tiny, but clean and very comfortable with the fans. If you do not like animals and are expecting a luxury hotel I wouldn't recommend staying here. Lots of dogs, cats, horses, and some creepy crawlies around (we shared our room with a lizard----but that was ok, he ate all the bugs!), but that is to be expected on an island like Vieques. Definitely plan on bringing ear plugs, or the roosters and dogs in the surrounding neighborhood will keep you awake. Some coffee and limited fruit and pastries are offerred in the morning......a larger breakfast would have been nice. The town of Isabel Segunda is not the most beautiful place, but the rest of the island easily makes up for it! Overall, a lovely stay and warm hospitality for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank traveler1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

As night falls, the symphony begins...roosters, frogs and birds. It's a little disconcerting the first night--nature can be quite loud. Each room on this three-tied inn has access to an outdoor terrace (bring bug spray--I wish I had) overlooking the lush grounds of this pet friendly place. (The owner started the island's humane society.) The top floor gets a view of the water through the trees-, but I was perfectly happy with my space & view on the first level.

You have to pass through a poor neighborhood to before arriving at this laid-back oasis at the top of a hill. If that bothers you, then take off a star. It bothers me that folks are poor, but not that I have to see them. The place is absolutely safe. But you don't want to stay here if you don't have a car (it's a 15 minute drive to Sombe) and we had some difficulty finding one to rent. Zoraida & Jeff (the managers of the place) went out of their way to locate a vehicle. They also offered to pick us up at the airport. Each evening, they dropped off some fresh fruit, OJ and bread for our morning snack. The room had a coffee maker, but no filters or coffee...but we were told to come over to the office and help ourselves to the coffee there.
All in all, the place is wonderful and laid-back. The rooms are clean, freshly painted white walls with comfortable beds. (We loved the delicate mobile made of bits of coral, driftwood and shell). They are still improving the property--the pool is being redone but who comes to Vieques to swim in a pool? I would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank DocWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

Beautiful lush grounds and as much nature as you can absorb (Horses, Roosters, dogs, cats, and iguanas too), clean spacious rooms, great hands on management that have creative solutions and know all the secrets of making your stay perfect.
You must book a car well in advance when coming to Vieques!
The Seagate offers horse riding in the area including a visit to the beach.....it was amazing.....
BIO BAY KAYAK - a must!!!

We had a great experience with Jeff and Zori, the new managers, it seems like they are taking the hotel to the next level and have tons of drive and patience for all of your questions.

We recommend this place highly, and it wont be long before we will be coming back........

Shay and Lisa
New York, NY
Dec 2007

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shay-Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

If you are one who might install a tape of `white-noise', you can leave your recording at home. This enchanting little gem of a hotel is the antithesis of the Hyatt-type experience. Warm friendly staff are really there to make your experience all that it might be. Located on what appears to be the high spot, above the historic fort/museum, I can't imagine a place more lovely than the veranda outside our room. It was the first time I ever had a place to sit where I could look down and watch coconuts grow, five feet from my seat.

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank cutdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaGateMgr, Manager at SeaGate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2007

Thanks for the compliment! It was great having you both with us, and were looking forward to your next visit. Thanks again ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2007

The Sea Gate Guest House has spacious rooms with a balcony and kitchen area and friendly hosts . It is clean and we would highly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank mermaid718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaGateMgr, Manager at SeaGate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2007

It was a pleasure having you, were very happy you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for the recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews