We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Bravo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bravo Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Love the facility, nice and clean, quite, beautiful view. The hotel have available for use beach chairs, cooler, snokling equiment, beach shoes. Was more than what we expected, highly recomended, we spent a week on a cruise and then went to vieques..excellent attention from front desk, manager and percy (lovely dog).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Berta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 375 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in late february. It's on a tiny, crowded residential street just a 5 minute walk from town (which is a bonus if you want to go out to eat - though just one or two restaurants were open). We were greeted by a locked office door and walked around looking for staff and waited for maybe 20 minutes until someone surfaced. She was nice but really not very welcoming - she said hello, sat us down in the small office, read the rules, then had us sign the hotel agreement.

Our room was an ocean view room on the 2nd floor. If you're on the first floor you really have no privacy, so I'd definitely recommend the 2nd floor. The property is pretty small and kind of dingy. Rusted chairs near the pool (which nobody got in during the time we were there - it's strangely situated), our stucco balcony was significantly crumbling, and things in general don't seem well-tended to. Our room was definitely clean and comfortable. Because of safety concerns we kept the balcony door closed at night when we went to sleep, which means we turned on the a/c to keep cool.

The bathroom was ok. Kind of mildewy and dark but otherwise fine.

Breakfast was cereals, bread for toast, butter, juice, and I think some fruit. It was super basic - would be really easy to make it better by adding yogurt, for example. We really never saw any staff around so couldn't ask for things.

Our first morning there we rented a beach umbrella from the office. We set off for the day and when we arrived at the beach we realized the umbrella was broken. Which was really frustrating. We returned at the end of the day and told the office. They didn't offer to refund us the fee we paid, which was disappointing.

It's about a 15-20 minute drive to most of the beaches, FYI, so be sure to rent a car and rent it early!

They have an awesome dog that hangs around (especially during breakfast). I can't remember his name but he's lots of fun. There are lots of barking dogs around the hotel but it didn't really bother us.

So over all it was okay. I would recommend it with reservations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Churros81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHalberg, Manager at Bravo Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Churros81,

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. We take all reviews very seriously and use them as a way to improve our property and service.

Regarding your check-in, our office hours are 8am - 6pm. There is also a sign with our contact information posted on the office door for after office hours, or if the staff has stepped away from the desk to help another guest. If our staff was away from the office for more than 5 minutes, I can only assume they must have been with another guest - possibly checking them in. As we are a smaller property, we only staff the office with one person at a time.

I'm not sure why you had a hard time locating any of our staff members at other times during your stay - the office is open from 8am - 6pm, we have an attendant during breakfast hours, and one of our maintenance staff members is always around sweeping, trimming, and tidying the outdoor areas (especially in the morning, as they tend to do interior work in the afternoons).

Regarding maintenance issues - there are some cracks in the concrete finishing. Unfortunately this is something we deal with on a regular basis as a result of being so close to the sea. I also don't believe it is possible for any of our aluminum pool chairs to be rusting, but I do apologize if you found them unappealing. We have recently replaced/repaired all of our pool lounge chairs.

I'm sorry that you were not refunded for your umbrella rental. If you email me directly at info@bravobeachhotel.com with your contact information, I can review your account and issue a refund for the umbrella.

Thanks for including the car rental tip to future guests - we have recently partnered with Vieques Car Rental to offer our guests and easier way to reserve their hotel and car rental at the same time.

Thank you,

Janna Halberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at this wonderful boutique hotel in February 2014 and shared the 2-bedroom villa with another couple traveling with us. After having stayed at many all-inclusive resorts over the years, it was a refreshing change to stay in a smaller hotel right on the ocean and dine at local restaurants. We didn't realize that breakfast was included, and it was more than ample with different items each day. The wonderful owners of the hotel are on-site most of the time, and the rest of the staff was attentive and informative. We were directed to some outstanding restaurants, fun bars, local shopping and the most amazing beaches we have ever seen. I went running each morning and felt completely safe. We always say we wouldn't repeat a trip because there's so many places to see in the world, but I truly hope we can visit the Bravo Beach Hotel again. That's saying a lot!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LANIKINSMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We recently traveled to Vieques in March 2014 (high season according to locals), stayed at the Bravo Beach Hotel and are so glad we did. They were accommodating before we even got there, letting us shuffle rooms so we were able to have an ocean view for a couple of nights. The hotel is simple, no frills, but exactly what we needed (and clean, which is most important in my book). Breakfast each day was great, perfect jump start to the day. The beach chairs, coolers, towels were great to have access to. Highly recommend renting a car, the only beaches nearby are a 15 minute walk and not as nice as those on the other side of the island.

Room Tip: The Ocean View rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed in an ocean view room (I don't even want to say which one because I don't want it gone when we come back!) for 3 nights and I wish we would have stayed longer. I almost cried as we were closing the door seeing the view disappear:(

Being from MN, it is always nice to get away but it was a treat to stay in a hotel owned by fellow MNans:) The room was spacious, had a comfortable bed, a nice microfridge and modern amenities. They even had whole bottles of shampoo and conditioner rather than travel sizes. (My one complaint is that I enjoy lots of blankets and was only able to get an extra sheet).

The view was amazing and we had our own little table and chairs along our room and alongside the infinity pool which overlooked the ocean.

We were greeted right away for check in which was a treat from where we came from... she (I wish I knew her name) was very helpful and made sure she helped us rent a car which can be difficult. We got a wonderful tour of the property and she was incredibly helpful with learning the map and suggesting places to eat, visit and shop.

We WILL be back and I have been telling any one who is looking for a trip about our stay. Hopefully you will be joined by more MNans learning about the beauty and amazingness of Vieques!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruiserMom28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were looking for a place to unplug. Bravo fit the bill for us! They do have WiFI if you really must but try not to need it and let the ocean sooth your soul.
It is sited right on the ocean. There are two pools on the property - one in an enclosed patio area and one overlooking the ocean. Every morning breakfast is served next to the pool overlooking the ocean. It is a spectacular way to start the day. The breakfast is simple and adequate. Hard boiled eggs and peanut butter were especially appreciated by us.
The owners and staff are very helpful but nonintrusive. They will interact as much or as little as you like. They were very helpful with suggestions of restaurants.
One really wonderful thing about this hotel is their policy of lending beach chairs and coolers to guests. This really made the difference in our stay. With two beach chairs and a cooler of drinks we picked up in town, we were set to enjoy the beaches. The second wonderful thing is the honor bar in the patio next to the pool.
You need to know this is not a luxury property if that is what you need. It is a nicely kept, beautiful property run by wonderful people. The rooms are all air conditioned, comfortable, and clean. This is not a new property and it has the maintenance issues of any island property on the ocean. Salt water is very corrosive.
It is in the middle of a residential neighborhood, so, yes, you can hear the roosters from other yards. That was, to us, part of the charm.
Vieques is a place apart with island charm. Part of the charm is the roosters, free range chickens, free range dogs, and free range horses. The roads are very narrow and the roads leading to the beaches are more accurately described as dirt paths with potholes. You will need a 4 wheel drive to get to some of the best beaches and to get around. This is not a problem since it seems that is all the rental companies are giving out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momoboys_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

I went to Vieques with my sister this past weekend and stayed in the top apartment in Casa Roja which is also managed and operated by Bravo Beach Hotel. This 2 bedroom apartment had all the amenities that you are looking for. Very clean , great sheets, Frette towels, the beds very comfortable , even the toiletries were good ( Tommy Bahamas) .. The bedrooms had very good air conditioning and the furnishings in great condition. Our apartment had a balcony with a hammock and it overlooked the hotel with a view of the Ocean.. The breakfast is included and it was great, fresh fruit, bread , cereal , juice and coffee. The concierge and manager ,Neilin is very helpful and the new owners are very commited to their guests.. The property has 2 pools and BBQ pits if you decide you will like to cook one night.. So if you will like visit Vieques and stay for a couple of nights and you will like simple accomodations, I will recommend it ..

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
4.7 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 5 in Isla de Vieques
457 reviews
2.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#2 of 5 in Isla de Vieques
1,844 reviews
13.7 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
243 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#3 of 5 in Isla de Vieques
574 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bravo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bravo Beach Hotel

Address: North Shore Rd, 00765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $125 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bravo Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bravo Beach Hotel is an 18 unit ocean front hotel consisting of 2 properties - the main hotel and Casa Roja (located just across the street). All guests have the same amenities and 24 hour access to the main hotel property. We are located on the Atlantic coast of Vieques, five minutes from the town of Isabel Segunda.Amenities include daily continental breakfast, wifi, satellite tv and free use of beach towels, chairs and coolers to take with you while you explore the island. Please note that while we are a coastal property, we do not have a swimming beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Bravo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bravo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing