We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true gem!”
other travelers have booked this property
Salt Water Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Salt Water Pool
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Salt Water Pool
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Area
Kitchen
Guest Bathroom
Air Conditioned Bedroom with King Size Bed
Nightstand
Master Bathroom
Desk
Outdoor Shower
Pool with a View
The View of the Atlantic
Nearby La Chata Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wam307
Scranton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A true gem!”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first time visiting Vieques and this home, Surf Side, made our trip! The home is in a quiet location with a view that is beautiful. The grounds were very well kept. The salt water pool was a treat!
There wasn't anything that we lacked in terms of appointments in the house. It was clean, up to date, cozy, and welcoming.
The property managers, Damien and Michelle could not have been more helpful in directing us "newbies" to choice spots for dining, beach time, and worthwhile activities. They responded to our needs at the house literally immediately. Always available, they were beyond excellent.
We recommend Surf Side and its managers, Damien and Michelle without hesitation. We will definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the view
Liked least: Not a single complaint.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoozieand...
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A truly great experience!”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Surf Side villa from February 21st until the 29th. We have nothing but positives to say for this home, it's amenities, and it's managers, Michelle and Damien.
The home itself is well appointed and secure. Everything one could need in the kitchen is there. We cook at home quite a bit while vacationing and the kitchen lacked nothing. The bedroom was cozy, the bed, comfy. The home was immaculately clean and very welcoming.
We spend time at "home" often while vacationing and this home lent itself excellently to that. The decks, both first and second level, provided great views and plenty of peace and sunshine. The salt water pool was perfect. Not too much salinity, just right and very clean.
We were walking distance to a beach that was simply awesome. Great surf and views. Sea glass abounds! Swimming there would be a challenge, however beaches more suited to swimming were no more than a 15-20 minute drive.
This was our first visit to Vieques and certainly will not be our last!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness and the beautiful view.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlabeth
Kendallville, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couple's Retreat - Perfect for the Alone Time You are Seeking”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely incredible - perfect house for a couple's getaway!! We booked this rental in February for our July anniversary. We both put the picture of the view from the pool as our background on our work computers. The pictures do not lie; the view is amazing. It's one of the few houses where you don't have another house blocking your view to the ocean. The house is beautiful, crisp and clean, with interior design you just want to take home with you. The amenities included everything we needed, and then some. Sitting by the pool at night listening to the waves and staring at the beautiful sky is a dream come true. Horses would frequent the empty lot across the way and we even ventured down there ourselves to enjoy our own private beach to watch the sunrise and sunset - or to just ponder life in the vast beauty of God's creation. Michele and Damien are incredible hosts. Michele was very helpful throughout the months helping us plan and give recommendations. Damien met us at the car rental and we followed him to the house. He had us on speaker phone and pointed out different areas of the island that we would be interested in. He gave us a great tour of the house and went over the Vieques map with us recommending his favorite restaurants and different beaches / activities throughout as well. Michele and Damien were extremely helpful during our stay - answering any questions we may have had, without hesitation. Upon leaving, we didn't feel as if we were just house guests, but rather that we were part of the Surf Side family and that we had made some new friends. The hospitality alone makes us want to return to paradise...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R
Garland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Relaxing time in Vieques!”
Reviewed April 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at the Surf Side house in Vieques was so relaxing and convenient to what we were wanting to do. The house itself was clean, had the amenities that made it like you were at home! Damien and Michelle were great - anything we requested they were right there with answers, tips or to provide what we needed. We especially enjoyed the pool every morning and night - how nice and relaxing it was. As far as the view you really can't ask for much better - the ocean views and sounds - the stars were very bright at night and the horses across the street just grazing. All in all we had a wonderful time and intend to go back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Salt Water Pool and View
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TortolaGi...
Long Beach, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is as advertised!”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After dealing with 2 cancelled flights out of JFK, we finally arrived in Vieques a day late but eager to embrace the warmth and hospitality Vieques had to offer. We were not disappointed. We met Damien (one of the property managers) at the car rental agency and followed him to Surfside. Damien had offered to show us some points of interests, but since we had been in Vieques last year we more interested in getting to the villa and we were not disappointed when we got there. The view from the pool deck was only exceeded by the one from the rooftop deck. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. Combined with the Weber grill on the pool deck, we ended up eating most of our meals at the house. Breakfast on the upper deck and Bailey's Banana Coladas poolside before lunch prepared on the BBQ grill kept us from leaving the house. Late night swims became our routine when we returned from town.

We spent more time in Isabel Segunda than Esperanza this year. The local bars and restaurants (Plaza, Azul, Taverna, and others) accurately portray the friendliness of the residents. Our time spent in Esperanza was usually following a day spent on one of the great beaches on that side of the island. Don't hesitate to eat at any of the roadside food stands or trucks. El Sol was a justifiable favorite. Isla Nena at the airport is a must stop on arrival or departure. Homemade dumplings are available Monday, Wednesday and Friday. Say hi to Lyman!

The property managers Damien and Michele could not have been more helpful. We called them twice with small problems regarding bugs in the pool after an evening rainfall and our inability to access the room where the washer/dryer were located. Both times the response was prompt. Their recommendations for dining and shopping were also appreciated. We were commended for not setting off the alarm system all week.

We do have one recommendation. A hammock on the rooftop deck would be a great place to do some reading in the morning while the sun rises over the hill and the pool deck is still in the shade.

We are looking forward to our return to Vieques and hope we will be able to book the same time next year.

Brian and Linda McGovern
Long Beach, NY

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainc...
Asheville
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular Rental/ Excellent Service”
Reviewed February 16, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at this home (same time last year). It was just as wonderful this time (though it rained most of the time). The heated pool is awesome. The house is beautifully furnished and well-equipped. We love to cook and the kitchen has everything you need. Michelle and Damien (caretakers) are very accomodating and take care of every detail. Problems are dealt with immediately and they go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need (including great restaurant recommendations). I highly recommend this home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heated pool
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgwjaxbea...
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Where to begin? This house is perfect!!! From the very moment of arrival on Vieques, Michele and Damien (the wonderful couple who manage this house for the owners) make everything as easy as possible. For instance, the car rental place had to close unexpectedly before we arrived, so Michele and Damien picked the car up for us, and met us at the airport. As we were arranging luggage and generally introducing ourselves to each other, I mentioned something about wine. So what happened next? Before going to the house, Michele and Damien took the time to take us to the local wine shop so we could get some wine. So thoughtful!!! The house is AMAZING. Perfectly appointed - every detail you can imagine has already been thought of - every need provided for - down to a selection of herbs and spices for you to use or to take home, umbrellas, beach towels, beach chairs, coolers, on and on!! Michele and Damien take the time to review every feature, show you how the appliances, security system, etc etc work - and then make sure you have their contact information in case you have any questions at all. They were very sweet with our dumb questions and "oops, we set off the alarm system", and by the time we left, I felt as though my husband and I had made new friends!!

The house itself is beautifully laid out and appointed - high end cookware and appliances, full satellite tv, two gorgeous bathrooms, the pool area is to die for, and the upstairs entertaining patio, complete with pergola and table for 8 or 10 is GORGEOUS. It's in a beautiful, quiet neighborhood, perfect location!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Michele and Damien, and the pool!
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing