We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most hospitable place / people I've come across”

Hammock House Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hammock House Hostel
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Most hospitable place / people I've come across”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

What really made this place so awesome were the people. Jake and Toffer (and not to mention Izzy, one of the friendliest and strangely wise dogs you'll meet) go out of their way to make you feel as comfortable as possible. They help you find all the best things to do on the Island at the best price and actively encourage an atmosphere in which fellow travelers can get to know one another. The hostel itself is very comfortable and well maintained. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at the Hammock House Hostel for 6 nights and I just had the most wonderful time. Topher and Jake have a way of welcoming people and making them feel comfortable. I felt like I was part of a family and it made my adventure in vieques amazing. The best part was getting back to the hostel after my day and Topher would ask me how my day was and just listen to me rumble on about my day. They take the time to listen and hang with the guests and this makes it very special. Topher is very knowledgeable of the area which helps and they go out of their way to make sure everyone gets where they want to go with ease. The hostel itself is very clean , they keep the place spotless and bug free as well which I really appreciated. If you are looking for an adventure and looking to meet other cool travellers, then this is the place to be. Easily the best hostel i have ever been in. izzie the dog is also so sweet, she loves people and all the petting she gets. I love the Hammock House Hostel..... Dont think twice, stay here and see what all the buzz is about :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for Christmas. Topher and Jake were super helpful, even before we arrived at Vieques. Topher gave me information about the ferry and how to get to the hostel. The room we were given was spacious and clean. Topher and Jake gave us great suggestions on what to do for the day. They texted me throughout the day to make sure that we were ok. I felt really taken care of! Really sad that we only stayed there for a night. I could have easily spent a few more days there!
Totally recommend a stay at Hammock House if you visit Vieques!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwmmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is 1 of the 3 hostels I stayed in PR and I must say its an amazing place. This place made other ppl jealous of me when I got off the publico which dropped me at the hostel. I guess its the hammocks that make it special.

It inexpensive, clean, and very safe. The mixed room was spacious too.

Jake woke up early morning at 6 AM and drove me to the ferry terminal. I stayed here for just one night and wish I stayed here for longer time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vijaypatil3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wonderful owners, wonderfully clean, great hospitality...and cheapest thing you will ever find on the island. Tofer and Jack will go out of their way ...above and beyond what they should be doing to make your stay wonderful. Great place to meet other travelers. Don't think twice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Topher, Jake, and Izzie were all awesome. This hostel was the best hostel I have stayed in. It was inexpensive, clean, and very safe. Topher showed us how to get around everywhere on the island. We even had 3 extra friends wanting to stay last minute, and they made sure to find room for them as well, which was great! All the other people staying in the hostel were great as well. I would recommend this hostel to anyone, and will be sure to return if I am ever back in Vieques in the future!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, they have rooms for groups, couples, girls only, and guys only. Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brion2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

In less than a year, these guys have not only brought affordable lodging to Vieques (a much needed alternative to the pricy hotels and guest houses), they’ve also created a clean, welcoming hostel with a friendly vibe. The rooms are spacious and well kept and definitely worth the price, my bed was comfortable, and the kitchen/lounge area is clean and inviting. And Izzy, the resident dog, is awesome. The hostel itself is in a relatively central location if you have a car or rent a bike, but it’s not really walking distance from most of the island’s main attractions. Tofer and Jake will go out of their way to make sure everyone has a good experience, and they are full of helpful information about where to rent bicycles (Denisse, who they recommended, had good bikes available at good rates, and she even came and picked me and the bike up in Esperanza when an unrelated toe injury made the homeward journey seem implausible), who to call for taxis (the “official” taxi service is great and has an impressive fleet of new vehicles), etc. I wasn’t too impressed with the biobay tour operator they suggested (Dindin), who was probably drunk, drove a broken-down van with doors tied together (very unsafe), and encouraged people on the tour to go swimming in the bay, which he knows is illegal and harmful to the dinoflagellates (however, Tofer and Jake were probably correct in saying that his tour was the cheapest).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
0.0 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
359 reviews
0.0 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,764 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 46 in San Juan
752 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lazy Hostel
The Lazy Hostel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grateful Souls Hostel
Grateful Souls Hostel
#1 of 7 in Aguada
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hammock House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammock House Hostel

Property: Hammock House Hostel
Address: Car 993 K1 HC Int | Barrio Monte Santo, Isabel II, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques' first and only Hostel conveniently located equal distances from the Northern Atlantic Township of Isabel II & the Southern Caribbean Township of Esperanza. Walking distance to the Atlantic Ocean, the largest grocery, auto rentals & the only two gas stations on the island. Owner operated. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing