We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can't wait to go back to Vieques”
other travelers have booked this property
Living Room is a large open space, airy & bright.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room is a large open space, airy & bright.
The Great Room has lots of seating & different areas to hang out in. Gaming table, dining table and bar counter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Living Room is a large open space, airy & bright.
The Great Room has lots of seating & different areas to hang out in.
Gaming table, dining table and bar counter
Queen back bedroom with banana trees out both windows.
Queen Bedroom
King Bedroom
King Bedroom
Kitchen fully outfitted
Newly renovated bathroom
Welcome to CASITA ROSITA with its lush tropical yard
The gate keeps the wild horses out.
Vieques is full of wildlife: from frogs to dogs, horses to turtles, roosters to cats, fish to crab
Backyard with view of water
Water view of he Carribean sea a block away
Big Back Decks with lots of seating.
Pick bananas from the walkway around to backdeck and entrance.
Walkway from outdoor shower to front of house
Large outdoor shower includes dry seating area, hooks & shelves.
The outdoor shower is surrounded by banana trees.
Big back deck
Laying in the hammock looking at the water
You can always hang up the hammock!
Under the shade of the Mango Tree
Shady front porch with lots of seating
Front porch with couch, chairs and cafe table
View through the front porch blooms of the Mina tree, native to PR, prized by locals.
Horses out on the street as seen through front door of Casita Rosita
Market right around the corner, Bakery next too
We are 3 doors up from coastal rd., 1 blk. to nearest beach, caretakers house seen on right side.
Promenade along the sea 1 blk. frm CASITA ROSITA
Great place to walk and hang out
And across the street are teh 9 restaurants & bars in the neighborhood
Sit by the water and see the island and fishing boats
One of many beaches near the house: on Esperanza & Sun Bays
Wild horses roam the island. Colts are common.
Malecon promenande in our neighborhood.
Lazy Jacks 3 blks away from Casita Rosita.
There's shade when you need it on most of our 20+ beaches.
Organic market on Tuesdays & Wednesdays by the GE Plant.
Ferry dock in Vieques: 'publico' taxi vans meet all ferrys except the last one of the night.
Ferry coming into Vieques in the Isabel Segunda town bay.
These are the roots of the Ceiba Tree
La Chiva Beach in Refuge
Horses in the Sun Bay state park meadow--beach just beyond
Old Lighthouse Well: sights of Vieques
Blue Beach/La Chiva Beach in Refuge
Great Views from the Marisol Fort Museum
Cabanas at Blue Beach, La Chiva, in the refuge.
Love BLUE BEACH
Dozens of beaches in Vieques to choose from
Fort Marisol Museum is free and hosts events open to the public
The Malecon promenade at night
Malecon at day.
Vieques Parade
The furthest beach going past SunBay
Tired Baby Horse at Sunbay with Mama
Bananas on the Malecon has is one of my new favorites under a new chef/ownership.
Draw Wildflower of Vieques Vacation package available
Hang out a the W Resort at dusk for happy hour & the outdoor fire
Vendors on the Esperanza promenade that is called 'Malecon' in Spanish.
Esperanza Bay is our one of two major bays in our neighborhood, including private beaches & coves.
our 'boardwalk' right in the neighborhood is made of concrete, and looks out over the water.
Daily specials at Duffy's in the neighborhood.
Fresh fish is aplenty in the neighborhood.
Welcome to CASITA ROSITA
King front Bedroom
Games, books, puzzles, beach gear and more
Casita Rosita is thoroughly outfitted
Dining Room & Kitchen combo
Mango season in the back yard
Banana trees all over the yard
Ornamental wall out front & the lush front yard garden
CASITA ROSITA glows with life & tropical energy even at night.
Hang out, eat, lounge, read in the privacy created by the tropical front yard.
Home Sweet Home
Shower among the banana trees.
You got our number!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BSlatts86
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back to Vieques”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed staying at Casita Rosita, loved the whole Vieques vibe. The house was so comfortable, well equipped, and conveniently located. It's an easy and fun walk in the neighborhood - just a couple of blocks - to town and the Malecon, with places to swim, great views, dining and drinks all within super easy reach. The little grocery around the corner was a good amenity. My family of 4 (including 2 adult "children") had everything we needed here, and we loved having coffee and evening drinks in the back yard. It's hard to tell from the listing, but there is a little bit of a view of the water right from the back patio, which was nice. The caretaker Ivonne lives right down the street and met us at the house upon arrival. She was delightful and so helpful. She is locally known as the "Flan Lady" for good reason - her flan was addictive, and our daughter Madison enjoyed practicing Spanish with her. We went on the bio bay tour with Malaya's Tours (Jimmy was our guide) and it was just great! All the Vieques beaches are easily reached by car, and all worth visiting. The snorkeling at Mosquito Pier (Jimmy recommended) was terrific and easy. We'd love to come back sometime and stay a lot longer because 3 days was NOT enough. The owner Rosie was very responsive by email and helped so much with our questions and plans. We felt welcome, safe, and had a super vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The close proximity to town.
Liked least: I always prefer staying right at the beach, but it's just not really an option there. There was so much personality and local flavor, I didn't miss staring at the water during all waking hours. :)
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebrabende...
De Pere, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Very Nice place that met all our needs”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The house was absolutely perfect for us. It had anything and everything one would need. The kitchen was well stocked as was the medicine cabinet in the bathroom. The supplies for the beaches were plentiful and had everything one would need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen was fully stocked and the local market was literally around the corner.
Liked least: We prefer it colder at night while we sleep and the air conditioner was great in the living/kitchen area. However, it didn't do much to cool the bedrooms.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M
Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Feeling at home in Esperanza!”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Casita Rosita! Our favorite part was the outdoor spaces - beautiful & very well maintained! The backyard was picturesque, private and it felt very homey to us. We didn't even use the shower inside! The fruits weren't ripe but boy were the trees pretty...we also loved all the neighborhood cats.

The house itself was great and had *everything* we could want..sunscreen, beach stuff, kitchen items and on and on. I sincerely appreciate the thought Rosie put into all those items as our first rental was lacking in amenities. The washer and dryer was a must with everything ending up damp or sandy everyday and we actually took advantage of the clothesline in the backyard.

We enjoyed the island and all the beautiful beaches it has to offer and it was so nice coming "home" at the end of the day. All the people were so nice - caretaker Ivonne was the sweetest lady, happy to show us around the house and the neighborhood!

The location of Casita Rosita can't be beat! The store (Colmado Lydia) was literally around the corner from the house (we visited almost everyday) and as you can see the water from the backyard, it's proximity to the ocean and the strip of restaurants was great. We spent 2 days at Sun Bay, only a 15 minute walk from our door. The rest of the beaches we drove to with our rental or hired out a taxi for a drop off & pick up. As driving on the island is a little crazy, we would recommend the use of a taxi but we were ultimately happy we chose to rent a Jeep for 2 days in order to explore the island on our own time.

Casita Rosita felt like home and it was evident that Rosie made a great effort to make it such. You can leave your blowdryer, bugspray and sunscreen at home and focus on a great vacation with Casita Rosita as your home base.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location!
Liked least: The reach of the A/C. While it was awesome to have, it wasn't much felt in the bedrooms and we had a hard time sleeping some nights.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob D
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The whole family loved it.”
Reviewed December 23, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My family loved Casita Rosita. We’ve been to Vieques before and decided to stay close to the water this time cause we couldn’t rent a car. My son and daughter loved it. It was great place for all of us to relax in a great location. Easy logistics, great neighborhood/house—loved the washer/dryer, snorkel gear for all of us, boogie boards, the big outdoor hot shower, the horses walking by, making blender drinkers and sitting on the front and back porches, the breeze coming through the windows. The place was really outfitted more than the ones we stayed in before.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hanging out on the porch with my lovely wife.
Liked least: I didn't like the pillows because many of them were too fluffy.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockwell1...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Enchanting Island Getaway”
Reviewed December 11, 2014 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I strongly recommend Casita Rosita to anyone who wants to experience the beauty and wonder of Vieques in accommodations other than a sterile resort hotel. The home is located just a few blocks from beautiful beaches in a community filled with warm and friendly neighbors. The house is clean, well maintained and equipped with modern appliances. The backyard patio area is especially noteworthy. I spent many an hour there reading and enjoying the tropical ambience among its lush plantings. I highly recommend this home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and condition of home. Backyard.
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose S
Glen Rock, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a charming cottage! So romantic and comfortable!”
Reviewed December 7, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely time at Casita Rosita's. It is the perfect place to stay for a romantic get-away! Everything is provided, including boogie boards, and a great selection of snorkeling gear with fins in many sizes. We didn't have to do much planning because everything is an easy walk. The bed was so comfortable, and we slept particularly well. The kitchen is well stocked, with condiments and basic food supplies, and there is papaya tree and banana trees in the yard. Every morning we had fresh papaya and bananas for a lovely breakfast on the big back porch. Rosie, our hostess, was very helpful and nice. Next time we hope to bring our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The charming decor
Liked least: The mangos were not in season...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California, United States
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing