We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Great Escape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Escape
Ranked #16 of 32 Isla de Vieques B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Overall, I LOVE Vieques and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Be sure to set your expectations before arrival, it's nice but not luxury.

Other reviews give great descriptions, a few things to add:
- You want a car, they usually book up before hotels are full
- If you don't have a car, you need ATT cell coverage and a boatload of patience. Cabs on the island are $15-$30 a ride, but you're calling individual drivers and they frequently don't answer, or don't showup. They decide hour by hour if they want to keep working.
- The owner + staff would usually give rides to esperanza
- Breakfast was simple. There are a few boxes of cereal, coffee, OJ, toast, and scrambled eggs. Banana and starfruit.
- Unlimited starfruit, there's a tree on the property. So good!
- Fresh Aloe plants, which the owner will cut for you if sunburned.
- This is not luxury. It's clean and well kept, good for the price.
- Pay any balances in cash
- It would have been nice to have beach equipment loaners (chairs, cooler)
- No internet. There is excellent ATT 4G coverage, and sprint has cell/data coverage. Heard from others that verizon only had phone coverage. ATT coverage is by far the best on the island.
- The owner is adorable, it felt like coming home to a mother at the end of each day. Always asking how we were, and if we needed anything. I worry about if she has anyone else to take over when sick/vacation/etc
- It's not safe to leave luggage in cars, on our checkout day we were able to leave suitcases, and she gave us fresh towels to use the outdoor shower.
- We weren't given fresh towels daily. Beach towels got kind of gross, I should have asked to have them washed. Would be great to have a stack of fresh towels for guests to exchange towels.

Room Tip: Room 2 was great! Upstairs, good water pressure in bathroom. Didn't notice if there was A/C, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jewlesrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    22
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
14
48
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA3
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We didn't love Vieques but we loved Dana and her co-worker Gary and their lovely Bed and Breakfast. They will take care of you and make you feel at home. The room was perfect and the grounds were heavenly. Would highly recommend staying there! My daughter still talks about Dana and Gary (she's 2 and 1/2 years old).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelloveto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Great Escape every February for the last 5 years. We are headed back again this year. The building and grounds are very beautiful. There is an amazing variety of plants growing on the property. The pool Is a nice treat after being out in the sun all day. The B&B is up in the hills west of Esperanza but you can see the Caribbean sea from the pool deck. The rooms are nicely furnished with nice tile work. Dana (pronounced Donna), the innkeeper is the best. She does everything she can to make sure you have a great visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayamon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our stay dates: June 14-16, 2012. This is the second time we book Great Escapes at the beautiful Island of Vieques in Puerto Rico. I took both of my parents to the Great Escapes vacation rental because I needed to have the "best father's weekend celebration". Dana once again, provided the cleanest bedrooms, the most caring attentions to me and my family.

My mother and father were able to enjoy the nature surroundings, the pool, the breakfast and we all had the best of the summer vacations anyone can have. Vieques has lots of places to go and with that said we included in our stay a visit to the following places: tour the Mosquito Bay for the Bay Night Tour, Secret Beach, the Fort of Conde and drove all over the island to watch the wild horses.

While staying at Great Escapes, we were able to enjoy the pool area, their lounge area with a breeze that caters to a relax sunset, we ate some of the bananas offered by Dana from her land and we were able to have a private & quiet family time.

Thank you Dana for your great accommodations. From now on, Great Escapes is our ONLY vacation destination when visiting Vieques.

We love you..!

Sincerely,

Rodriguez Family
(Orlando-Florida)

Room Tip: Their sleep 2 one bed unit is excellent. We booked 2 (sleep 2 full size bed with A/C) one for us an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photographyjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Visited in this place in Feb 2012 for one week. Personality was really helpful and so friendly. WE enjoyed a lot! Rooms are nice and hotel area is really peaceful and also very beautiful. Dana and Gary where awesome. Dana was more than helpful to help find our way in the Island. Gary was allways there if we need anything. Perfect place to rest and enjoy peaceful time in this beautiful Island. It's is necessary to rent a car. In the hotel area there is lovely pool, nice garden and view was excellent! Mornings are amazing..! If you need a perfenct vacation and lot of relaxing, go to Gerat Escape! Greetings from Finland... :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_80_HKi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Beautifully decorated and clean rooms, nice pool, helpful staff. But most importantly, the owner - Dana - was always available to help us whenever needed. In an island with very little infrastructure, this is not a small thing. We stayed in Vieques during a busy long weekend in February 2012 and couldn't find a rental car in the island, even after many days attempting. Dana was able to find us one as soon as we got there. For those who do not plan to rent a car, the location is not ideal. For those - like us - who wanted to explore the island, the location was just perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prettywomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The Great Escape is a gem on a magical island. We stayed two nights in February of 2011 and had the place to ourselves with the exception of one other couple. The property sits on top of a hill that offers stunning views of the island, oceans, as well as the colorful property itself, replete with a pool, hammocks and fruit trees. It was about a 5-10 minute drive from downtown Esperanza, which created a more peaceful setting. *As is mentioned in other reviews, you should really rent a car about a month out from your trip to ensure you can explore the entire island.

The room was clean, bright and opened up to a wrap-around balcony. The owner of the property, Donna, ensured that we had the best time imaginable and went above and beyond to show hospitality. She helped to set us up for a tour of the bioluminescence and arranged for transportation for us. As beautiful as the island and beaches are, we would have been completely content resting at the Great Escape itself.

For anyone in search of a truly special and charming experience, look no further than the Great Escape.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
4.5 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
564 reviews
2.6 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
229 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
415 reviews
4.3 mi away
Casa de Amistad
Casa de Amistad
#1 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Escape

Property: Great Escape
Address: HC-02 Box 14,501, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Escape 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Escape Bed & Breakfast Inn is located on a hilltop on 3.8 acres of land in La Llave, Vieques Island, Puerto Rico. Almost constant trade winds make for a temperature several degrees cooler than in the towns. There are 10 modern guestrooms and 1 apartment with one bedroom, which, via connecting doors can be rented as a 2 or 3 bedroom. Continental Breakfast is served poolside daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Escape Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing