We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice and quaint place to stay!”
Review of Casa de Amistad

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Amistad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2005

I stayed here for four nights at the end of August with my wife and 4.5 year old. We had a nice time and the place was cool. The room was very small - too small for our 4.5 year old, but it would have been fine and cozy if it was just my wife and me. Owen was super nice and cool. He showed us all the good places to go.

It was a bit hot in late August, but still much cooler than Nevis where we stayed the week before.

I put up a few pictures of the trip on my blog at www.stuckincustoms.com . The beaches on Vieques are not to be missed!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ragnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 435 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2005

Wonderful place, wonderful people. Very cozy, very warm but hip and cleverly decorated. The streets of Isabel II are so bad as to be intentional and deliberate but we got over that as soon as we walked through the door at Amistad. If you must have a four-star resort with everything neat, proper and spotless at all times, keep looking and probably bypass the whole island--Vieques is for "adventurous" relaxation. But we are fairly well-traveled and have stayed at some spectacular resorts and hotels but have never had any that combined charm, value, comfort and service as well as Casa de Amistad. We will definitely return, probably with a large group in tow.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2005

We went back to Vieques for a three-day getaway in paradise. We took the ferry over from Fajardo (the high-speed ferry from San Juan stopped running in April for the low season) and walked about 3 short blocks to the guesthouse. The pics here and on the website capture the place, but of course don't do it justice.

It's a cozy guesthouse situated on a slightly ramshackle, but nevertheless safe, block in Isabel II. The back courtyard is a little oasis in the small and surprisingly hopping town. We stayed in room 1 (it's featured on the Casa's website in the Rooms and Rates section), which overlooked the courtyard and suited us perfectly. It's not a huge room, maybe 12x12, but it had everything that we needed and was clean and very comfortably appointed with a beach-hippie vibe. Owen is just fantastic, and seems to be known by just about everyone! And Isa is a sweetie, hunkering for a rub when you walk in the door.

We woke up every morning with the roosters (there must be millions of 'em on the island), burned ourselves crispy on the gorgeous beaches, dined at excellent restaurants, and came back to our room to really relax. We could park our jeep right in front of the guesthouse. We were usually out the door before coffee service, but I don't drink coffee anyway.

Must-do's:
-Dining at Tropical Baby, on Antonio G. Mellado near El Patio. She is cooking for our wedding reception. Fabulous, fresh, and healthy food with more of a global touch
-Kayak/snorkeling tour of the biobay with Abe
-Renting a jeep to get around. The last time we were there we took publicos and rented mountain bikes, but to get to some of those beaches without losing 50 pounds of water in the heat, I'd recommend a jeep
-Finding some alone time on one of those gorgeous beaches (this is not hard at all)

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ViequesBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
226
Reviewed May 15, 2005

Me and three of my friends stayed for 2 nights at Casa de Amistad on Vieques. I had read the other reviews and checked out their website. The place looks just like their website shows. We were not disappointed by Casa de Amistad! Without any need to think, we all agreed we'd stay there again! It was a very comfortable, clean, well decorated with a wonderful very personal atmosphere. It felt like I was coming home everytime I came back. Owen, the owner is a very nice and sociable person as well as Sylvia who helps him with running things. I highly recommend this place. The prices are a steal for such a wonderful place.

Vieques in general is beautiful. We took the ferry from Fajardo. It's an hour and a half, but it's relaxing and beautiful. We rented scooters on Vieuqes (I'd highly recommend it), and had no problem getting to any of the beaches. We visited three while there. They were beautiful and pristine. It was such a relaxing time. I can't put into words just how much so. I'd also highly recommend the BioLuminscent bay tour. We went with Blue Kayak tours in Esperanza. It's a phenominal adventure out in this small enclosed bay. These guys give you a lot of info on the ecology and the microscopic lifeforms that bio-illuminate. We found a lot of the people we met while there were very friendly. Overall it was a fantastic two days there before we returned to the main island.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2005

We stayed at Casa de Amistad last year and loved it. It was recommended by a friend who owns property on the Island. We walked everywhere or took cabs. The hosts were pleasant and very accomodating with recommendations for restaurants and things to see . There is a small pool and outdoor patio and of course the beaches are magnificent. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated with an island feel. Coffee every morning and fresh fruit. Very inexpensive use of internet so I could daily read and answer my emails. We went snorkeling off the Island on a sailboat and the skipper was very helpful. The water on Vieques comes form the mainland rainforest and it very drinkable. Watching the sunset every evening over the rainforest in the distance, from the deck of the Crow's Nest was a relaxing way to wind down and talk to locals and other tourists.
The stay in season (February)was very reasonably priced and the weather was a perfect 80-82 degrees. It was a bit over $100 per night.
We took the ferry and upon our return to San Juan spent the weekend in the city and loved that as well. Mel and Jill

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank valentinebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
114
Reviewed March 17, 2005

My wife and I and some friends just returned from a four night stay at Casa de Amistad. We loved the place. It is clean, comfortable and has a great atmosphere. We would definitly return there if we ever go back to Vieques. We thought it is a great deal for what you get.

Some notes about Vieques. Though there is not alot of people there we found that you have to make reservations for any of the restaraunts that draw a crowd. Meaning, Media Luna, Island Steakhouse, Chez Shack, and a few others. We would have saved some aggravation if we had known about this in advance. Vieques is a great place if you are looking for beautiful beaches that are not crowded. Plan on renting a Jeep, most of the good beaches required at least a ten minute drive on dirt/gravel roads. Many rental car places will drop your car off at hotel if you ask. And you definitly need to rent a car.

Also if you are taking the ferry get there very early. We showed up at 6:00 am for the 6:30 am ferry on a Wednesday and the ferry sold out before we could get tickets.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Woodbury, NY
116
Reviewed March 15, 2005

We were invited to a wedding on Vieques, which we only knew as a place having something to do with Puerto Rico. Every single person who came to the wedding stayed at a large resort and spent $300 a night-not us! We stayed in the Casa de Amistad in the port town of Isabel II, and we made the right decision and spent about 1/4 the money. Our hosts were a great couple from NY, Owen and Dan, who provided us with everything you need for a beach vacation gratis, as well as terrific advice. We spent the days with a picnic lunch on the most perfect beaches I have seen since Kauai, while all of the other people who travelled down for the wedding lounged at the pool at the resort, and might as well have been in St. Louis.
For anyone traveling to Vieques, this is my advice:
1) Don't take the ferry; take a plane
2) Rent a car; make sure it is a Jeep because the roads are awful.
3) Stay in either Isabel II or Esperanza.
4) Eat as much steak as you can because it is amazing. Puerto Rican coffee is also pretty killer.
5) The bioluminescent bay is a don't miss. It might be the single most amazing thing I have ever experience.
6) The bakeries are also sandwich shops;they are open as long as the bread lasts, so get there early for sandwiches (a typical sandwich is ham and cheese,and costs $1.50- much better than the $20 burgers our fellow travelers were munching on next to the pool).
7) Stay at the Casa de Amistad in room 1.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
4.4 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
2.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
4.7 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#6 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Amistad

Address: 27 Calle Benitez Castano, 00765-3027, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $60 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Amistad is a cozy seven room guesthouse located in the heart of Isabel Segunda on the Island of Vieques, Puerto Rico. Close to the ferry, restaurants, bars, museums and the town plaza. A/C, pool, courtyard garden, common kitchen are just some of the amenities. Hope to see you soon... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Amistad Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing