We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, price, service and features!!!”
Review of Casa de Amistad

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Amistad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Great place!!! Clean, comfortable, close to many conveniences. Nancy was great with us and our two girls. The pool was a great feature after a hot day discovering the island

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arturivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 435 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a week long vacation in Puerto Rico. We stayed at three different Inns and paradors. Casa de Amistad was my favorite by far. From the minute you walk in, you feel at home. Nancy took great care of us. She gave us directions, several times, to restaurants, beaches, tours, etc. FYI, apparently the owners come during the winter months, but Nancy was wonderful and new a lot of the locals that we toured and dove with. The comon areas are decorated in true island décor and make you feel very comfortable. I recommend the hammock! The place was very clean and our room was very comfortable. The AC worked great!

We could walk everywhere we needed to in Isabel II but we rented a jeep to explore the beaches. We used Martineau Car Rental. They were very helpful, one minute from the airport and a great beach. Don't miss the Bio Bay tour. We kayaked, but after a couple of hours, the boat tour was sounding pretty good!

One of the only downfalls would be that Casa de Amistad doesn't offer breakfast like many of the inns. You can cook your own and there is a market close by. We really liked Roy's Coffee Lounge and Guesthouse for breakfast, plus they had free WiFi. For lunch, there was a small tavern and restaurant right on the corner of the street Casa de Amistad was located on. Their sandwiches and salads were very fresh and the owners were great. If you are planning to stay only a couple of nights on Vieques, you may want to plan a weekend stay. Many of the restaurants are only open Thursday through Sunday. Another item to note is that the guest rooms do not have TVs. There is one TV in a common area. Shower pressure and water temperature probably wasn't as good as a big chain hotel.

We would definitely stay at Casa de Amistad again! It felt like a home away from home that we didn't have to clean!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank St_LouisCara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2008

We stayed at Casa de Amistad for three nights, and thought it was absolutely wonderful! The hosts went out of their way to make everyone feel at home - when we arrived, we were given the tour of the place and a detailed map and advice about the island. They have pretty much everything you need (towels, snorkel gear, beer in the fridge).

The rooms are very nice, the air conditioning works well, the common areas are very comfortable too. We befriended a number of the other guests, and a number of the locals down at Mar Azul at the end of the block.

No negatives at all, really - the place is an incredible bargain, very well situated, and enjoyable. We liked being in Isabel II since it seemed more like an actual Puerto Rican town; Esperanza on the south side, though it's closer to Bioluminescent Bay and Caribbean beaches, while nice, seems overloaded with 'Americans' and is basically just one strip along the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wombatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa De Amistad. The owners were wonderful! We arrived in Vieques on the ferry. The ferry ride was awful and we were miserable and drenched by the time we got there. They took our towels and washed and dried them for us and got us to our room quickly so we could change and get warm. They were just great guys and really nice and helpful! Our room was great. We got a room with a separate bathroom, so I was a little unsure of the setup before we arrived but it was really cool. You have a key to the bathroom and no one else uses it but you so you can leave your stuff in there and it is no problem. The pool area is really cute and the main floor is cool. The owners are artists and they have their work hanging up downstairs. The place just had a really good vibe and it was our favorite stop of the trip.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Movintovieques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

If you've seen the pictures on the internet, it looks exactly like them. The place is beautiful, down the smallest details. My mom and I stayed here, and we loved it. It should appeal to a younger or older generation without kids. Everything is very comfortable.

Owen is your host. He is very attentive, and if you need any favors, ask him. While I was there, he drove the rental car back to the rental agency for one couple because they could not.

I picked this place because it had a kitchen, but beware that the kitchen is only for light use, for example, warming stuff up. They didn't say anything to us because we were using the kitchen, and we saved a bunch of money by not eating at the overpriced restaurants on Vieques.

This is just a general note about Vieques, but there is a lot of noise. There are the coqui frogs, the crowing roosters, and the people. Bring earplugs or turn on the AC if you are sound-sensitive.

There is a tv room, a book exchange, a kitchen, a pool, a sitting room, a front porch, a sun deck, and a cafe-style dining room. There is a lot of public space, and if you wanted, you could spend your entire vacation in the hotel just chilling and chatting with other guests. Mom and I loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Miss_Qween_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Casa de Amistad is the best choice for Vieques. It was perfect for getting acquainted with island life. We were welcomed into a cool little oasis by two wonderful hosts who made our stay very relaxing and memorable.
We enjoyed and took advantage of the location by taking walks through the small village and witnessing a different culture. There is a bakery nearby where we would buy fresh pastries early every morning and enjoy them in Amistad's beautiful courtyard (there is also a well stocked market a couple blocks away). The warming kitchen is very practical with fresh coffee every morning. They also have a little indoor dinning area, a small library, internet bar, second floor open air covered lounge, just so many things.
If you are making your first trip to Vieques or are returning then I would recommend Casa de Amistad without hesitation. The value is incredible for the accommodations, atmosphere, and the help you will receive from the hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familytravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

We have just returned from 3 nights at Casa de Amistad . We stayed in the two room suit with another couple and it didn’t feel cramped. There are just so many other areas in the guest house to lounge around and meet other guest. The guest house is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before. It was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves back onto the ferry to leave!

The rooms are clean and modern, the towels are soft and fluffy. The court yard is like stepping into a little paradise. The pool is lovely and we enjoyed the roof deck....and the morning coffee.

If your idea of a vacation includes mingling with guests over a cup of coffee, swapping stories about your adventures from the day before, hearing about all the good spots to go, and helpful island advice from Owen, David then this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank c_lynn129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
4.4 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
2.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
4.7 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#6 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Amistad

Address: 27 Calle Benitez Castano, 00765-3027, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $60 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Amistad is a cozy seven room guesthouse located in the heart of Isabel Segunda on the Island of Vieques, Puerto Rico. Close to the ferry, restaurants, bars, museums and the town plaza. A/C, pool, courtyard garden, common kitchen are just some of the amenities. Hope to see you soon... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Amistad Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing