We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good amenities, and great owners.”
Review of Casa de Amistad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Amistad
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good amenities, and great owners.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I spent only one night @ Casa de Amistad, but left with a very positive impression. The owners were super friendly and helpful, and the property had everything we could have asked for, including a communal kitchen and t.v. room to a beautiful(if smallish) pool with great outdoor space. Plus we were within walking distance to the ferry to Fajardo, and plenty of bars and restaurants. Next time we'll plan on more than one night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y4446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    32
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
215
29
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Like the title suggests, Casa de Amistad was exactly what we were looking for in our 3-day trip to Vieques. Previous reviewers painted such a positive picture of the place, I was actually wary (thinking, too good to be true?). But it turns out Amistad is everything the reviewers have said. Peaceful, clean (really clean!), pretty, friendly, and comfortable. The owners went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant and worthwhile - even taking care of us when a computer issue interfered with our booking.

Travelers should be aware that there are a few different areas in Vieques. Amistad is in Isabel II, on the northwest (ish) part of the island, just a 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal. This is the central town for the island - post office, banks, etc. It's not too touristy and the beaches - on the Atlantic - are nice, but not spectacular. On the southern side of the island - the Caribbean side - is Esparanza, which is more touristy (bars, restaurants, adventure companies) and home to some of the most beautiful beaches. If you stay in Isabel, you'll need to drive to Esparanza - expect a $5 pp cab ride. We tended to call cab companies ahead, as publicos don't traverse the roads as frequently as you might think. I'd advise people to think about what they might want to be doing on Vieques so they know which area better suits them.

A lot of people rent cars on Vieques. We didn't, and at times we wish we had ($10 per ride for 2 of us over 3 days probably added up to what a rental car would have cost). That said, we rented bikes for one day and had a great time cycling the island - Isabel-Esparanza was a challenging but rewarding ride. Just beware, as not many people bike and the island roads are narrow and windy.

Be sure to check out some of the nature preserve beaches east of Esparanza - we went to Caracas, which was secluded and beautiful. Pack a lunch as there are no vendors nearby. We also spent an afternoon at the W, which is beautiful and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Lovely People! Clean and safe and comfortable. Plenty of amenities and so convenient. The kitchen was clean and VERY well stocked with appliances,gadgets, good sharp knives and a fine frying pan. (It was just great to NOt have my pancakes stick to a cheap pan!) The hosts were full of great ideas. Our only regret was that we ran out of time to follow them all. The mattresses were very comfortable-not too hard or too soft. I have two suggestions-get some new pillows. Ours were hard and flat. I would also love to see better water pressure in the shower. I had to think long and hard for a constructive suggestion. When we return again, we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The owners are extremely helpful, thanks for a great week. We were looking for a carefree but reasonable place to stay and were pleasantly surprised. We can't wait until we can return for another relaxing weeks vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Szizzo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phiadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you opt to stay in Isabel vs Esperanza ( little towns about 15 mins apart by car ) stay at Casa. I prefer Isabel as its less touristy. The owners are cool. laid back , and helpful ( rides to airport and to rental car ). They are doing some construction( adding couple more rooms unattached )
but it didn't matter as we were out early in the day and they stop working by late afternoon.
Rooms are all you need , comfy bed, perfect size bathroom fresh towels, linens when you want.
They offer free beach chairs, coolers, ice packs, beach towels!!! Al's bar right down the street and easy , drunk walk home to Amistad at night. ( I was in room 7 only room on the ground floor has private bathroom ) Make sure you rent a car, this is not an island you can get around on without wheels period ! A/C in rooms but we never needed to turn it on, no tv's which is great your on vacation, go outside !

Room Tip: all rooms are great just make sure if you want your own private bathroom you pick a room that has on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MINIMEOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We could not have chosen a better place to stay from the moment we walked in. We arrived late at night and Owen welcomed us and made us feel right at home. You need a vehicle to get to almost all of the beaches in Vieques, so not staying right on the ocean wasn't a problem. Isabel Segunda is a great town with many restaurants and shops. Owen, Dan, and David have clearly put a lot of work into making Casa De Amistad a beautiful guesthouse and are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 5 for one night. It had a separate, but private bathroom which didn't sound great at first, but ended up not being a problem. We switched into room 3 and also loved it. Both rooms were extremely clean and beautifully decorated. There's a great communal kitchen and courtyard where we made lots of friends and ended up hanging out with them outside of Casa De Amistad. Be sure to rent their snorkel gear and bring it to the beach. They also have coolers, ice, beach towels, and chairs to bring to the beach. This is a place I would want to bring my friends when I return to Vieques.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Spent 3 nights at Casa de Amistad, room #4. Wonderful place, clean, everything works and well decorated. The share kitchen is clean, well maintained and fully equipped. The rear pool area is a tropical oasis for relaxation. The hosts are very friendly and informative. Good location where you can walk into town & restaurants/bars. Highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
0.4 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
366 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
564 reviews
2.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
229 reviews
46.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
4.4 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#2 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Amistad

Property: Casa de Amistad
Address: 27 Calle Benitez Castano, 00765-3027, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Amistad is a cozy seven room guesthouse located in the heart of Isabel Segunda on the Island of Vieques, Puerto Rico. Close to the ferry, restaurants, bars, museums and the town plaza. A/C, pool, courtyard garden, common kitchen are just some of the amenities. Hope to see you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Amistad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Amistad Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing