We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, convenient, comfortable”
Review of Casa de Amistad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Amistad
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cute, convenient, comfortable”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Casa de Amistad is a small guesthouse with very clean and well-appointed rooms. We stayed in a room with a separate private bathroom, which was fine. There is plentiful hot water. It is walking distance to the ferry, which means that it's a $10 van ride to the touristy town with tours, a good beach, and lots of restaurants. There is a kitchen for common use, as well as beach towels, coolers and rafts to borrow for free. There is a charge for snorkeling equipment. The owner is a nice guy with good island recommendations, though be warned that it is necessary to rent a jeep to go to the good beaches, and that is VERY expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAGA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    32
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
215
29
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morrisonville, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Scott and I spent Valentine's Day and night at Casa de Amistad and had a wonderful time. So wonderful that we are planning on spending a couple of nights again there next year. Both
David and Owen made us feel very special, almost like part of the family. They gave us recommendations on where to eat, drink and shop. They even told us of the many beaches and which ones were better than others. They go out of their way to make your stay with them enjoyable. We asked them if they could help us find a taxi or bus to the beach and instead, David drove us and would take no money in return. Other than their wonderful care of us, the room we stayed in was very comfortable with air conditioning. We certainly had all the amenities of an expensive hotel yet not the price. We truly believed that we gained two friends and look forward to next year's trip. Definitely worth the trip!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie60111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Owen and David thought of everything. Casa de Amistad made it so easy to relax and enjoy. They drove us around the island as needed, gave us great beach and food recommendations and had all of the beach stuff that we wanted but didn't want to pack (beach chairs, coolers, beach towels etc.) The rooms are simple, comfortable and clean. They have easy parking and even a nearby hose to wash off your dive/snorkel gear. Whenever we get back to Vieques, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We're so glad we could get back to Vieques and Amistad! The owners added balconies to rooms 4 and 5 so that they are even more comfortable. We have stayed in room 5 twice now, and love the whole place. Another thing that was even better was that Owen was around more than our last stay. We could ask questions, making our stay even more enjoyable. The electricity on the entire island went out for the better part of an evening, but we had a great time at Al's Mar Azul with Owen and David--thank goodness for that generator! Many thanks for another super stay, and see you in 2013!

Room Tip: Save some money by choosing a room with private, locked bath down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judybusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Was completely blown away by this guesthouse. The place is beautiful, well-maintained and the host (Owen) is great -- he clearly thought of everything imaginable a guest would need, from extra towels and beach chairs to borrow, to Benadryl, and he was really, really helpful and patient with our questions. If I ever go back to Vieques, would not stay anywhere else.

Two cautions, neither of which have to do with Casa Amistad: first, really felt like the advice saying that you need a rental car on Vieques is true. Second, there are only two gas pumps on the whole island, but no one ever mentioned that. When we had to refill before returning our car, one of the gas stations was closed and the other ran out of regular gas and had a HUGE line for premium. We wound up paying Avis $8 per gallon instead of the $2 we would have been charged at the pump. (If Avis hadn't deemed it a "hardship" situation, they would have charged $18 under the contract!!) My advice is: fill up when you can!!

Room Tip: Would think rooms on the side closer to the ferry are quieter -- could hear a TV from our side (but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue11415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Casa de Amistad is about a 5 minute walk from the ferry. When you're inside, you'll never think you were so close to a port. The reception and ground floor are so charming. The decor is just right and so well maintained. Humidity and walls/paint can be a problem around PR and Vieques, but in Amistad you would never know it.

The backyard/pool area is very relaxing and a great addition. The pool, while small of course, is a great place to go for a late night swim or just to dunk one's feet while contemplating what to do on the island.

The room itself was very clean and accommodating. There's a mini fridge that you can keep small items and in the main house, there's a big fridge to keep the rest of your items.

You can use the beach towels, coolers, floatable, chairs - which is a great thing because you sure don't want to lug around those items from home.

All in all, it was a great place with a great and nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nychic026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Casa de Amistad is the only place I would stay on Vieques. Owen goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome in his extremely clean and friendly guesthouse. A good location in Isabel Segunda, you can get by without a car by walking to nearby stores, restaurants and the ferry dock, but Owen gladly rented us his beach car which helped us get to the beaches and to explore the island. He matched us up with two other travelers to share his car which helped us to make some new friends as well. Don't miss the Biobay tour - it is incredible.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
4.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
566 reviews
2.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,815 reviews
4.4 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
370 reviews
4.3 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
235 reviews
13.9 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Amistad

Property: Casa de Amistad
Address: 27 Calle Benitez Castano, 00765-3027, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Amistad is a cozy seven room guesthouse located in the heart of Isabel Segunda on the Island of Vieques, Puerto Rico. Close to the ferry, restaurants, bars, museums and the town plaza. A/C, pool, courtyard garden, common kitchen are just some of the amenities. Hope to see you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa de Amistad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Amistad Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing