We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel - great value - nice people”
Review of Casa de Amistad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Amistad
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice hotel - great value - nice people”
Reviewed January 11, 2008

although the town is a little tough, the hotel is great and people are friendly. Enjoy the roof deck....and the morning coffee. Gay friendly, as is most of the island. Just follow the rule of the island: don't leave anything in car!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynDanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    32
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
215
29
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2007

Found the hotel on TripAdvisor.
Vieques is quiet, unpretentious, and beautiful. The beaches are heavenly. There are no major resorts (OK... one... but you know what I mean, its not a 'developed' island). So the accomodation options you have are limited, but that doesn't mean bad. Casa de Amistad is a small guesthouse (kinda half hotel and half B&B), with a friendly staff. Rooms are comfortable, clean, have A/C, and decorated with IKEA stuff.
Staff has great knowledge of beaches, restaraunts, snorkelling spots, etc.
You MUST rent a car to see the island. And a good map. Getting to the beaches is half the fun.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank trvlmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2007

We stayed at a small rental house across the street from Casa de Amistad (that was owned by the hotel - I think they have since sold it as it's no longer on their website) which allowed us to also make use of the hotel's facilities. The people were extremely kind and helpful, the little pool (VERY little) was wonderful for our kids and the location was great (as long as you rent a car - which you should anyway). You are right up the street from a great bar that serves wonderful pina coladas on the outdoor deck. I have only positive memories and associations with this place and I can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — It's a car ride to the best beaches
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblinDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2007

Casa de Amistad is the perfect guesthouse. The staff is exceptionally kind and accommodating. The rooms are spotlessly clean and nicely appointed. The layout is wonderful with porches, a courtyard with a small pool, a dining area, a sun deck, and a common kitchen available to guests.

I was actually impressed how the kitchen and dining areas allowed guests to meet and compare notes on the beaches and snorkeling available on the island. I say this because this is a guesthouse with several rooms set up as a small hotel (8? I think) and not a Bed and Breakfast. Personally, I hate B&Bs and having to eat muffins with people I don't necessarily want to know at 8 am in the morning. I loved Casa de Amistad.

An additional point to note. Usually web sites are better than the real thing. Casa de Amistad is the opposite. It is better in real life than on the web!

I'll be back next year.

  • Liked — The building, staff, and location.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnesota_Ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2007

We stayed at Casa de Amistad for our 2nd time in 2 years, we adore this place, the owners and staff immensely. It's hard to put your finger on exactly what it is about Casa de Amistad that makes you love it so much.

Between providing every comfort that you can to need on a beach vacation (chairs, towels, beer, snorkel gear, free Puerto Rican coffee every morning, a clean pool) to being a perfect spot for those of us on "working vacations" (internet access, wireless connections, gorgeous spots under palm trees to do your work) - the rooms are clean and gorgeous, the staff (Enid, Nilsa) are fantastic, fun and go above and beyond for you...

The rooftop deck is amazing, at night to go up and toast with a glass of wine before heading into town for the best dinner you've ever had. The stars are gorgeous on Vieques and the deck is a great spot to check them out.

Enid will print out information on great local events (like special nights/dances in town, tours of organic farms on Vieques and more) and will tell you everything you need to know about what to do while you're there.

We have stayed both years in the rooms with bathrooms down the hall - and it is absolutely perfect. My bathroom is just a few steps away from my bedroom at home, and Amistad is completely comfortable in that way. The sheets and towels are soft and clean, the A/C and mini fridge/wine chiller is perfect and .. goodness, honestly I cant think of a better place to spend a week of my vacation. I got back last night and already I've been longingly checking the Amistad website for photos on their website of the pool and patio where I'd drink my coffee every day (although i took about a zillion photos of the gorgeous place) .

Oh, and to top it off, I overheard Enid saying she was thinking of putting in a hammock by the pool.. what could be better? And, with Al's Mar Azul just down the block- the local spot to check out sunsets and drink Pina Coladas every night - and there's a rousing Kareoke night on Saturdays - what could be better?

The first night also, we had to stay in "The Becker Room" which is *NOT* owned by Casa De Amistad. They were good enough to book this local guest room down the block for us for 1 night because we changed plans for our trip last minute and Amistad didn't have a room available. The Becker Room - was awesome! The becker room is owned by Al's Mar Azul and is literally hanging over the beach - you sleep with the sound of the waves at night, there's a private patio over the water with a big comfy hammock. Downside to "The Becker Room" - no A/C - with the ocean breeze (sound of waves), a cieling fan and another fan it didn't end up being a big issue at all, but the bed - was pretty much made out of very soft styrofoam. If you sit in the bed, your butt hits the bed frame. It was really really bad - almost like a Craftmatic Adjustable bed - but without the back support. We had to take the mattress off the bed and put it on the floor our second night - but honestly, the balcony and ocean view really made the stay worth it! Since you're in paradise, these little things sort of roll off your back. (must be all that sunscreen and pina coladas!)

stay at Amistad, you wont regret it.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandsorBust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2007

This is a very cute guesthouse in Isabel II. I2 is very small as it is, and CdA seemed about a minute's walk from everything. Room 1 was comfortable and clean with enough room and shelves for laying out our things. Our bed was always made with new towels in the bathroom. There was even had a wine chiller that served as a mini refrigerator, which I wasn't expecting. For those of you who think you need A/C, you'll get it here. The rest of us can make do just fine with the ceiling fan.

With a roof deck, a porch, and poolside patio, there was a lot of outdoor space to just relax and read. There are plenty of chairs and coolers that you are free to borrow. There's also beach towels (first one free), an honor bar with beer, and snorkel gear to rent. A computer, TV (with satellite connection) lounge with trashy books for beach reading and CD's. They had the Magnetic Fields, which raised our already elevated opinion of the place.

Enid, who manages the place, is sweet and helpful as well as the rest of the staff. This is such a charming place that hit every note just right; we won't hesitate to return there or recommend it to others.


  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank miffyninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2006

While contemplating on whether to stay in esperanza or Isabel, after reading the reviews on casa de amistad, we decided to ck it out. From the moment we cked in, we really did feel at home. Enid who was in charge for the couple of days we were there was great, really friendly, sweet, just genuinely nice. We stayed in the room on the first floor which was clean and cozy. The entire guesthouse was welcoming w/ everything you could ever need like: a full kitchen, a common area w/ cable tv, internet access, an honor bar, a sun deck, a pool, snorkel equipment rental, hair dryers, beach towels and chairs and mats, coolers, and a free phone to use for local calls. It turns out that staying in Isabel was much more convenient to us rather than esperanza bc we ended up renting scooters at Extreme Sports and rode everyone we wanted to go, plus the markets and bakeries were in town so it was easy to grab goodies for the beach in the morning.

My advice for Vieques: Red Beach is the beast beach, do not eat at the Blue Horizon Café (it was way overpriced, the food was not good, and the service was cold), for good seafood ck out Topico (I had the carribean shrimp which was awesome), for authentic PR food, do not go to Richards, they didn’t even have arroz con pollo, instead I got fried chicken and rice? U may want to rent a jeep over a scooter bc u can store more. most of the beaches in vieques do not have much sand to spread out on so bringing a chair to lay on would be better, plus you avoid getting the ants and burrs on you, you’ll see what I mean. For a light lunch, ck out Bili’s for a yummy wrap (the salmon wrap is the best). Al’s bar in Isabel is a chill bar w/ strong pina coladas. For snorkeling, rent a kayak in esperanza and off you go, no need for a tour I thought. Lastly, don’t forget the bio bay!

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — no tv in your room
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank xxresyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
4.6 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
566 reviews
2.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,815 reviews
4.4 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
370 reviews
4.3 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
235 reviews
13.9 mi away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Amistad

Property: Casa de Amistad
Address: 27 Calle Benitez Castano, 00765-3027, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Amistad is a cozy seven room guesthouse located in the heart of Isabel Segunda on the Island of Vieques, Puerto Rico. Close to the ferry, restaurants, bars, museums and the town plaza. A/C, pool, courtyard garden, common kitchen are just some of the amenities. Hope to see you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa de Amistad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Amistad Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing