We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveler rating
221
65
11
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
65
11
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly catshome away from homemango treeroosters crowpuerto ricoshared kitchenbeach chairsanimal loversfull kitchenhelpful adviceboogie boardsresident dogliving room arearestaurants barsqueen bedsun bayhard boiled eggs
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 314 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We spent four nights in April here and loved every minute of it! We had a queen bedroom downstairs which was fine for the two of us. Our room opened into a small outdoor sitting area which we enjoyed. We loved having a fully equipped kitchen nearby and enjoyed fresh coffee each morning. We did not cook there, but you could easily prepare simple meals there plus they have a grill. On our next trip in Dec. we plan to take more advantage of the kitchen and grill. We loved being able to select free beach stuff since we were limited in what we brought. I used their snorkeling gear, chairs, and floats each day. Also, nice is a basket of goodies free to use such as lotions, sunscreen, shampoo. We used their free laundry one night to get cleaned up! The location is ideal--within walking distance to the small village of Esperanza. We did not have a car at first so it was important to be able to get to beaches, shops, and restaurants. The hosts provided us with invaluable information about the island. We have reservations to return to this paradise in December.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlantaPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2009

The inn was great for our stay on Vieques. The rooms are clean... nothing fancy, but very comfortable, roomy, and included everything we needed. The inn is located just off the Malecon in Esperanza, so it was convenient to our snorkel trip meeting place (go with Abe's!), good restaurants, beautiful boardwalk & beach, and cute little shops. We didn't get to speak with the owners much, but the other couple that works on the property were very kind & informative with any questions we had. As far as I know, all of the rooms have A/C, which is unusual for properties in this price range on Vieques, and believe me, you'll need it.
The only possible downsides... we did have some mosquitos in our room and can't seem to figure out how they got inside. The neighboring lot has chickens (as do many people in Vieques) and the roosters crow quite early in the morning and randomly throughout the day. We found it somewhat amusing actually, but it might wake light sleepers in the morning. And that lot also includes the remains of a building. However, there is a tall privacy fence between the two properties, so the only time you notice this is when walking past it. It didn't really bother us.
Value-wise you can't beat this place, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyndseyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

The moment you check into Esperanza Inn, you are treated like family. J is amazing. He found us the best down home biobay tour. As well as hooking us up with a great bike tour to the secluded less traveled beaches.
The rooms are very clean and spacious. (Not to mention, huge showers!) In the mornings you are treated to coffee, juice, muffins, cereal, etc, when you venture into the main houses kitchen. And never fear, if you forget something, the communal basket is there to back you up with some bug spray or shampoo. J alone would be enough for me to go back, but the location-a short distance to the beach, and clean rooms makes me a devotee.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluto13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Just returned from PR and three days in Vieques. Vieques tends to be a rather magical place and Esperanza Inn was a great spot to stay. The Malecon is very pleasant with plenty of restaurant choices. The location of the Inn could not be more convenient, just a minute from the strip, but not on the strip itself, which is nice. A good market and breakfast place (Le Dulce Esperanza?) are a few minutes up the street.

We stayed in one of the apartments which was perfect for our family of three. Very clean, everything provided for. There is a fourth floor common balcony which was nice on starry nights. They have just installed a small pool which is wonderful, especially if you have a 4 year-old, as we do.

A word about noise issues, since others have mentioned them -- the same barnyard noises and background of Latin pop that makes Esperanza charming may not be so charming at 1am. Our first night, Sunday, was on the loud side, which may be a function of the lingering weekend partying. However, the remaining nights were more peaceful and we slept fine. Also, the mosquitos will probably find you, even with the screens on the windows. However, even with these issues, we enjoyed our stay very much and would return.

Innkeepers are extremely helpful and genuinely love Vieques. We visited Green Beach (4WD necessary) and Orchid Beach. I also rented a bike (call Garry) for a day and went on an unintended epic ride across the island. And, if you are in Vieques, you absolutely, positively must visit the bioluminescent bay. It is a remarkable experience. We were floating in the water with stars sparkling above us and shimmering, glowing water all around us. Just amazing.

Finally, Trade Winds restaurant was good, but not spectacular. Bananas was good. Duffys was good.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikeArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

The Esperanza Inn is clean, comfortable, and affordable. Easy walk to attractions in Esperanza, good air conditioner, free laundry, and open kitchen. I am planning on going back to Vieques and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cccape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews