We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa de Tortuga(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaGate Hotel(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Coral Guesthouse(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Malecon House(Isla de Vieques)
$180
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Blok Hotel(Esperanza)(Great Value!)
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hacienda Tamarindo(Isla de Vieques)
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trade Winds Guesthouse(Isla de Vieques)
$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Tropical Guest House(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
$75
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bravo Beach Hotel(Isla de Vieques)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
W Vieques Island(Isla de Vieques)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveler rating
221
65
11
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
65
11
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly catshome away from homemango treeroosters crowpuerto ricoshared kitchenbeach chairsanimal loversfull kitchenhelpful adviceboogie boardsresident dogliving room arearestaurants barsqueen bedsun bayhard boiled eggs
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 314 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Excellent place to stay, close to everything you want to do and anything you want to be a part of. The shops, the restaurants, beach, harbor you name it, is right there. The owners are a delight and will make you feel in paradise. I recommend this place to anyone looking to make the best of their vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IADR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

The owners were a pleasure to deal with. They were loaded with information about the locality. Even the hippie dude construction guy invited us to go sailing, unfortunatly the day after we were leaving so it was our loss. The location is great, just off the drag but close enough that we did not need to rent a car, big savings. The location is the perfect place to just relax, not the hustle and bustle of other resort locations. The restaurants on the strip offer a venue for different taste, basic american fare and some with their own PR twist. If I had any issue I would request a mosquito zapper in the room, we were in one of the lower rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YUP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

I want to say only positive things about this inn. The innkeepers are wonderful - they put so much effort into making your stay comfortable, and they are incredibly helpful. These apartments, on the upside, are located right off the Malecon, the heart of Esperanza with many cute shops and excellent restaurants - so it is easy to walk from here to dinner, which we loved. However, we quickly realized that we needed a car anyway, to explore the wonderful beaches, get to the other town on the island and explore the island in general. Also, the beach right near the inn is not worth swimming in - you will do much better to get in your car and drive to the Sun Bay beach (you can certainly walk to it, but in the heat, and for us, with children, the car ride was better), or better yet, to the Blue Beach and other even more spectacular beaches. The apartments are clean and air-conditioned. However, ours was full of mosquitoes, even though the windows were screened. In addition, in spite of the wonderful trade winds and fresh air, you do have to keep the air conditioning running through the night to drown out the loud sounds of roosters right next door. For some reason, this inn has a mosquito problem. We did not encounter many mosquitoes on the island in general, particularly with the wonderful breezes, but for some reason they have found a home at the Esperanza Inn. The nice thing about the inn is you have the feeling of really living on the island, with residents next door, and a charming local-run bakery down the block (with delicious pastries). The downside is the neighbor next door has a rather depressing property that is basically a junkyard, with poorly kept animals living there. Overall, I give this inn a very good rating, but it depends on what you want. It's a great location, in terms of the town, and wonderfully maintained, with such incredibly nice innkeepers full of helpful advice. If you want to feel you are living right in town, it would be great for you. If you want a bit more comforts, a water view, and perhaps to feel you are somewhere quieter, it may not be the inn for you.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettina66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

We arrived on April 2nd and were met by J. Ferguson, who, along with his wife Lisa, owns the Inn. Jay's offer of a cold beer or soda was very welcome after a long trip from Connecticut to Newark to San Juan to Vieques. This graciousness wasn't a one time gesture, but was present throughout our stay. Lisa, too, was kind and enthusiastic. They truly love Vieques and want to help their guests love it as well. Our one (large) bedroom apartment was equipped with a walk in shower in the bathroom, a huge closet with shelving and plenty of hangers, satellite TV (and YES the UConn Women won the national championship game and we were able to watch!), air conditioning in the bedroom, as well as a ceiling fan there and in the kitchen/dining/living room combination which holds a small table and chairs, futon, wicker chair, refrigerator, stove, coffee pot, microwave, sliding doors to a porch with more chairs and sometimes a view of paso fino horses coming by. There were towels for the beach and towels for the bath folded and waiting for us. Extra pillows, a tiny alarm clock and a lamp with an embroidered shade....the colors all said "caribbean"......the amenities said "we care". A washer and dryer is available to all for laundry in the evenings. There's Internet access in the lobby area, as well as an "Honors" system in place with a small community refrigerator full of beer and soda. Books, DVD's and games are stacked against a wall, with comfortable couches in the lounge, along with a container of "in case you forgot" items left by previous guests and added to, hopefully, as you leave. The pool is new, clean and inviting. The grounds and rooms are spotlessly clean. Esperanza Inn welcomes but it doesn't overwhelm; it is casual. You're ok here with a T-shirt and shorts.....and no one looks awry if your post-beach "look" is - well - sort of wet rat in paradise! If the above isn't enough to convince you this is the place to be......then add convenient, safe parking, half a block walk to the Malecon, a great bakery just a short stroll up the road next to a neighborhood grocery store.....and, finally, but maybe most importantly: this Inn and its owners have heart. They took in a very sick pup, got her the care she needed, fell in love with her, found her a great home, and plan to do the same again for the next animal in need. Kinda makes you feel good about choosing and so contributing to this particular Inn......as well as wondering what critter we'll find next year when we will definitely be returning for another week.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTheInnLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

This guesthouse is perfectly located, just a half a block from the main strip of restaurants and the Esperanza waterfront, but it's not right in the middle of the hubbub, as many of the guesthouses are. That said, sensitive sleepers may have trouble with the sounds of roosters and dogs pretty much anywhere in the town.

The people who work there are helpful and friendly, and offer many nice amenities, including complimentary breakfast, use of their laundry machine, board games, and a fridge stocked with soda and beer (paid for by the honor system.)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redlefgnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews