We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Vieques”
Review of Esperanza Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Esperanza Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We ended up booking this place at the last moment as rest of the places in Vieques were full. I think that was one of the best things happened to us. The location of this place is really good. My girl friend and I were in Vieques for a two day trip. Lisa, the owner is really really helpful. It felt like home in here. Lisa, helps you enjoy the local fruits and helps with places in and around to see and things to do. She has lots of foster cats, so in case you are allergic to them, I would suggest dont hang out much in the common areas. The rooms are very comfortable, nice and clean. You wont smell cats in the room. We even rented her old 4X4 car for a day at a very reasonable price. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzy_184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 308 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here with two others in the large room with a king bed and queen bed on the second floor. The size of the room and quality was very nice for the price in Esperanza. Room included a fridge too! Only misses are that the room could use a TV and stronger wifi (you need to be on the first floor to pick up the wifi). The hotel is very close to the center of Esperanza but away from the town noise (of course on Vieques you will still hear roosters and wild horses foraging). The hotel has a small dip pool which is nice to cool off after a day on the island.
Free coffee is always a plus.
If you're allergic to cats, please note that many cats hang out on the grounds.

Room Tip: Great location for Esparanza- very close to the town center but away from the town noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were glad we visited the island of Vieques after a week on the larger island.
A quick ride from the airport and you'll find yourself in the quaint town of Esperanza.
The Esperanza Inn is conveniently located just off the main street at the edge of this small walkable town near two markets and the restaurants on the main street.
We enjoyed our spacious accomodations (Unit #1) and its large balcony and kitchen. It faced the street where we were entertained by the wild horses and their colts that roam freely on the island. We much appreciated Lisa (the owner) explaining how we could (and did) rent the property's rental jeep (and borrowed a cooler) to explore areas of the island without the expense of a rental car through our stay. This was great, as was the opportunity to use the laundy facility in the afternoon/evenings, and cool refreshing dips in the pool. We had expected to move on to new accomodations after three nights but decided to stay and enjoy our final night at Esperanza Inn as well, and we're glad we did.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richcurtaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Lisa and J are awesome, make you feel right at home. Very authentic experience of the island. Felt like we were visiting friends. The cats were great. Only place on the island we had Wi-Fi. Able to walk to several great restaurants and one of the beaches. The security measures they take are very reassuring.

Room Tip: Loved room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very cozy home like inn. Our room and bath were very clean and opened to the shared living, dining and kitchen areas. Fresh pot of coffee every morning and use of all kitchen equipment helped to save us money. This inn is just steps to the malecon and area restaurants. A grocery store is just minutes away. You must be an animal lover as many cats were about the property. They made themselves at home on the patio furniture most of the time. There was an above ground pool which we did not use and plenty of parking for your rental car. We were able to use a beach umbrella, chairs, other beach equipment to make this a carefree vacation. Lisa and J were mui ambiables.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YolandaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This is not a luxury stay, but it has everything you need for an excellent Vieques vacation. We stayed at the 2 room, 1 bath apt. The apartments are very clean and are fully equiped. They even lend you beach chairs and coolers during your stay, so no need to carry or buy unnecessary equipment. Our apt had air conditioner in the rooms and dish cable in the living room. The Esperanza area is very nice and has nice places to dine and drink. Very happy with our stay. Planning on comming back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosaenid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

It's rare that an innkeeper improves your experience beyond your expectations. Our family of four spent three nights at the Esperanza Inn, and Lisa and J did everything possible to make it a memorable stay. A good-sized room, clean, comfortable, secure (property crime can be an issue in the area, but we had NO concerns about it at the inn), and a short walk to the malecon with its restaurants and shops. On our last day, we rented their 4x4 to explore the north and west of the island, and following Lisa's guidance we had a top-notch lunch in Isabel II, explored a tidal pool full of starfish, and had our run of a fine beach with abundant coral and shells. She also introduced us to the wonder that is the guanábana (soursop) fruit. They really love their community and want to share it with visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
239 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Coral Guesthouse
Villa Coral Guesthouse
#10 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperanza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanza Inn

Address: 103 Calle Hucar | Esperanza, 00765-4046, Puerto Rico (Formerly Ted's Apartments)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $95 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esperanza Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperanza Inn is a combination of affordable full apartments and rooms just steps from the Malecon or boardwalk in Esperanza on the island of Vieques, Puerto Rico. We feature a complementary breakfast, guest lounge with DVD library and book exchange, free wifi, common kitchen, roof deck with ocean view. A rental car is available on property. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff will provide you with the local knowledge and guidance to enable you to get the most out of this island paradise that we call home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Esperanza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing