We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long walk but cool to visit”
Review of Black Sand Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Long walk but cool to visit”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were out exploring & had no idea how long the walk was to the beach. Glad we did not try to haul our beach stuff but we worried about leaving stuff in the car having been warned not to. Everything worked out ok & we enjoyed the beautiful walk. You might want to take some bug spray though.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    88
    46
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hard to find but great beach!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

It took us a good bit of trying to find the place and we still overshot it and had to down climb a cliff to get to it. But once there we enjoyed the beach which was all to ourselves and horses that would run past us. The waves were fun and the black sand was soft and warm.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, but not what we expected”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

If you've ever been to a black sand beach on a volcanic island before (eg. Hawaii), you'll be disappointed by this. There were small section (maybe a couple yards) of black sand on a regular sand beach. Still beautiful. It's a nice 15 minute hike to get there from where you park your car or scooter.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleAB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Name misleading but still great”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Half black sand half usual color. So many awesome beaches on Vieques and this was one we really enjoyed, there is an easy hike to it that makes it even better. Easy to miss entrance while driving though.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikko_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Totally worth finding!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Ok, so this beach is really hard to find. It is literally marked with spray paint on the side of the road with an arrow pointing into the jungle. You park, you walk for about a mile down a fairly rough road - bee hives, horse crap, a hike through the jungle basically - but it has been cleared so you have a path. However, once you find the beach it is one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen! The sand is black, the view is amazing. Loved it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 986kayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sand Beach also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Black Sand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing