We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip!”
Review of Black Sand Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Difficult to find! Head out of Esperanza West. At the first impass go right. Cross over bridge, park, and go under the bridge. Its a nice sandy walk through the vegetation (which we saw about 6 wild horses),however, at the end of the path leads into an absolutely gorgeous beach with crystal aqua blue water, crashing waves, and black sand. I have never seen black sand so it was definitely worth the walk to get there!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AlesiaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    86
    45
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Long walk”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

First off all you need to know that the road to get there in right after the bridge when you drive down road 201 after the crossing with 996. Park in the side of the road and you will see a small entrance, start walking!! Is approximately a 20 minute walk but is was so worth it, the sand is as black as night and the view was amazing!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ladydemona2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hike”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A lot of fun if you don't mind a bit of a hike to get there. I have been to Vieques a bunch of times since 1980 and this was the first trip for the black sand beach. The beach is not complete black sand like some other islands but the rock formations and the hike make it a worthwhile adventure.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb17552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So Cool”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a rare beach, the sand is actually black! I feel like this is something to see if you have the time to drive out and do a bit of a hike (10min). Very remote and unique!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Hard to find, unique, and awesome!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

After reading reviews of Playa Negra (aka Black Sand Beach), we knew it was going to be hard to find. After driving up and down a road twice, we finally saw where someone was nice enough to mark the spot where you needed to hike down from the road with some spray paint and the words "Playa Negra". We opted to instead, walk along the beach from our resort in Esperanza instead. Our walk was a little wet at times, but totally worth it. We checked out Black Sand Beach in the middle of the day and there was only one other couple on the entire beach and they were on the other side. The whole beach is just beautiful and unique and unlike anything I've seen before. It's not your average beach and worth the extra time to go check out while in Vieques.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank thegretchmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sand Beach also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Black Sand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing