We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck... With such possibilities”

Roy's Coffee Lounge
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yuck... With such possibilities”
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

We wanted some coffee and breakfast. Has a great street appeal... Poor, almost rude service. Latte was terrible. Guy next to me said coffee tasted like folger's! We had breakfast burrito... Tasted like something out of the freezer section. Hope the owner reads this. The place could be the center... I would think you would want a place that people would recommend to their friends... Just a little attn to quality.

Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    30
    14
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great coffee best social scene find out all at ROYS”
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

great coffee great service best place meet and hang out with locals and fastest internet on island. waffles are my favorite

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank socialbutterfly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only place to go to get coffee, but not great.”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were hoping for a lot better as this seemed the only place to get a specialty coffee drink on the island. It was average at best for the coffee, the service was below average and I highly recommend NOT ordering food. Not worth it at all. I have maybe three round tator tots and a less than desirable veggie omelet. If you need a coffee drink it's ok, but get it to go.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marji_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great cup of Jo”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Roy's is the place to go for a great cup of jo and to relax. As soon as you walk into Roy's you are greated by a lovely peaceful lounge. The bar has great comfortable chairs and there are tables as well in the lounge. Or venture out onto the patio which is just lovely. No view but has a canopy of mature trees with a fountain.

Roy's serves great puerto rican coffee & espresso along with iced coffee, smoothies etc. You can even get hot chocolate for the kids. The cafe offeres WiFi which is free if you spend $10. I've only eaten their for breakfast which is good. The muffins are wonderful. The have bagels as well. I've also had their breakfast buritto, it's pretty basic but what I really like about it is it has no beans. Just eggs, cheese and a meat if you want.

The service is farily quick which is unusual in the caribbean. The owner is from the states so no issue understanding what you want/need.

Roy's has been around for many years now and has quite the following. I know my father who is retired on Vieques frequents Roy's just about daily and many of the grengo locals do as well.

Next time your on Vieques stop by Roy's for a quick bite to eat and a great cup o' jo.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lrjernigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

So glad to hear it wasn't just me who thought the coffee was terrible. The breakfast was just as bad. We tried going back several times and it was just terrible each time.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimi040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Coffee Lounge also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isabel Segunda, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Roy's Coffee Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing