We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great as always and a must to see the island from the top of a horse!”

Esperanza Riding Company
Ranked #8 of 42 Tours in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get off the beaten path and experience Vieques the way locals do; from the back of a smooth-gaited Paso horse! Everyone will tell you, there is no better way to explore the wilder side of our island. Our guided two-hour ride takes you through the hills, open meadows, woods, river bottoms and beaches of the Esperanza area. You'll even get to try out the paso (a smoother version of the trot)! We offer rides at 8:00 am and 4:00 pm; to avoid mid-day heat. The cost is $80 per person (group ride), cash only. Private tours and kid-friendly rides also available. Reservations are required and don't forget your camera!Please refer to our website for more information.
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great as always and a must to see the island from the top of a horse!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Darcy & Zach made our ride very memorable. We had a blast and will be back next time. The scenery was superb and the horse extremely well behaved. Don't miss it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HarlemNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    18
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best way to view the beauty of Vieques”
Reviewed October 17, 2012


We just had the pleasure of riding with Darcy, and her charming son, Zachary, from Esperanza Riding Company, this morning. They were both wonderful hosts. The horses are amazing and obviously well cared for. Breathtaking views!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“A Ride to Remember”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Firstly, our guides Darcy and Zach were phenomenal! They were really were really knowledgeable about the horses. This entailed in part their personalities; ages and which horses they bonded most with. The way they handled the horses demonstrated that this was more than a business but a love for what they do and the horses. Darcy led us amateur riders through beautiful terrain and views unlikely to be seen otherwise. She shared stories and her personal experiences. A rider at the age of 6! We were in good hands. As we were entertained up front, Darcy's son, Zach in back kept close watch as he amused those trailing behind. I can't forget another key contributor to our memorable experience: my horse, Carmello and his compadres were so well behaved! If you have the opportunity, you won't regret or forget a ride to remember with ERC!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TrippnJf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austinburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Horse back riding on Martha's Vineyard”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

What an exciting experience of horse back riding on Martha's Vineyard! Elizabeth, owner of Esperanza Riding Company is truly experienced in handling horses, riders (from beginners to expert) and making sure the guests enjoy every facet of the trail rides and the island. They offer both private rides and group rides. The horses are beautiful, gentle and extremely well behaved and obviously well taken care of. You are pared with horses that fit your riding ability - if you've never been on a horse, you don't need to worry or think twice about mounting one of these horses. We reviewed all the stables on the island offering horse back riding and we certainly picked 'the' best! The trail ride was about 2 1/2 hours through forests with some breath taking water views. Elizabeth continues to work at adding additional properties to take guests riding and hopefully in the future they will be able to offer a beach ride. This will be an event we enjoy every trip back to The Vineyard and will book only with Esperanza Riding Company!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana5417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey County
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great tour with a well-dealt-with problem...”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Wow! This was a really fun and exciting tour. We actually got to go pretty fast, which was great, and quite rare in my experience with riding tours. My favorite part was getting to gallop and riding through the jungle! My least favorite part was not the tour operator's fault, but we had a run-in with a family that was hunting. Apparently they were not supposed to be there, as it is public land, and they did not stop shooting just because we were riding past, which was insanely rude. Darcy was our tour guide and she handled the situation exceedingly well, and got us out of there in a hurry. This experience also spoke volumes to the horses! All three of our horses obviously felt very nervous and jumped when the gun went off, but none of them spooked, and we were able to navigate around the situation without any problems. What awesome horses!! Darcy had never encountered this issue before in her many hundreds of rides, so it is far from to be expected from the tour, but since stressful situations on a ride are not predictable, we really appreciated her cool-headed reaction, as well as the horses excellent composure in this stressful situation. I would definitely go out riding with Darcy and these horses again!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelLover93923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esperanza Riding Company also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Esperanza Riding Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing