We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, gracious service”
Review of Orquideas - CLOSED

Orquideas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Orquideas offers tapas and small plates as well as a selection of daily specials. We support local farmers. We are open every night for dinner until midnight. Reservations are encouraged. We have a full bar, an extensive wine selection, a large cocktail menu and craft beers. Thank you to all our patrons and reviewers, we hope to see you return to see us next season!
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious food, gracious service”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Best ahi tuna I've ever had - so tender and delicious, seared and coated in sesame seeds, served with the creamiest wasabi. My husband raved about his steak, as well as the drinks (he had the special lemonade martini, I had a mojito - both were excellent thanks to bartender Mike!) Our server Nancy was terrific, warm and helpful. We will definitely go back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    26
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were headed to El Quenepo who happened to be closed that night, and stumbled across Orquideas. It was the best food we had all week.! Great service, great menu items, good ambience. The bartender is very friendly, will make you anything you want, and comes to your table to discuss options with you. We were disappointed by not making it this time to El Quenepo but were very happy to have found Orquideas! Head here ASAP.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“dont bother”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

we thought we would give this a shot because of the reviews. the service was terrible, and the location is disgusting. there was junk all over the place. it looked like they tooked a old crappy house and turned it into a old crappy resturant. the food was ok ,but way over priced. do yourself a favor and skip this joint

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“What a gem in the Caribbean!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Friendly, efficient waitstaff combined with a cute "island rustic" decor provide the setting for a wonderful evening. The food was innovative but simple, delicious and perfectly cooked. We sampled the caprese (best we have ever had), bruschetta (delicious fresh tomatoes), and fried feta (salt and savor balanced with arugula) to start. The ribeye and ahi tuna were expertly prepared to our requested temperature. The steak followed by a Spanish Rioja melted in our mouths. Dessert was out of stock but we were fortunate to have their bartender make us a off-the-menu coffee martini to finish off our night. Prices were higher than other local establishments but well worth the thought and effort that went into preparing the food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a great addition to Esperanza. The chef, Nick, has a nice diverse menu and works well with diner requests. The service is also professional and engaging.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orquideas also viewed

Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing