We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We ate here 3x during our stay. Not MIX anymore Sorce”
Review of miX On The Beach - CLOSED

miX On The Beach
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We ate here 3x during our stay. Not MIX anymore Sorce”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Beautiful ambience, view and great service. The first night we shared the paella, it was pretty good. Second meal I had the huge prawn, which was very good as well. Third dinner I had the monfongo...DO NOT order the mofongo, very dry, like thanksgiving stuffing that the water was not added! My husband had the lamb shank and it was really good! We also had appetizers, the 3 ceviche is delicious, three different variations of tastes and is very large for one person. We tried the Puerto Rican version of gazpacho, it was not a soup, but a pureed log of cod with some avocado, different, but good as well. The shrimp quesadillas were excellent. BTW, the restaurant is NOT MIX anymore it is a new one called Sorce.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilove2travel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very delicious and high-quality food”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at the W for two days, so we had the pleasure of having dinner there once and breakfast twice.

Dinner:
- My husband and I both ordered the specials for the night. He ordered the pork dish that was based on traditional Puerto Rican dish but with a twist. The pork was very juicy and tender. The sauce was very rich. I ordered the halibut cooked in a sweet onion cream sauce. Very light but flavorful.
- We also ordered the key lime pie. It was so cool! It was not your usual key lime pie. It consisted of a bowl made of meringue, filled with your usual key lime pie filling, topped with a lime jelly and then a layer of usual pie crust, and finally topped with whip cream. Yummy and different!
- Our waiter (forget his name, darn!) was SO NICE! He was the nicest member of the staff during our entire stay at the resort. He was courteous, funny, and warm. Not snobby at all!

Breakfast
- We ordered from the a la carte menu instead of partake in the buffet. The a la carte menu had a lot of mouth-water choices. We ordered the pancakes, the french toasts, the huevos rancheros, and the poached eggs over veal. All were tasty and well prepared, but a few highlights: 1) the french toasts came with caramelized plantains, which were sweet but still not soggy because they are plantains, 2) the huevos rancheros was HUGE! It was stuffed with lots of goodies and topped with three sunny side up eggs, 3) the poached eggs were poached just right, the hollandaise sauce was spicy and smoky, and the veal was very tender and flavorful.

Prices of course are a bit high, but it was as expected.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Consistently good food with an incredible view”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We ate breakfast four times at Mix on the Beach during our honeymoon stay. Each time the food was very good, the service was excellent, and the view is out-of-this-world good. The French press coffee is excellent. We tried most of the breakfast menu, skipping the buffet option. My omelet was delicious, having obviously been cooked in butter. Mmmmm ... butter. The French toast with bananas is great, as is the huevos rancheros. We also enjoyed scrambled eggs and granola pancakes. Of course the best part was the view. We sat outdoors at every meal so we could gaze at the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. Do be aware that you'll pay resort prices for everything at the W, including at Mix. Coffee is $6 for an individual French press (about 3 or 4 cups). The buffet is $28 per person and includes beverages. Most a la cart items were $10 to $18.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1060WestAddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistently great atmosphere and quality food”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

My friend and I ate several times here during our stay. We tried both the specials and the regular menu. Our meals were consistently presented beautifully and of high quality. Taste was superb. The staff were attentive and friendly. It is a beautiful location on the ocean with both indoor and outdoor tables . After dinner, you can retire to the Library lounge and bar for dessert and outstanding drinks. Angel's Mojitos are the best I have ever tasted.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saffycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great service, mediocre food, priced way too high!”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The W needs to fix this. Food is really so-so for the price!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeaganD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed miX On The Beach also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isabel Segunda, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing