We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Island Rental”
other travelers have booked this property
Picture 6
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Picture 6
Picture 20
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Picture 6
Picture 20
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KH68
Portland, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Island Rental”
Reviewed April 23, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from one week on Vieques, PR having stayed at Cookie's Paradise Villa. The house is actually 2 separate rentals with the top floor being a 4-bedroom unit and the bottom floor being a 2-bedroom unit. We stayed in the 2-bedroom unit. The property is situated in a hillside neighborhood, yet you have the feel of privacy while at the villa. You can see plenty of other homes, but none are top of the villa.

The 2-bedroom villa has 2 small, yet ample bedrooms with very comfortable queen-sized beds. There's two nightstands, a dresser and small closet in each. The "master" has a flat-sscreen TV on the wall. Both bedrooms are air-conditioned, an amenity which we did take advantage of at night because the bedrooms are on the inside of the villa, with no windows to the outside. IF there were windows in the bedrooms, you wouldn't need the AC because the breeze from the ocean was cool and constant in the rest of the house. We never once turned on the AC in the living room, though it is there for your use.

There is one very large, nicely tiled bathroom. There is a large vanity with a basin style sink and a large walk in shower. If you're tall enough, you can look out the bathroom window onto the Caribbean while you're showering! The water was hot enough and the water pressure was great (sometimes a problem on small islands). There is also a washer and dryer for your use.

The kitchen was very well-appointed, with plenty of dishes, pots, pans, utensils, microwave, dishwasher, large refrigerator, etc. I cooked a couple of nice dinners in the villa and had everything I needed to do so. There is also a very powerful blender to make the all-important frozen drinks!

The living area inside was on the small side if you had 4 people, but more than ample for just the two of us. The real benefit of the lower level, 2-bedroom villa was the tremendous outdoor space. Who needs indoor space when you're in Vieques?! The deck of the villa is huge, probably larger than all the indoor space combined. I'd say it's about 25 x 30 feet off the living room and then another long, covered expanse off the hallway near the bedrooms. There was seating for 12 just on the lower level alone along with a lounger.

There is free wireless (secured) internet in the villa which was very convenient.

There is a pool that is shared between the two villas. There are several loungers around the pool (though a couple were broken) along with a covered area that had a picnic table and a bathroom with an outdoor shower.

We would highly recommend staying here. It's a lovely property, well-situated just a short ride outside of Isabel Segunda, where you can find a nice grocery store, banks, and restaurants.

I would say that a car is a necessity to stay at Cookies. You will enjoy the island much more if you are own your own, rather than at the mercy of the taxis. Just beware of the gas situation. Be prepared to wait on long lines IF they even have gas! While we were there for a week, they ran out of gas on the island twice! It came within a day or two, but always have gas in your tank. Best time to get gas to avoid crazy 50-car-long lines was about 9:00 at night! And don't forget, cash only at the gas stations!

Date of stay: April 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHobkirk
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our Paradise”
Reviewed April 5, 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the 4 bedroom for one week. There were only 4 of us in the 4 bedroom (2 couples) so we had tons of room! All of the bedrooms are very spacious. The house and neighborhood are quiet.

Views from the pool and veranda were spectacular! We loved having breakfast and dinners outside.

You'll need a car on Vieques, if possible rent the Santa Fe that is available at Cookie's it was very convenient.

The caretaker, Isabel, was very welcoming and helpful. We asked her one afternoon what we needed to do for scheduling a ride/taxi to the airport on the morning of our departure. Isabel's response was "You only need to ask me".

This villa was good value for the money and a beautiful place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2011
Thank you and come stay with us again. Our repeat guests get 10% off on one week stays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PegTravel...
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A touch of Paradise indeed!”
Reviewed January 23, 2011 for a stay in November 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this wonderful vacation rental for one week prior to cruising out of Puerto Rico. For one, the island of Vieques is definitely worth considering if rest, relaxation, unspoiled beaches, reasonable food costs and good restaurants are what you seek.

Cookie's Paradise was all we had hoped it would be from the pictures and description on the website. It is a large 6 bedroom vacation rental, if your party is large enough, or it can be rented as a 2 bedroom unit on the main floor or a 4 bedroom unit on the upper level. My wife and I had the 2 bedroom unit which was nicely furnished and well-appointed with all the amenities, including a very modern and functional kitchen, sitting area with couch and chair and LCD TV (with cable but limited to specialty and Latin channels - no major US networks so couldn't get any coverage of the NFL). The bathroom had a very contemporary design with walk-in shower and was large enough that you never felt cramped. The two bedrooms both have air conditioning and nice comfy beds and pillows but the biggest benefit was that that neither faced the outside of the unit, which ended up being a blessing because of the noisy coqui frogs, roosters and upstairs guests that could have ruined our sleep. With the air on, the bedrooms were noise-free and enabled us to sleep every night in peace and quiet.

Speaking of peace and quiet, we were lucky enough to be the only ones renting the unit for the first 6 of 7 nights. The last night, a large group checked in upstairs and the noise level from the sliding of furniture, the clomping of feet and the laughing and yelling made us grateful that we didn't have an entire week of neighbors, which literally could have made our stay unpleasant.

That being said, we enjoyed 6 days of uninterrupted use of a glorious pool that is everything you would hope it could be - large, warm, plenty of space to get some sun and it's own bathroom. The view from the balconies and the pool is simply wonderful and really made our stay that much better.

The service was very good as the unit manager lives right next door and picked us up with the Sante Fe that you can also rent as part of the package. You need a vehicle on this island as the vacation rental is just outside of town, up a steep slope and most of the beaches are a good 10-15 minutes away by car. I would recommend renting the vehicle if you can. It was in need of a tune-up when we used it but it's a nice ride, has AWD, only had 35,000 miles when we had it and had ample space for hauling everything you need.

In meeting a few people who were on vacation, many had rented similar vacation rentals around the island and most were very happy with their choice but we were particularly happy because we got what we wanted at an affordable price for the week. You can't get hotel rooms for the price of a vacation rental on this island and at less than $150 a night, we felt we got more than our money's worth.

I would highly recommend this rental for anyone wishing to visit this unspoiled touch of paradise for more than 3 nights. If you rent the entire unit or the upper 4 bedroom unit, you will be guaranteed a wonderful stay. If you rent the 2 bedroom unit and you have guests above, a bit of patience and understanding may be necessary but hey, you're on vacation and yes, this is a touch of paradise in a place that will get busier as more people catch on to the value and beauty it provides.

Have a wonderful time. We did!

Date of stay: November 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2011
The dish network does have US channels. Please ask Isabel (property manager if the remote is not working as it should. She is very nice and will help you with setting up the reviews and with all the channels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing