We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good snorkeling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Beach

Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the far western end of Puerto Rico, this narrow beach gets high ratings for diving the offshore reef in 10 to 30 feet of water, which features sloping valleys and huge coral.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife loved this beach and the area. There is some pretty good snorkeling straight out from the beach at 200 yards or so and to,the left of the beach. A must see in Vieques, but go early, bugs and people.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BRTiger1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    74
    37
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Tough to get to -bring a 4 x 4.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

A long pot-holed dirt road to it. But it was pretty private. The snorkeling is decent: we saw conch, turtles, a variety of coral, and many colorful fish.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best place to watch the sunset.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

The beach is located on the most western part of the island. Best place to watch the sun sink below the ocean.

Getting to the beach is an adventure. You will have to endure almost 2 miles of road covered with a countless amount of holes. It makes for a very bumpy ride. It also makes for a great ride if you have a girl sitting in the front set and wearing a bikini top. :)

If you did not have to use the bathroom before you left, you will after this ride.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“You Have To Really, Really Want It...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have very mixed opinions on this beach. The spot we ended up at was waaaaaaaaaaay down towards the southern end. We'd planned to snorkel, and were told this was where everything good to see hangs out. So, we drove the extra bit further, and found ourselves on an expanse of empty beach overlooking El Yunque Rainforest and the eastern edge of Puerto Rico in the distance. The solitude and view alone were breathtaking, and I'm glad we made the effort just for that.

As others have said, getting to this beach is miserable. It's about two ROUGH miles on dirt roads that aren't full of potholes - they are full of HOLES. It will take you at least 20 minutes to drive these two miles, and it will seem like it goes on forever.

The bugs are also an issue out here, so if you're going to go, you really can only be there between the hours of 10am - 2pm.

Overall, it's a beautiful place in its own way, but given the great snorkeling elsewhere on the island, I'm not sure we'd go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JennJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I wouldn't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is down a very long road with lots of potholes. The sand is marginal and full of ants. It's very small and the day we were there it smelled terrible of the decomposing jungle/ mangroves nearby. A local warned me to only go 10-2 bc of Mosquitos. There is suppose to be good snorkeling. There are so many perfect Caribbean white sand beaches on the island, I stayed 10 min and left.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JLD666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Beach also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Green Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing