We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Getaway”
Review of Cacimar House

Cacimar House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cacimar House
Ranked #22 of 28 Isla de Vieques B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was my first trip to Puerto Rico and the incredible comfort of the Cacimar House helped welcome me to the friendly island. The weather was perfect every day of our weeklong stay and we took advantage of this by going on runs throughout the island, using the pool after long days at the beach, and eating our meals on the patio with an incredible view. We visited a new beach everyday and each was gorgeous. We also went into town for a couple of fantastic meals of ethnic cuisine. The home had plenty of space for all of us and we could gather around the tables for card games late at night. It was clean and had all the appliances and amenities that we needed throughout the week. The home is very safe and we slept well at night after long days under the sun. There is plenty to do on Vieques and I loved my first experience in Puerto Rico!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank JoeF95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cacimarhouse, Owner at Cacimar House, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

We're delighted you had a good stay at Cacimar House and enjoyed the island! Thanks for staying with us…the island has so much to offer and we're glad you took the opportunity to explore it to its fullest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The House rests in the middle of the island and is spacious, clean, has all amenities and is well equipped. The view is spectacular, especially at sunset. That we enjoyed.

On there other hand, there are no black-out curtains so be prepared to wake up at 4am from the numerous Roosters, again at 6am from the blaring sun in the rooms and if you still manage to find your sleep mask and doze off, then you'll surely be up at 7am from the construction (Trucks passing; Re-bar cutting) going on adjacent to the house. I got virtually no sleep while there.

The caretakers were exceptionally nice and helpful giving information on concerns, activities, restaurants, etc. It seems no one takes the ferry, but we did and it was better than the flights! If there is any rain (forget taking off; the ferry seems to run constantly) If you are at all familiar with Spanish, then I recommend the ferry and negotiating getting to San Juan airport that way. Most of the locals take it and if you can roll like the locals I'd suggest it. At the very least drive to Ciales from San Juan and take a flight from there. Naturally, it all depends on the length of time you intend to spend here.

Was the trip worth it? To see the bioluminescent bay, yes...Otherwise, it's fair for what the value is and I had to go back home to the big city to get some rest. Also, the pool isn't heated and was frigid, so we never used it.

Lastly, the owner apparently charges you a fee of 30$ per hour if you keep the caretaker waiting (payable directly to them). I was informed of this when seeking information on advice on how best to get a reservation on the ferry. This was extremely belittling and offensive and something you do to an irresponsible child. I would think by paying to stay at this place, you are gainfully employed and thus, understand commitments. It isn't as if I wasn't communicative up until this point. Don't worry, this New Yorker knows how to work problems and make thing happen! I wouldn't be living in this city if couldn't!

Room Tip: AVOID the room right at the top of the steps, it has blaring light at dusk. It only has a shear drap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AMEDRUSSELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cacimarhouse, Owner at Cacimar House, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your impressions of the house and the island.

Your suggestion on black out curtains is very timely as we are just shopping for a new curtains for installation this spring. Thanks - no one else has negatively commented about the morning sun but certainly makes sense. We'll try to find something beyond white cotton that keeps it dark while being porous enough to let an evening breeze in.

While roosters are a fact of life in Vieques and many rural Caribbean islands, we regret terribly their interruption to your sleep.

With regards to the property management waiting charge for un-notified arrival delays, our preference is always to do an all-in charge, like we do with housekeeping. But we feel that rather than price in an allowance for unnoticed arrival delays (or after hours checkins), we'd rather keep our basic rental fee as low as possible and transfer the service charge to only those guests who need the special property manager handling. We convey this information pre-arrival to simply encourage guests to stay in touch with the property managers in the event of a delay to avoid the charge.

Thanks again - we value all comments, suggestions and compliments.

CM, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I had a great time! My partner and I had a chance to visit this house for 10 days while on the island of Vieques. From the views on the patio, the wonderful pool, the attentive caretakers, your pick of many beaches, herds of wild horses, to the laid back feel of the island, you just can't lose! I would recommend a visit to Cacimar House to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cacimarhouse, Owner at Cacimar House, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

The most rewarding thing about welcoming guests to Cacimar House and Vieques is to hear about their encounters with this beautiful island. Thank you for taking the time to share - and we hope you'll come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This was my first time in Vieques and P.R. and it was an awesome time and I don't use awesome often. Vieques should be called the land of the living sky; the way the clouds just rolled over us being pushed by the tropical island breezes could sit and watch the skies. The views from Cacimar House were beautiful, you could sit on the patio and watch the waves break on a reef out in the Caribbean while a parade of wild ponies walk by the front gate.

There was a group of us staying at Cacimar house and the house is spacious enough that we didn't feel like we were all on top of each other. Next time I visit Vieques I will book Cacimar house again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

This is our second visit to Vieques and we rented a house both times. This year we rented Cacimar House (2 couples) and it was truly excellent. Last year was Villa Altamira -- although that was great, Cacimar is definitely much, much nicer and out of the two I would definitely pick Cacimar.

House: All bedrooms on the 2nd floor of the house. Master bedroom has own bathroom, second bedroom has queen sized bed, third bedroom as a double along with 2 twins. The 2nd & 3rd bedrooms share a bathroom with sink and toilet and the shower is separate which is actually I think a very good thing. Main floor is dining room, full bathroom, sitting area off Kitchen, kitchen w/ table, laundry room, and patio/deck area. Very nice large wood dining table in separate room, along with kitchen table. Deck with table with umbrella. On the second floor was also a screened in porch area that we really didn't use, perhaps we would have if it rained a bunch while we were there.

Pool was excellent.with the bench in the pool that went on the full length of one side of the pool - you could sit here for hours sipping a drink and be in heaven with no neighbors visible and a beautiful view.

There is not a ping pong table as listed and no beach chairs really, but the nice thing was plenty of the beach mats and for those interested yoga mats. Coolers are small igloo cooler and another small Styrofoam one. Lots of beach towels which was nice. Really no other toiletries to speak of, bath soap provided.

The property mgrs Paul and Ricci were excellent - very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate. For example, we purchased items to grill and realized on a Saturday night that the grill ran out of fuel. We called Paul on Sunday morning and although he wouldn't be able to get the tank filled until Monday, brought over his own personal propane tank for us to use to ensure we could grill on Sunday night.

Vieques is noisy in the morning with roosters, chickens,dogs, cats, horses, and this place was no different, any house you rent will have this level of noise and hey you need to get up early anyway and enjoy the awesome 80+ degree weather while sitting on the great veranda sipping your morning tea or coffee!!!

Would definitely rent this house again and attached are pictures of the pool area.

We went Feb 26-Mar 6th 2010 and had mid 80's weather with sun every day! For those in the NY area there is a non-stop flight from Newark,NJ to San Juan and the you can take a Cape Air flight for around $100 each way that is great and extremely easy - don't bother booking straight through as you'll pay more for no reason as you need to get your bags and go back through security anyway and Cape Air is awesome!!!

1  Thank MerJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
0 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
0 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
0 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
SeaGate Hotel
SeaGate Hotel
#3 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
397 reviews
0 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#6 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cacimar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cacimar House

Address: Villa Borinquen, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high on a Villa Borinquen hill near Isabel Segunda and 10 minutes from the beaches on fabulous Vieques, Cacimar House offers a great mix of spacious living indoors and out, handsome grounds and privacy - without sacrificing proximity to town the south shore beaches or airport. Three spacious bedrooms with lots of light - one king, one queen and one with a double and two twins. The house sleeps 6. With Cacimar House is designed over two floors, with formal dining room, open plan kitchen, equipped with dishwasher, microwave and gas stove. Bright living room with walk-outs to the spacious terrace overlooking the grounds. The laundry room with washer, dryer and stocked with linens and towels is adjacent the kitchen. One full bathroom with shower is downstairs. Cacimar House has ceiling fans and two flat screen TVs with DVD. The grounds are well kept with lime, cotton and flowering tropical plants. Cacimar House has a private pool off the terrace. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing