We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Great Location”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other traveler has booked this property
This staircase to the beach is 1.5 blocks from our house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This staircase to the beach is 1.5 blocks from our house
Rent kayaks 2 blocks from our house! Casa Orquidea is in the village of Esperanza, near the beach, groceries, resturants
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
13 reviews
This staircase to the beach is 1.5 blocks from our house
Rent kayaks 2 blocks from our house!
Casa Orquidea is in the village of Esperanza, near the beach, groceries, resturants
Master Bedroom 1 has a Queen bed, en-suite bath
Master Bedroom 2 has a King bed, bath across hall
Second Bathroom
Bedroom 3 has a single bed, room for one of our 3 Aero-beds
Living Room has comfortable pull-out sofa, TV/DVD, games
The kitchen is open and airy.
You\'ll love our patio, with weather protection, beautiful plantings
2 double vanity baths inside, PLUS our outside shower w/ Hot & Cold, sun above
Navio Beach is our favorite
Take the Leap at Navio --jump feet first only
SunBay Beach is a short drive or an easy walk
North Coast Beaches are beautiful, too!
Media Luna is calm and shallow --only knee deep 50 yards out.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dreamteam...
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Casa Orquidea is perfectly located, walking distance from el Malecon - Great dinning . The House is big, nice bathrooms and very nice Kitchen. The owners are extremely nice, and easy to contact. They have a house caretaker who lives right in front, she is very servicable.
If you go you must eat at EL Quenepo AWESOME.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillian P
Potomac, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise indeed”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 5 and a friend spent 4 glorious days at Casa Orquidea in December. The owners were extremely helpful in providing information about Vieques and about "getting to Vieques". The house feels like a home, if you are lucky to live in a Caribbean island. It is spacious and comfortable. The location is simply the best, a block from Malecon, and a short walk to beautiful beaches. The patio is by far the best feature of the house. There is nothing better than sipping pina coladas in a beautiful garden while the star fruits are hanging from nearby trees or while watching a perfect night sky. Even the surprising visit of a couple of horses in the backyard was highly entertaining (need to keep front gate closed). The house reflects the island of Vieques, a perfect place to relax and take it easy. Thanks John and Karen for sharing your home with us.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and feeling of being at
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Reviewed September 15, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fredericksburg VA
Reviewed September 12, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DC
Reviewed September 12, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2012
Mr. Samolis --thanks, and glad you enjoyed your stay. You were wise to get your rental car reserved and delivered to the house --glad we could help on that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DC
Reviewed September 11, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Daniel M
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service...until you get to the house”
Reviewed March 18, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

John and Karen were very responsive and friendly when setting up using their rental on Vieques. They provided information on how to get to Vieques from the main island, things to do, places to eat, which is all very helpful. If you ask any questions they respond right away.

I went there with my girlfriend for a three night stay. We were looking for a relaxing get away that had most everything setup. John and Karen's place advertise that.

However, once we arrived we ran into some difficulties. They are listed below:

A/C Didn't Work Initially:
Vieques is hot and AC is important in a place. The pre-arrival instructions say their housekeeper will have the A/C on before you arrive. They did not. That would have been fine, except the units require remotes to work. I followed the instructions to where the remotes were supposed to be. We found about 10 remotes in a drawer, some with batteries, some without, but none that worked. We tried and tried until I eventually called John. He did not have an immediate solution other than to look all over the house for more or call his son who had just stayed there. I called his son and left messages but never got a call back. We eventually left to get to our bio-bay tour (which we almost missed for another reason listed below). When we returned we finally found more remotes tucked into a drawer in a small table in a bedroom (far from the kitchen where they were supposed to be). We barely got one remote working to get a few units on and left it on the rest of the time since the remote died. We spent our whole first evening fighting the A/C which added stress. We were told that their "A/C guy would come get us a new remote" but no one ever came.

No Toilet Paper:
In the middle of fighting the A/C we went to the bathroom and found out the cleaners had taken all the toilet paper. I called John and he said he would call the care taker across the street to give us some. We went over and she rudely told us she didn't have any and we had to go to the store which would be closed by the time we got back from our bio-bay tour. We had to immediately take off and go find the store and rush back and almost missed our bio-bay tour because of it.

Trash Not Emptied:
The trash outside the house was plied high from previous tenants, smelly and not emptied during our stay there. The care taker also said, "Sorry it's a mess, the horses have been getting into it." I've attached a picture.

Dishwasher Broken:
We were not given a heads up that the dishwasher was broken. Someone knew it was broken given there was a computer printed sign on it that said, "Dishwasher Broken", which means it wasn't something new. We were disappointed since part of the reason for renting the house was so we had a kitchen to cook in.

Shower Head Broken:
The shower head was broken in the main bathroom. The face plate had come off. I searched for it and found it stuck in a drawer. I was able to reattach it but it occasionally popped off during showers. Also, if you stay there make sure you look in the laundry room for the in-line water heater. It was turned way down so there was no hot water unless you turn it up there.

Kayak Doesn't Work:
They advertise an inflatable Kayak but it doesn't work. The seam on the bottom is broken so it fills up with water and only stays afloat with the air inside. It's nearly impossible to navigate with it filled with water, nor is it much fun.

I emailed the owners after the trip a summary of what we ran into, but never heard back, which is unfortunate because they were very helpful prior to us getting there.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 2 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 2 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
2 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location to the main strip was great
Liked least: All the hassles we had to deal with once we got there.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2012
Karen and I are mortified that you and your girlfriend had such a difficult and dissapointing time --we will refund half of your $500 rent and invite you to come try Casa Orquidea again as our guest. Regrettably, I did not see your email.

You and your firend ran into a perfect storm of adverse circumstances, for which we offer sincere apology. We try to provide a great place --use it ourselves quite frequently and have many loyal guests-- but we failed in your case, clearly.

We flew down to Vieques on March 15, returned the 22nd and have addressed most of the problems:
-- re-emphasized to the cleaning team that toilet paper, paper towels, and A/C on is always the rule for arriving guests. Trash is regularly hauled away --guests who left as you arrived were total slobs, sorry
-- re-assembled proper set of A/C remote controls. (A/C guy says he went by, no one home, but he should have left the new one for you, sorry.)
-- dishwasher pump finally came in, and should be installed this week. months-long comedy of errors getting this done, but we will be putting "dishwasher" back on the website very soon.
--fixed the showerhead, not sure what happened there
--didn't use the kayak last trip, had no idea it had been damaged, but will address this


I'm off, to re-read "Don't Stop The Carnival" --it may make this fiasco seem less awful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$250
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing