We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Food - CLOSED

Sol Food
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Convenient and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here twice. First time we had pork carnitas (huge portion!) And a ham and cheese empanada. Second time we picked up veggie empanadas. All was fresh, hot, and yummy. The carnitas can get messy though, make sure you have napkins. Definitely worth the time and small cost!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CKTWCOLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    102
    35
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Huge Portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We got the pulled pork since she was out of the Bob Marley. I definitely wanted to try something with a little more flavor than the pulled pork. The bread was delicious. Cash only.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MariaFullofMace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Food truck for the non-food truck girl”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I am not a food truck kind of girl (nor is anybody in my family), and I'm not a meat eater - but what a wonderful surprise! At the entrance of the national park sits this permanent fixture, i believe only open on weekends; my son, the world's pickiest eater, fell in love with the empanadas, i enjoyed the vegetarian option, my husband loved the pork. We ate at the chairs behind the truck, watching the wild horses; so bummed it was closed the rest of our trip, but glad we caught it on a sunday en route to the beach. Took left overs for beach picnic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CourtneySC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Just ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We had to stop here for lunch after reading all the great reviews. My husband and I were not impressed with the food at all, maybe we should have had empanadas as other customers were raving about them. We had a chicken sandwich each ($10). The garlic sauce in mine was over powering. My hubby said his was just ok. The passion fruit iced tea was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisandra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Food on Vieques”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

For the most bang for your buck and for the tastiest food we had on the island (truly), go to the Sol Food food truck outside the natural preserve.

Get yourself the Bob Marley wrap and a mango sun tea.

Relish.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GwendolineVanDoossel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol Food also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing