We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Amazing”
Review of Oreanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oreanda
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
201 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We love Vieques, Oreanda and Tyler!

Each time we go to a Caribbean Island, we seek out a vacation rental based on its close proximity to a beach. Well, Oreanda changed all of that for us! The view takes your breath away. And it is so peaceful and quiet. Even with two casitas and the main house, it feels like you are in your own private oasis. The pool is a nice touch to start or end your day with a cool dip.

We stayed at Casita Azul. Personally, we loved the outdoor shower. And the casita had everything we needed to make our stay perfect. We were a little concerned with no AC, but the fans provided plenty of coolness at night. As for the mosquitos, we had less of a problem with them at Oreanda than other places on the island and way less than home in NC.

We really appreciated having access to beach chairs and a cooler. And we must say that the beach chairs were the highest quality we have ever experienced with head rests, shoulder straps and even an insulated pocked in the back. Tyler even found a beach umbrella for us to use.

You can’t ask for a better host than Tyler! He picked us up at the airport, brought us to our car rental place, and led us up to Oreanda. He showed us around the property, gave us our bearings on the map, and made some great recommendations for beaches and restaurants. Tyler was gracious enough to take us on a hike from the property to Black Sand Beach. You must do this! It was awesome! And we ended up meeting Tyler out several nights for beers. He's a great guy and so easy going!

Go to Vieques and stay at Oreanda!

Other Musts:
Local (Puerto Rican) micro brews on tap at Tinbox
Sol Food – great vegetarian options, perfect for picking up a meal on your way to the beach
Amazing meals at both El Quenepo and Next Course
Green Packer bar – Isla Nena Café
Gorgeous Beaches – Red, Secret, Green, Silver, Blue, Black Sand

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vegandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

First, let me say that I'm from Puerto Rico, born and raised, and I have been to Vieques 5 or 6 times before, and it gets better every time. I will not repeat everything that is said about the island in other reviews, because everything is true (there are no exaggerations: if anything, the reviews fall short as it is impossible to put into words how great Vieques is), and I'll just say that it is simply a fantastic place to go for relaxing, going to the beach, and getting away from it all. If you are thinking about going to Vieques, do yourself a favor, stop thinking and go. And if you are going to Vieques, you must definitely stay at Oreanda. As with the island itself, the reviews of Oreanda, even though they are all excellent, actually fall short of the reality of staying there. It is true that the place is beautiful, and the pictures in Tripadvisor give you a good idea what it looks like. There is a main house with a pool (the view is as spectacular as it looks in the pictures), and two "casitas", located on a hill overlooking the ocean and Esperanza. When you are at the casita, you feel at peace, you don't have a care in the world. I brought my iPad with me and I did not even turn it on! No need for that, or for TV, or anything that plugs in (except the fans). But this place is not actually a beach house, but rather a Puertorrican country house, with lots of vegetation, fruit trees, a nice breeze, all sorts of birds and other animals (when we checked in there were two wild horses on the property - there are wild horses all over the island). It is a very peaceful place, very relaxing, and you feel like you are in the country, yet, you can see the ocean and you are a 3 minute drive from the water! The casitas are comfortable, much more than the $400-a-night room you would get at the W, and you feel like you are staying at a place of your own. And to top it all off, there is Tyler, the property manager. Great guy, who offers the perfect type of service, you know, not in your face all the time, but always there to get you what you need. And not "plastic" or robotic, but sincere. The best example I can offer: on Thursday night my wife fell as we left a restaurant, and she suffered a rather extensive scratch on her leg. Nothing serious, but it required some first aid. It was after 10 pm, so I texted Tyler and told him what happened. He replied immediately and within a few minutes met us at the Casita bringing peroxide, antibiotic cream and gauzes. He even helped me clean and dress the wound, and he would not let me pay him back for all that stuff he bought. By the end of the stay, I considered him my friend. So stop reading, and rent this place right now!

Room Tip: Casita Azul has a view of the ocean, but is is further away from the entrance of the property, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OsoMarquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were delightfully surprised when we arrived in Vieques. Pictures don't do it justice. It's tropical, lush, with clear blue waters. Unlike some other islands it still has that small island feel. We arrived at our adorable cottage and I was giddy with excitement. Views of the lush tropical forest and a view of the pool that overlooks the Caribbean ocean (in the distance). The cottage itself was perfect. Very clean, comfortable bed, shower works well, great little porch for reading a book and/or drinking some beers. No AC but the fans work great (theres probably 8 fans!) They had a hot plate and since we are vegan we cooked and the hot plate came in handy. There's a decent sized pool with lounge chairs & an area with a BBQ grill that we would have probably used had we stayed longer. Theres also a second cottage they rent out on the same property which is great if you want to travel with more people. The location is perfect. Very close to Esperanza and all the beautiful beaches. Also a short drive to Isabel Segunda if you want to check out town. We prefer the Caribbean side and Esperanza stole our hearts! Tyler the property manager picked us up from the airport and gave us some great tips. He was friendly & funny & a perfect contact person. A couple of times we texted him with some requests & he immediately got back to us & assisted us with our requests. The owner Stephanie was also extremely helpful. She responded quickly to all my emails prior to the trip & gave great detail about what our stay would be like. I think the most amazing thing about this rental was all of nature's sounds at night! When the sun goes down the animals come out! It was unreal. Unlike anything we've ever heard. All in all it was an amazing experience. Were already talking about going back but staying there the entire trip next time! If you're looking for a true island experience this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColleenHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Oreanda for four nights. Besides being overall awesome, Tyler (the property manager) knew the island in and out, giving us the best recommendations on where to eat like a local, and where to find the best beaches. He picked us up at the airport in his International Scout, gave us an overview of the island and even offered to take us on a tour to the Playa Negra (Black Beach). We took him up on the recommendations, but even as an active couple, we weren't ready to take on a 1.5 hour hike to a beach. :)

Couple of things,; the cottages do not have AC, though there were fans. We rented to the cottage with the outdoor shower. It was a bit awkward to shower outside at first, but the cottage is pretty secluded making it easier to become comfortable. However by the last morning, it was difficult to shower because of the mosquitos! We brought bug spray, but it wasn't enough. I The mosquitos aren't bad after 8:30 am to 6:30 pm when its sunny. Outside of these times, or when its cloudy and rainy, you can expect to be bit. Lots of calamine lotion and hydrocortisone is recommended. Ultimately, NO where on the island is SAFE from the MOSQUITOS. IT was also nice because there was sun screen and bug spray that was on hand from prior renters. Despite the fans, and the screens, we were still bit throughout the night. If you need a quite sleep, Vieques is not the island to go to. You can definitely hear the sounds of the wild throughout the island and it gets louder at night, bring ear plugs if you need silence. Overall, it was a priceless experience and I'd recommend any nature lover to check out the island and stay with Oreanda.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkwasabi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at Oreanda for 6 nights recently, and we'd highly recommend it to anyone. The property manager, Tyler, was very helpful and friendly, always available for assistance or advice if and when you needed it (picking us up from the airport, helping with car reservations, booking adventure tours, even dinner recommendations). The property sits in a gated, quiet spot on several acres that, once entered feels entirely secluded, yet sits less than a five minute easy drive away from the strip of restaurants and bars that is Esperanza.

There is a main house and two casitas. We stayed at the casita at the back of the property. This provided plenty of privacy from the other two homes. Our casita was perfect for what we wanted; exotic, bright, airy, simple, clean, and affordable. There's a nice deck out front, and inside is everything you need; dishes, glassware, fridge, coffeemaker, books about the island, etc. There's also some beach chairs, coolers, and other items that are available for use.

The property itself is beautiful and well-maintained, with an amazing pool (with views of the ocean and surrounding hills) and shady patio area equipped with a full bbq and sink area, which we used one evening for a nice meal. This isn't a hotel, as the shower is outdoors and, as mentioned, you feel like you are in an area of secluded jungle, but you feel wrapped by the amazing property and amenities. It's the perfect combination of nature and comfort. If this is what you're looking for, you're not going to find a better place.

Have fun and tell Tyler hi for us!

Sean and Karie

Room Tip: I'd go for the casita at the back of the property, though both provide plenty of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I'm not sure where to start! I stayed at Oreanda for 4 days and I did not want to leave. The compound is incredibly clean and cozy, and it provides the perfect balance of location, comfort, and privacy. It contains two smaller houses and one main house, and it is gated all around. There is a pool and the property itself offers a spectacular view of the Caribbean and local mountains. It's only a short drive from Esperanza, horseback riding, and all of the island's wonderful beaches.

The property owner, Stephanie, is a class act. Her assistance in providing wonderful food, activity, and excursion tips were spot on and they truly enriched our vacation. The property manager, Tyler, was as helpful as helpful gets. He really knows the "ins and outs" of the island, was always accessible, and handled the logistical challenges of getting to and from the airport, getting a rental car, etc. in this completely foreign place.

If you're looking for an absolutely amazing "away from it all" vacation, offering a unique experience felt nowhere else in the US, with truly premier lodging, and the most courteous, professional, and helpful ownership and management, I would highly recommend Oreanda again and again. You will NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samike007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I went with a small group of friends over Memorial weekend. We had never been to the island before, but the owner, Stephanie, was extremely helpful with suggestions on travel, restaurants, and where the best places are to check out. The property manager, Tyler, picked us up from the airport, took us to our rental car company, and was incredibly friendly and helpful while we were there as well. We felt very at home while in this uncharted territory for us.

We got to the place and it was absolutely gorgeous. It is a small, enclosed compound with a main house and two separate guest houses. Everything was very private, secure, and peaceful. The shared pool had an amazing view of forests and the Caribbean! The property was a short drive to Esperanza, where we ate at fabulous restaurants, rented snorkel equipment, and went horseback riding.

Vieques is definitely a place to disconnect and get away from it all. In terms of cell phone reception, AT&T was our best option over the whole island. We had one person with AT&T, and three with Verizon. Verizon coverage was enough to send text messages, but that was about it. That being said, it was great to get away from technology for a while.

Overall, Oreanda was a great value for the price. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
4.8 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.0 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#2 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oreanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oreanda

Property: Oreanda
Address: Carr 201 Km 6.5, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy views of the sea, outdoor living island-style. Only a mile from Esperanza our two private casitas offer the best of Vieques: lounging by the pool, sensational sunsets, great hikes, outdoor kitchen with grill, tennis and horseback riding nearby. Pick a spot to explore, run to Playa Grande or grab a good book and unwind. The perfect blend of hospitality, independence and nature therapy. The tradewinds and fans help keep the air moving; please note we take an eco-friendly approach and do not have AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oreanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing