We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oreanda, SB13”
Review of Oreanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oreanda
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oreanda, SB13”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I cannot emphasize enough how incredible Oreanda is. It is truly a gem. A group of us were able to stay for almost a week on the entire property and there is not one thing I would have changed about our trip. The view is amazing, the amenities are perfect and the location is prime.

I felt very safe on the property even at night; the owners had attached a small flashlight to the Casita keys and although it is such a simple thing, it made a huge difference in how I felt walking to and from the main house at night. Howard and Stephanie were extremely helpful throughout the trip planning process and made me feel welcome to their home.

Vieques itself is a great little island and we had a wonderful time exploring. One of my favorite adventures was walking the riverbed behind the house down to Black Sand Beach--I definitely recommend it! It's not too far of a walk and you can take the road back for a shorter walk home (I would only recommend this during the day, you do NOT want to walk on these roads at night!)

Having access to a car was great, but the gas was a little bit of a stress since there are only 2 gas stations on the island. The house manager, Tyler, was really helpful and fun; having an islander a phone call away was very comforting for me.

We took a Bioluminescent Bay tour and it was really incredible, if you're on Vieques the Bio Bay is a must see! But if you do this tour, DO NOT bring ANYTHING on you except cash to pay for the tour, you will get wet!

We ended up taking the puddle jumper flights both ways, but there is a Ferry option to get to the island. I liked the puddle jumper for the fact that it was quick and beautiful, but I think the ferry would have been fun to take one way (and much cheaper).

Our go-to place was Duffy's; it was right on the strip with a great view and outdoor bar. I wish I was back there now!

All in all, this was a fantastic trip and I hope to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I booked Oreanda for a belated honeymoon Caribbean get-away. Our stay was a perfect mix of beach-bumming, tourist-y exploring, dining out, and relaxing at the property. Stephanie was efficient and thorough with booking, provided commuter coupons for discounted airfare, and suggested some her her favorite activities and spots on the island. Tyler, the property manager, was an incredible help - it is obvious he takes a lot of pride in the upkeep of the property (he even served us some home-grown pineapple!). He helped us arrange a bio-bay tour, a hike to a black-sand beach, a horseback tour, and in-home massages. The property itself is gorgeous - some of our favorite moments were breakfasts on the deck, overlooking mountains and ocean (an awesome view!), and lazy afternoons by the pool.

Another young couple (lawyers from NY) arrived during our stay, which, truthfully, I was concerned might spoil the serenity of our get-away. It turns out they were really nice and cool - we did the bio-bay tour together and had an impromptu 'happy hour' getting to know one another - it was just the right amount of socializing.

We loved it, and hope to return soon. As far as we are concerned it, this is Vieques at its best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GnLAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was a lovely place for us. The Azul casita was nicely decorated, roomy, and comfortable.
The property manager, Tyler, checked on us frequently to ensure that we had everything we needed and made great suggestions for activities and restaurants. The view of the Caribbean, the mountain, and the pool made it a wonderful setting to relax. We look forward to returning next year.
Paula & Fritz K.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wkuen8717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We visited Vieques for our first of surely to be many trips in January 2013. Stephanie and Howard, the new owners of the property, were extremely helpful in our trip planning. Stephanie was able to get us discounted airfare on our flights from San Juan to Vieques, as well as information for rental cars and various other questions I had prior to our trip. We stayed in both Casita Azul and Verde and loved them both - very comfortable and had everything we needed. Tyler, who is onsite and manages the property, was absolutely awesome. He is extremely knowledgeable about the island and seems to know EVERYONE on the island. He picked us up at the airport and carted us around our first evening, took us to get our rental car the next morning, gave us all the info we needed on the various beaches and sites to explore on the island, filled us in on all the restaurants, and even took us on a hike to the black sand beach. He also arranged and made reservations for all our tours and restaurants - it was like having your own personal concierge! Each evening when we would get back to Oreanda, Tyler always took the time to check in with us to talk about our adventures for the day and to make sure we were having a great time and that all was well and that we had everything we needed. I truly feel like we made a great new friend. The property itself is beautifully landscaped with an amazing view. It's just outside Esperanza (about a mile) which I found to be ideal - close enough to the town and restaurants, but far enough away to have peaceful privacy. We cannot wait to go back to Vieques and will defintely stay at Oreanda again. It gets my highest recommendation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristieDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just returned from spending 2 weeks in Casita Verde and loved every minute of it. After researching and checking out many properties, we finally decided on Oreanda only to discover that it was in the process of being sold. The new owner Stephanie contacted us via e-mail and the whole process went smoothly. Tyler, her property manager was excellent, met us at the airport and took care of anything we needed. Thanks again Tyler for the dinner recommendations, the wine, coffee beans and your company.
We especially liked the location, close enough to Esperenza to go out for dinner but still far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet that is Vieques. The only thing that disturbed that quiet were the roosters crowing, but I'm told they are everywhere on the island. We are early risers so it didn't bother us all that much.
After a long day on the beach we loved coming 'home' to have drinks by the pool while watching the sunset.....what a perfect way to end the day!
We would absolutely recommend Oreanda to anyone who wants a quiet 'non-resort' type of accommodation.

Room Tip: Stayed in Casita Verde and loved it. Had a view of the ocean and hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r10th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in Rincon and Fajardo (April 2012). After staying at luxurious El Conquistador, we wanted some peace and quietness before coming back to NYC.
Mary and Kirk were very welcoming and really helpful, they arranged for us to rent a car with Chepito and suggested restaurants and places around.
We stayed at Azul, the house is cozy and has everything you may need, they even have beach towels, beach chairs and coolers you can bring with you to the beach. Mary baked a bread and had coffee and milk for us our first day here. I think it was a great touch and it says a lot about them taking care of their guests.
The house is close to El Malecon, where all the action is taking place! Many restaurants, bars, and the best beaches.
Overall, we had a great stay in Vieques! If we plan to go back, we'll definitely considered staying here again :-)
Thanks Mary and Kirk

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had such a great time visiting Vieques and staying at Oreanda was just awesome. The Azul cassita was perfect, we had all the comforts and a beautiful pool. You will LOVE it, Tyler did an amazing job and made us feel right at home......

We can not wait to come back and visit again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cproz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
4.8 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.0 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.2 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#2 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oreanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oreanda

Property: Oreanda
Address: Carr 201 Km 6.5, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy views of the sea, outdoor living island-style. Only a mile from Esperanza our two private casitas offer the best of Vieques: lounging by the pool, sensational sunsets, great hikes, outdoor kitchen with grill, tennis and horseback riding nearby. Pick a spot to explore, run to Playa Grande or grab a good book and unwind. The perfect blend of hospitality, independence and nature therapy. The tradewinds and fans help keep the air moving; please note we take an eco-friendly approach and do not have AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oreanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing