We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oreanda
Nearby Hotels
El Blok Hotel(Esperanza)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Malecon House(Isla de Vieques)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Coral Guesthouse(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de Tortuga(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
$120
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Tamarindo(Isla de Vieques)
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acacia Guesthouse(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Esperanza Inn(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
$105
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Vieques Guesthouse(Esperanza)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Guest House(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaGate Hotel(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
89
1
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe property managerblack sandbio baybbq grilltylerporchparadiseesperanzabeachesviequescompound
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 91 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Wow, there are no better hosts than Mary and Kirk Capra- thank you!!

Perched on a hillside with a wonderful view of the ocean, the property is pristine with beautiful greenery and flowers. The accomodations are perfect.

In regards to the items listed below, there is not a restaurant and that is a good thing- Mary and Kirk treat guests to goodies such as homemade banana bread and homegrown pineapple. There is a outdoor BBQ and kitchen for all to use. No need for room service- Mary and Kirk are available when you need them and invisible when you want privacy. The whole place is a "spa".

Even before we made a reservation at Oreanda, Mary was extremely helpful and hospitable in planning our first trip to Vieques. She responded to emails, helped us to find other properties that might suit our interests,...very friendly by phone and email with no pressure to stay on their property.

We can't say enough good things about Oreanda and Mary and Kirk. Please feel free to contact us if you have questions. We would happily return to this piece of paradise!!

Peggy and Chris

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Where do I begin? From start to finish the experience at Oreanda is perfect but you cannot describe it, you have to live it. Mary and Kirk are the best laid back hosts you could have, the casitas are adorable, the vegetation is gorgeous, and Vieques is truly amazing!

We stayed at the Casita Azul which was very romantic and enjoyed cooking on the outdoor grill every
fay. We even bought huge lobsters freshly caught from a fisherman and cooked them later that night.

When the sun goes down at Oreanda, you have a beautiful sky with million of stars and if you're lucky you can see a shooting star like we did.
The sounds at night was the perfect melody to fall asleep, I don't know why people say they needed earplugs.
Can't wait to go back, already planning our next trip! Thanks Mary and Kirk for the wonderful memories!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gitana1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Staying at Oreanda was fantastic from start to finish. Mary and Kirk were so hospitable, answering our questions about Vieques before we even got there, offering to stock up on groceries so we would have something to eat as soon as we arrived, and even driving our forgotten sandwiches to us at the ferry dock after we departed! We stayed in Casita Azul which I would choose if you have the option--we saw the other casita which is very nice as well, but a bit smaller and there is no separation between bedroom and living room in that one. Just a heads up though, the only shower in Casita Azul is an outdoor shower, which was fun, but might not be for everyone since you had to walk around the house to get to it. The casita had everything we needed, and it was great to sit out on the terrace in the mornings or evenings and look out at the ocean.

Can't say enough good things about this place! Stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indigoandcerise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Our stay at Oreanda could not have been better. The property is really breathtaking and in a great location. Esperanza is a short walk or bike ride away, but you still are far enough away to have a little bit of solitude. We stayed in the Casita Azul and we absolutely loved it. it was clean, bright, airy and felt very well suited to the surroundings. From the front porch, you look out over the forest and can see down to the ocean. The place was well stocked and we had everything we needed to prepare nightly meals. We took advantage of the grill, which always had freshly stacked coals whenever you needed to use it.

Our hosts, Mary and Kirk, were so good at making us feel at home. Mary was helpful in the months before our stay when we were planning what activities we wanted to do on the island. She also provided information on getting to/from the island and renting a vehicle. Once there, Mary and Kirk were both very helpful in providing recommendations for places to eat and things to do, including hikes and bike rides. They both were very accessible while still respecting our privacy. Mary and Kirk went way beyond what we expected in making our stay comfortable, enjoyable and stress free. We wouln't hesitate to stay at Oreanda again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicagojoe35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Mary and Kirk showed us the best time ever. They were so generous and considerate and even lent us some of their personal items. The area is perfectly manicured. It was a once in a lifetime experience.

Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjohnson1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews