We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meals”
Review of Conuco

Conuco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Puerto Rican Cuisine - Lunch: Tuesday to Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Tuesday to Saturday 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great meals”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Visited this restaurant twice.
Two consistent and great evenings. Had mafungo and mampasteou. Both were interesting, authentic and delicious. Other people in the group were equally pleased.
It is a family owned and run place, lovely decor, friendly good service.
Not to be missed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RGNGJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    90
    37
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I have visited Vieques numerous times over the last few years and this was my first visit to Conuco and I must say I and my party walked away very disappointed. The service was a average however our meals were way below average for what we paid. My recommendation would be to save your money to spend at much better choices on the island.

Helpful?
1 Thank Baconsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Dinner on the Island!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

After TripAdvisor reviews led us astray on multiple occasions in Vieques (come on people, up your game when writing reviews!), we rolled the dice on Conucos in Isabel Segunda. This was the best food we had in Vieques and possible our entire Puerto Rico trip.

Drinks: two rum punches, and we asked for them to be "strong" - this is a good little tip for those of you who like rum, the sweetness of the punch really pairs well with extra rum. these were sweet but tasty. Two sangrias - which led to two more sangrias.

Appetizer: Cod fritters with caper aioli. These were ridiculous. Not over fried, the cod was nice and flaky, and the sauce was out of bounds. We regret that we only ordered 1 for the table.

Entrees (see pictures): Pork with rum reduction and cassava. The pork was a bit dry and the rum reduction was over-reduced. The cassava was the best prepared root we had in Puerto Rico. Mamposteao was wonderful and we awarded it the best meal in Vieques for overall flavor. The scallop and shrimp with coconut sauce came in a close second - the flavor on both these dishes were huge. The Chicken "Kiev" was fun and tasty but not as good as these other two dishes - but a good dish for someone who doesn't want a heavy meal or a seafood meal.

No dessert. We brought home extra Mamposteao and put over-easy eggs on it for breakfast for the win. When we come back to Vieques, we will be visiting Conucos.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great food and creative drinks, Conuco was one of our favorites on our trip to Vieques. The blend of the foods was genious and all of us the dinner we were hoping for. The crab appetizer was so good, I only wanted to eat that for the night but it was followed by shrimp, scallops and chicken that woke up our taste buds... in the most wonderful way. Don't miss this place in Isabel II!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank vermontess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious food and beverages!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We try to got to Conuco on every trip to Vieques. My husband had a mofongo and I ... don't remember what I had but it was delicious and I refused to share it. The drinks are especially delicious, including a drink sampler that we ordered to start our night. We ate in the back terrace and hung out with the neighborhood cats. It was great!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank phillytraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conuco also viewed

Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Conuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing