We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite meal in Vieques!”
Review of Conuco

Conuco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Puerto Rican Cuisine - Lunch: Tuesday to Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Tuesday to Saturday 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our favorite meal in Vieques!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

With several of the area's restaurants closed for September, we were stretching to find a place close by on a rainy night that we hadn't yet tried. Conuco was recommended by our inn keeper and we'd somehow managed to miss this place our very many visits to this main street through the week. And, we were so glad we found this!

The airy, open atmosphere was very comfortable and heavy rain on the beautiful tin roof the night we were there added to the ambiance. We really enjoyed the casual yet elegant feel the restaurant and service was spot-on, the best we experienced on the island. To start, we shared an order of Bacalaitos - a wonderful start! The caper sauce that accompanied them was so delicious that we kept it to try to find more excuses to eat it! For entrees, the whole fried fish of the night was snapper. Served "standing up right with a sea of savory creole sauce under the beautiful fish, this was the hit of the table! Perfectly cooked & seasoned, not greasy at all, the crispy skin & moist meat were perfection. A plantain stuffed with crab was also delicious, though not nearly as dramatic as the fish. Our young, teen guest was very happy with her stuffed chicken dish as well.

From the sangria to the tres leches cake dessert, everything here was perfection! Our favorite meal of many over our four days here on beautiful Vieques!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meesh7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    91
    37
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quaint new spot with flavor and design to go around”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was recommended to us and we had a really nice time. It is quite small and very well put together. There is an artist behind this place and beyond the design touches are some amazing plates. We loved the Octopus salad and the pork loan was amazing. We had 3-4 more things which I wanted to bring home since we where so full.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank scottreynolds75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“5 star cuisine in Vieques”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stumbled across this place because it was late on a Sunday and no other restaurants were open. What a find! We ended up eating there twice during our stay. The lobster Mofongo was to die for, as was the octopus salad. The atmosphere is charming and eclectic. Service was great- 2 servers for the whole restaurant but they were extremely attentive . The food is fresh- and seasoned to perfection. Our kids ordered several of the appetizers; shrimp, wings, calamari- each one was better than the other. Portions are adequate, yet a little pricey. However, if you don't mind paying for good food- this is worth it. Try the tres leche for a different spin on the dessert- a little rum sauce drizzled on top. If you are going to Vieques- definitely make this a stop!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great restaurant--delicious food”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ate at Conuco twice during our stay, it was so good. Excellent mofongo, shrimp and scallop risotto, good sangria. Friendly and attentive wait staff. Nice atmosphere in the restaurant. Cool looking bar. Definitely one of the best restaurants on the island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grecfam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We enjoyed a nice dinner here, but was not overwhelmed with the food. The service was good and the atmosphere was nice and the place was clean. I felt some of the items had a spices that I did not care for. Drinks were expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlobar_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conuco also viewed

Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Conuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing