We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, with a view too”
Review of Next Course

Next Course
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Caribbean lobster, local market fish, house dry aged beef, home made pastas. A menu that encompasses American cuisine with Caribbean flair with something for everyone.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, with a view too”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Party of 4 were all delighted. I had best carpacio ever had; short ribs with papardielle pasta was devine. Salmon was great-moist & delicious. Dessert special with ice cream was disappointing though-ice crystals in it & lacked creativity. Excellent service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    179
    61
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tlcrn
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food in Vieques!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing! Everything was great. Great service! We started off with a dirty martini with Visalia onion infused vodka. Amazing. The bacon wrapped dates stuffed with Gorgonzola were to die for. I had the shrimp and grits. So good. My husband kept eating off my plate. The views of the lush surroundings are beautiful and romantic! Highly recommend!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tlcrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent menu and great service”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I didn't have high hopes about finding good vegetarian food in Vieques (it's always challenging in Puerto Rico). I was proven wrong at several places we ate, but Next Course was by far the best. They had an excellent menu, good cocktails, and great service. Oh, and they have a patio from which you can see the ocean and the island of Puerto Rico. We will definitely be back next time we're in Vieques!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank plinkonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Continental Food with Excellent Service”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Outstanding light, flavorful international cooking with sharp wait staff. What's not to like? Quite a change from the normal Viequesianne restaurant - prompt, on the ball, mostly invisible service. Excellent spinach salad (kind of a test - if the spinach salad is sub-par, well perhaps the entire menu leaves something to be desired), with strawberry vinaigrette and blue cheese. The small plates are great...Japanese pork dumplings and also the spring rolls, with flavorful sauces. At $11 for the two small dishes, it's a bargain as well. The salmon stuffed with lobster very fine indeed ($28), the lamb special ($35). Comprehensive wine list and 6 wines by the glass. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank foodiesweareyoutoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous atmosphere enhances the amazing culinary delights”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My 55th birthday was celebrated over the most succulently delicious Caribbean lobster ever- the drinks were amazing, the desserts were unbelievable: fudge chocolate ice cream rolled in pecans and a waffle covered in ice cream and whipped cream- I could not resist anything that was placed before me! The waiter obligingly took photos. I was fully indulged! Expensive and well worth it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank karolvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Next Course also viewed

Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Esperanza, Isla de Vieques
 

Been to Next Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing