We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to stay, highly recommend this hotel!!”
Review of Malecon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malecon House
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“wonderful place to stay, highly recommend this hotel!!”
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed at the Malecon House for our babymoon vacation. We had a wonderful stay there and really enjoyed getting to know the island. The rooms were beautifully decorated with gorgeous furniture and the whole place was emaculate. The continental breakfast was very sufficient each day and the tiny pool was the perfect, quiet place to rest and cool off at the end of a long hot day. We loved our stay at the Malecon House and would gladly vacation there again.

We would suggest renting a car for a portion or all of your stay since the beach is a pretty long (but manageable) walk, but if you want to see all the other beautiful beaches in the area you will need to drive. Taxis are very rare and they won't come back to pick you up at a beach even if you found one. There are several good restaurants on the Malecon strip all within easy walking distance.

This is a VERY quiet and secluded place to vacation. If you are looking to party, I don't think this is the right place for you. Best for people who want to relax and enjoy a fairly untouched natural wonder. Beware of the wild horses. They are beautiful and everywhere but if you make the mistake of leaving a tiny bit of food or even trash that smells of food in your beach bag, they will raid your beach camp looking for it. Also be careful not to leave food in your car and the window down. They will stick their heads right in the window to get it. Otherwise the horses are amazing to see.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cssarmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    50
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
94
262
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Malecon House was exceptionally clean, perfectly located, private and personable. You should change your vacation to stay as long as you can on Vieques with Malecon House. Marsha and Robin's recommendations and advice for tour operators, restaurants, events, and locations were superb. We stayed in #11 with front balcony that overlooked the pool and the Caribbean with moored boats - beautiful! Dont forget to have a glass of wine on the balcony or even the roof. Can't say enough good things...wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csomam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Malecon House is wonderful. Clearly a lot of thought went into design, materials and decor. The rooms and bathrooms are beautiful. Also the vegetation in the common areas and around the pool is stunning, as are the views. It's an extremely pleasant environment to return to after a day at the beach.

Marsha and Robin are lovely and very helpful. We arrived on May 31, a holiday. While having lunch at a nearby restaurant we called several car rental agencies. None had cars available. We called Robin, and within minutes he hooked us up and a Jeep was delivered to the restaurant!

Malecon House and Vieques were highlights of our vacation in Puerto Rico. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acctour0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We just spent one night and two days in Vieques and this pretty hotel was really nice!
The hot water is very hot! the rooms are small but clean and well organized. All the furniture is minimalism and pretty taste!!
We recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabanallc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We spent three nights at Malecon House with our 2 kids. The remodel of this Vieques home has made it pretty, bright, airy and very well built with modern details and a clean, simple layout. A shady respite for beach-goers. However, there is very little in the way of common areas to sit and hang out, breakfast is under the canopy in front of the parking lot, adjacent to the main hallway and office. The pool is quite small and there's an element of invading the owner's personal space because they have their full-time home in and among the guest areas. We felt a bit confined with kids here. The rooms are comfortable but very stark with no real place to sit, read, etc. except for the beds. The beds were up against the windows, leaving no real views upon wake-up, also adding to a feeling of confinement. The pretty beach pictured in front of the hotel on the website is a nice view of the ocean but not really a beach - you must have a car here to drive to one - but just the water's edge at the Malecon, which is a much shorter stretch of places (maybe 2 or 3 iffy shops, 3 restaurants, etc.) than we imagined...and we did not imagine a whole lot. All in all a nice clean place to stay, but I'm not sure its worth the boutique price tag (which, by the way, you have to pay in full up front!) ...and just so-so if you want a sort of home base with kiddos.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dlrjtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Stayed one night May 30th on a busy holiday weekend as an add on to our vacation to Puerto Rico. The inn, the innkeepers and the island of Vieques ended up being the best part of our trip. The Malecon house is the nicest accomodation on the Malecon in Esperanza. The location is perfect, still where all the action is but far enough away that you hardly hear it. The rooms are nice and bright, clean and the bed was very comfy. The water is solar heated and very hot for a great shower! Breakfast was nice with excellent coffee...far better than the coffee we had been drinking all week. The views are amazing. We had a miscommunication with our tour guide for the Bio Bay and Marsha made sure we got picked up and did not miss the tour. We highly recommend the inn.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjoyce24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akloer
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We recently stayed at the Malecon house for two nights and had a wonderful experience! The hotel is beautifully designed, clean and zen-like, with a simple elegance that's rare in Caribbean hotels. The pool is intimate and feels like a private oasis. Our room had its own private balcony, mini fridge, and a wonderfully comfy bed. It was excellent for a romantic stay for a couple, which is exactly what we were looking for. Plus, elements are heating using solar power and other green technologies.

The hotel owners/operators are a charming and down-to-earth couple, who even offered to lend us money when we had trouble finding a local ATM (there is only one on the whole island). The muffins are delicious, the towels are soft, and we truly felt like guests rather than customers. I would (and did) recommend this hotel to my mother.

The Malecon House is located right on the main strip of Esperanza, which is tiny but charming. Rent a car if you plan to travel around the island a lot. But we were fine parked by the pool, beach, or local bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Overall, one of our top hotel experiences.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaEnRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,816 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
566 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.3 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
235 reviews
46.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malecon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malecon House

Property: Malecon House
Address: 105 Calle Flamboyan, 00765-4003, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Malecon House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recipient of TripAdvisor's 2015 Excellence Hall of Fame Award, Malecon House is a 13-room inn situated on the Malecon, a fun, picturesque Caribbean seaside boardwalk in the charming village of Esperanza, Vieques, Puerto Rico. Stroll to interesting beach bars, a variety of restaurants, boutiques and exciting island-style activities. Close by, enjoy fine dining, upscale shopping, funky exotic nightlife, exhilarating ocean sports and beaches of unmatched natural beauty. Or enjoy peaceful seaside relaxation in the hotel’s beautiful gardens and oasis pool. The bioluminescent bay tours pick up right down the street where you can also rent snorkel gear, kayaks and jet skis. Free onsite parking though a car is not essential. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast on our sea view terrace where you can savor Puerto Rican coffee, tea, cereal, fresh fruit and homemade muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Malecon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malecon House Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing