We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax in Vieques”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malecon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malecon House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
2 reviews
“Perfect place to relax in Vieques”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

We recently stayed 4 nights at Malecon House as part of a relaxing break to Vieques to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life in London. It turned out to be a great choice from both the island and accommodation perspective. From before our arrival the owners, Marsha and Robin been incredibly helpful in locating rental cars, finding flights, etc and this was a feature throughout our stay. They were happy to book us on excursions to the luminescent bay and even pop down the esperanza waterfront to let us know that the 9pm departure was cancelled - which handily allowed us yet more sleep! They were absolutely perfect hosts that take pride in their lovely B&B.

The rooms are new, clean and tidy and the daily service means that this is how they stay throughout the week. Towels were changed, bathrooms kept clean and overhead fans and air-conditioning worked perfectly. The bed was also very comfortable, which was handy give the amount of sleeping we seemed keen to do. There is also a lovely plunge pool with very comfortable sun chairs.

Malecon House itself is just at one end of Esperanza meaning the various restaurants and bars are all in a minute walk along the road with the idyllic view out to the harbour and sea in front of you. However, once back at the house you would think you were miles away from anywhere, with little or no noise that we noticed during the entire stay.

Overall we had a great stay at Malecon House and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleDorotka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    50
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
90
254
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

I stayed here with a friend on a brief vacation between work projects, and we LOVED it. The location is perfect, the setting is beautiful, and the service was impeccable. The continental breakfast overlooking the Carribean every morning was lovely, and the whole place was bright, white, and lovely. Marsha and Robin were gracious hosts who were very helpful to us as we figured out activities and dining during our stay. Definitely the nicest & best place to stay in Esperanza!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

Beautiful location, right on the malecon; just steps from swimming beach, and short walk to sun bay. Backyard pool to relax in after a day exploring was a big plus. Extremely clean, comfy beds. Because it was a bit out of our price range, we booked only two nights, but ended up staying five (and they were kind enough to upgrade our room with no extra cost). They also have a library, games, internet access, maps, and the owners were very approachable and open to answering any questions we had. Also, they use eco-friendly solar power.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstyNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

This place is great, and great value for the cost. The rooms are spacious and beautiful- a truly relaxing place to come home to at night. The owners went out of their way to help us with reservations, recommendations etc. The location is perfect- right across the street from the beach and near the Esperanza nightlife, but not so close that the noise kept us up at night. Wonderful breakfast and great coffee. We'll definitely stay here again when we return to Vieques.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

Very nice, clean and friendly!!


..........

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AZ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Accomodations were very nice, location excellent and good value.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpl5089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

My girlfriend and I were planning a trip to Puerto Rico, and a friend insisted we visit Vieques. It was an incredible place, but one of the greatest parts was having a charming room to call home for the few days we were there. Located at the end of a sleepy beach road that goes along the Caribean is the Malecon House--far enough away from the bars on the street to get a good night's sleep, but close enough that you can have a cocktail or great dining only a few doors down.

The rooms are quaint, and an evening on the roof deck is the perfect way to end a day of relaxing on the beach.

Best of all, the owners are warm and friendly. When we had to postpone our trip because of a blizzard in our home town of New York, they changed the reservation immediately, without charging us as all.

If you're looking for relaxing days and fun-filled nights--this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
4.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
46.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malecon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malecon House

Property: Malecon House
Address: 105 Calle Flamboyan, 00765-4003, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Malecon House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recipient of TripAdvisor's 2015 Excellence Hall of Fame Award, Malecon House is a 13-room inn situated on the Malecon, a fun, picturesque Caribbean seaside boardwalk in the charming village of Esperanza, Vieques, Puerto Rico. Stroll to interesting beach bars, a variety of restaurants, boutiques and exciting island-style activities. Close by, enjoy fine dining, upscale shopping, funky exotic nightlife, exhilarating ocean sports and beaches of unmatched natural beauty. Or enjoy peaceful seaside relaxation in the hotel’s beautiful gardens and oasis pool. The bioluminescent bay tours pick up right down the street where you can also rent snorkel gear, kayaks and jet skis. Free onsite parking though a car is not essential. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast on our sea view terrace where you can savor Puerto Rican coffee, tea, cereal, fresh fruit and homemade muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Malecon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malecon House Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing