We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they went above and beyond”
Review of Malecon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malecon House
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 23, 2010

One would have thought this young couple had owned this place forever. Every detail was attended to. The rooms were so very clean, bright and breezy. There was always someone avaiable when we asked for beach chairs,coolers,wine bucket,etc. All items were brought out new and shiney with a smile. A continental breakfast was also provided. The homemade muffins by the local " Muffin Lady " were fabulous. How can you not have a great day when your morning starts with a decadent pina colada muffin?

There is a beautiful lap pool to cool off with at the end of a day on the beach. Great photo of it on their web page.

In fact there is a photo of every room on their web with the price reflected...I love this!!! ..

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capeair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 456 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2010

The Malecon House is a brand new 10 room guest house completely renovated by owners Marsha and Robin. My wife and three children (ages 13, 11 & 10) stayed here for eight nights. Based on my conversation with local business owners as well my observations of other accomodations, the Malecon House is clearly head and shoulders above the other guest houses in the area. It is located at the very south west end of the Malecon in Esperanza. We stayed in the two rooms facing the ocean that were connected via the balcony that spanned across the entire front of the building. It was lovely sitting up there reading, relaxing and enjoying the ocean, scenery and breeze. The rooms are incredibly clean and very tastefully decorated. The bathrooms each have a glassed in shower. The rooms do not have TV and it was refreshing not having that distraction.

There is a small pool that has shade in the morning and mounting sun in the afternoon. All of our kids are on the swim team and would have preferred a larger pool, but they loved the two fountains in it and the general uniqueness of the pool. Each morning Marsha would put out a breakfast consisting of local coffee, cereal, fruit and fresh pasteries or sweets from the local bakery. The staff were all incredibly friendly. Marsha and Robin were extremely helpful with ideas, directions, arranging tours etc. We ended up feeling like family by the end of our trip. The owners did a great job with their property.

LOCATION: It is ideally located in Esperanza. It is right on the Malecon and all of the stores and restaurants are easily walkable. A small grocery store is a few blocks away and two other groceries are a short (3 minute) drive away.

BEACHES: Rent a car. Most if not all of the beaches are really a car drive away. Two of the more recommended beaches (Green and Red) were closed due to road work. We visited four or five beaches throughout our stay. We found our favorite beach on the last day and would recommend going to this small beach called Navio.

BIO-BAY TOUR: One of the main reasons why we visited Vieques. A must see. It is one of, if not, the brightest bioluminescent locations in the world. You can either go by kayak or on an electric boat.

SLEEP QUALITY: I want to address why I scored it lower. The room I slept in had windows with no shades and a motion detection light shone into it whenever a guest walked up the stairs. Easily rectified with a shade or two. The other room we had on the opposite side did not have the same issue and the occupants slept peacefully.

VIEQUES: I prefer walking out of my room right onto the beach as opposed to having to cart the kids to and from the beach via a car. We did not do too much exploring of the island as we really enjoyed staying at the Malecon House relaxing most of the day and then to the beach after 3:30 or so. The limited driving around that I did revealed a very cool and unique island where horses roam the streets and the people are incredibly friendly. If not being directly on a usable beach is okay, then Vieques is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Malecon House is a brand new property right on the strip in Esperanza. Marsha and Robin have done a fabulous job with this property! Everything is new, clean and beautiful - Marsha you've got great taste!!! Absolutely the best place to stay in Esperanza......NO DOUBT! Other properties just aren't in the same league.

We enjoyed breakfast every morning while facing the beautiful ocean. The rooms were pristine, bathrooms were great, great water pressure, plenty of hot water, etc. Malecon House is a beautiful property but Marsha and Robin made us feel like family. We simply can't say enough about their hospitality or their coffee!

FYI...if you are considering traveling to Vieques, be sure to make your car reservations in advance. A car is a MUST on the island. Once again, thanks Marsha!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shayne1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Matías O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Nico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViequesPom, General Manager at Malecon House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
3.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
60.3 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.7 mi away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
4.7 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
31.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malecon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malecon House

Address: 105 Calle Flamboyan, 00765-4003, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $194 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Malecon House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recipient of TripAdvisor's 2015 Excellence Hall of Fame Award, Malecon House is a 13-room inn situated on the Malecon, a fun, picturesque Caribbean seaside boardwalk in the charming village of Esperanza, Vieques, Puerto Rico. Stroll to interesting beach bars, a variety of restaurants, boutiques and exciting island-style activities. Close by, enjoy fine dining, upscale shopping, funky exotic nightlife, exhilarating ocean sports and beaches of unmatched natural beauty. Or enjoy peaceful seaside relaxation in the hotel’s beautiful gardens and oasis pool. The bioluminescent bay tours pick up right down the street where you can also rent snorkel gear, kayaks and jet skis. Free onsite parking though a car is not essential. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast on our sea view terrace where you can savor Puerto Rican coffee, tea, cereal, fresh fruit and homemade muffins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Malecon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malecon House Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing