We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect if you're looking for fun and aren't afraid of rough edges”
Review of La Finca Vieques

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Finca Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Corky and Bill are very welcoming hosts, the grounds are gorgeous, and everything about this place screams easy relaxation. As long as you're not some luxury monster afraid of some rough edges. We left a few beers there. Don't drink them.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melshocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 206 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed 4 nights in the Cabanita at La Finca and we couldn't have made a better choice. Courtney and Bill were generous, friendly and extremely helpful and the grounds were stunning. Very lush. It's a gorgeous, tranquil environment tucked away in a tropical jungle. The main house connected to the shared rooms has a large covered deck overlooking the jungle with a hint of the ocean in the distance. We spent hours at night on the bench swing listening to the frog and jungle chirps.....beautiful. Having spent most of our days and evenings by the water and on the beaches, going home to a lovely interior environment like this added variety we weren't expecting. The amenities are different here - rather than the things you would expect from a hotel like tiny toiletries, room service and daily maid service you get hosts that go above and beyond to make your Vieques experience fulfilling, offer you snorkel gear and beach chairs to borrow and a sense of being at home taking care of yourselves the way you like. All they ask is quiet time from 10 - 8 and consideration of others. The rooms, beds and bathrooms (we had an outdoor shower) may feel a bit like "roughing it" if you're not the outdoor type or used to carpeted hotel rooms. It's luxury of a different sort.

Room Tip: The cabanita was far away from the main house and right next to a larger stand-alone room/house. Def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My fiance and I are extremely harsh critics, but we were absolutely charmed by the island paradise that is La Finca. We stayed for three nights in January. It was beautiful, peaceful, clean, affordable, and luxurious, and management was warm and friendly, organized, and extremely helpful. We were particularly excited about all the fruit trees (coconut, banana, starfruit, etc.), the various hammocks, and by the free snorkel gear rentals!

Bear in mind, if you're looking for a perfectly private and silent space, you probably won't find that at La Finca or ANYWHERE else on Vieques. However, if you set your expectations to allow for a semi-outdoor experience, with sounds of nature and the occasional dip in shower temperature, then you can't do better than La Finca. Indeed, we hope to go back again some day.

Room Tip: We stayed in a charming independent cabin for two called The Casita. It has a private bathroom with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unipsychologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We really enjoyed the open, relaxed atmosphere of Casa Grande and the comfortable feeling of place. Dark at night so we could watch the stars, ocean off in the distance, breezy and quiet through the day, beaches and stuff not far away, time and space to walk. Traveling with a large family group, there was room for the kids (teen boys) to do their thing, too. The experience was that of a retreat up into a wooded canyon - away from the relentless quest for novel luxury and easy to let your mind spin down from day-to-day life.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Hammocks, stars, outdoor showers, an incredible view - who can ask for more? Vacationing on Vieques - we stayed off the beaten path in this amazing getaway. Be prepared to meet lovely people and be in a state of utter relaxation. Beds are comfy and the location on the island made you feel away from noise and tourists - in a tropical private world...Must stay!

Room Tip: If it's available, get a casita or one of the separate cabanas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at La Finca Caribe 4 nights and had a wonderful time. Like the other reviewers here say, the cabins are rustic but are in great shape, well maintained and charming. The views are gorgeous, and the place has a wonderful rainforest vibe. We got to meet 2 pairs of hosts - Graham and Pam, who cooked us a delicious dinner on the night we arrived and got us settled in. Two days later they left for Saint Thomas, and Amber and Robert came to care for the property in their stead. Amber and Robert had us over to the main house for snacks, rum and guitar songs every night and told us all about the island of Vieques, the places we should go and the people to do business with. We also met the resident puppy, Blanca, who was a bundle of positive energy.
If you care about hospitality, good vibes, nature and great energy more than about luxuries, you cannot go wrong with La Finca Caribe.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oleg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed in the main house for 2 nights. My friend and I were the only ones staying there at that time, so we had the whole house to ourselves. The house is rustic, but charming, and the views are outstanding. The property is gorgeous, lush, and nicely landscaped, a tropical paradise. While it is not luxurious, it is clean and comfortable. If you want a real tropical island experience, this is the perfect place. The care takers were super nice and helpful as well. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rio83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corkyparker, Owner at La Finca Vieques, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

so glad you braved the elements -- hurricane season and all -- and came down. its actually such a great time of year for folks who like extra space and privacy. thanks -- for the visit and your sweet review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
2 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 5 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
2.5 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#2 of 5 in Isla de Vieques
1,844 reviews
1.9 mi away
Esperanza Inn
Esperanza Inn
#2 of 24 in Isla de Vieques
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
242 reviews
4.5 mi away
SeaGate Hotel
SeaGate Hotel
#2 of 27 in Isla de Vieques
399 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tropical Guest House
Tropical Guest House
#3 of 27 in Isla de Vieques
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Finca Vieques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Finca Vieques

Address: Rte. 995, km 1.2 | Barrio Pilon, 00765, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Finca Caribe)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $87 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques' most beautiful rustic getaway and original eco-tourism destination since 1995....A rare taste of the Caribbean -- the way it used to be, quiet, natural & affordable. Perfect for groups of two to thirty, workshops, family reunions, or romantic getaways for just the two of you. Anyone who likes off the beaten track and wants to experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be: quiet, natural and affordable. Salt water pool, outdoor showers, hammocks, views and breezes. La Finca is a cluster of handmade houses -- our large wooden main house, Casa Grande, alone can sleep 18-22, but we also have two family size cabanas and two smaller casitas, all on 3 acres of fruit trees & palms, on the off-beat island of Vieques, seven miles from Puerto Rico's eastern shore; a 25 minute flight and a world away from San Juan....We're up in the hills, with beautiful views and tradewinds, three miles away from the bustle of town...Talk about getting away! We're not a hotel, or a b&b ... The finca is our family's own private "finca" that we love to share with like-minded eco travelers -- folks who like things as natural and simple as possible. Our towels don't match, our showers are outdoors (don't worry -- they're private), the skies are jet black and studded with stars, and the property is dotted in coco palms, mangoes, starfruit, bananas, and a dozen hammocks ... Tropical summer camp, quiet and beautiful. Think Swiss Family Robinson... (Please note: Feb-March 2015 renting the whole finca means all houses/cabins with exception of Cabanita and includes 10 bedrooms with 7 baths and can sleep up to 33.) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Finca Caribe Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing