We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
179
22
1
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
22
1
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house other guests rustic retreat farmers market board games mango falling asleep san juan morning coffee sun bay scott starfruit hammocks porch hosts casita frogs
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 206 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A pal and I just stayed at La Finca for five nights, lodged in the Family cabana. The stay was wonderful and really exceeded our expectations. The setting is beautiful. I loved reading while installed in one of the swinging benches on the porches...grilling dinner on our cabin's barbeque...eating on our terrace....listening to evening frogs or the patter of a rainshower on the roof. A morning coffee and an evening cocktail enjoyed on the main house terrace overlooking treetop with a view of the sea became daily rituals for us. One feels perfectly comfortable either keeping to oneself, chatting with fellow guests or tapping into the knowledge and guidance of the owners Corky and Bill. Thanks to them, we were steered to some wonderful island restaurants, beaches and outings. Our cabin's decor was the opposite of cookie-cutter. It had been furnished with cheerful, good-taste...though I will mention that it is not the place if you want all your towels to match...ditto kitchen plates. Next time I visit (soon I hope), I place to mobilize my friends as this is a place that could also be great for a group. There! First time I've written a hotel review, but La Finca deserves it.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corkyparker, Owner at La Finca Vieques, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

We blush! But still -- we love hearing that we've made your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for sharing. Our mission is providing real folks like you, the real Caribbean...casual, beautiful, natural. Muchas gracias! Come back next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

La Finca is the perfect place to stay in Vieques. It's simple and beautiful and very cozy. The rooms are rustic, very clean and breezy. The showers were our favourite part, they are communal, with curtains for privacy, and you can see the sky, stars and trees while you shower. So refreshing after a long day at the beach. The place has a communal kitchen, where we met many other travelers and ate, and there is a beautiful deck that overlooks the jungle, with lights and candles set up at night on the tables. The place is a little far from the beach and town (by far i mean only 3 miles), but if you have a car or scooter it's no problem at all. Just make sure you have some sort of transportation (book cars in advance), cabs aren't so reliable on the island and biking is hard with the hills. But you don't want to stay right in Esperanza, it's noisy at night...the location of La Finca was just right for fresh air and serenity.

The owner of the place, Corkey, is a rare and beautiful human being. We were three young women and she was very helpful with directions, places to eat, tours to take etc...she also drove us to the airport when our cab bailed on us..if it wasn't for her kindness, we would have missed our flight. She also chatted with us and genuinely took an interest in our visit...we felt safe and can ask her for any advice! Thanks again Corky, you're the best!

Sarah

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I rarely write reviews, but I felt the need to share my amazing experience at La Finca Caribe on Vieques. The compound is the perfect place to call your home base as you explore. If you crave simple rooms with screened windows and doors that let in the evening breeze; hammocks that overlook the rolling hillside down to the ocean; a drive through a jungle where it feels if you were to stop for too long, the vines might make you part of them; and on-site hosts who look forward to offering their estate to you, and helping you discover the beauty of the island, than this place is for you. I will return again and again. The rates are extremely reasonable, and the place is in beautiful shape. They offer any combination of separate houses with bath, or a room in the larger house, with shared showers. Definitely more of a camp feel than a luxury hotel though, so if you're looking for the latter, you'd be better off at the "W" down the hill.

Room tip: All the rooms are great, but we stayed in the Casa Nueva, which had a great open space downstairs with a nice kitchen, and living room, plus two twin beds, and a half bath. Upstairs is a full bed, and another half bath. The amazing showers are under the stars outside (private). This house has a wrap around balcony as well.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RusticM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corkyparker, Owner at La Finca Vieques, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Hey rustic m,
Thanks so much for the sweet words, and of course for coming or stay with us. you so totally get the finca! we love sharing the place, with folks like yourself! so come on back -- like you promise here, and send your friends. Lonely Planet says "la Finca caribe personifies Vieques" . -- but, its not just this magic place....it wouldn't be near as special without our wonderful guests, like you!
( and really this response should go to all the folks who've taken the time to write such sweet reviews...thank you all! Sorry I just don't get the time to write often enough! ) cheers, corky & bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I got the best nights sleep and had the most relaxing time here. Open air, quiet nights (with the frogs!) and really low-key lodgings made this place just what I have been looking for. Pam & Graham were phenomenal hosts and the low-impact style of La Finca Caribe made the stay worry free. Thanks again for a great time and make sure to add to the karma jar! The good karma will keep coming your way when there.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewNBernier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This place was absolutely wonderful. This is the kind of place we look for whenever we travel. We could not have dreamed up a better fit. It is the perfect combination of comfort and rustic charm. The rooms have a ton of character but are still well taken-care-of. We were worried about the lack of AC in the middle of August, but the breeze in the room was fantastic (and a little help from the fans). The veranda and open common spaces were awesome, we had to tear ourselves away to go to the beach. Great views of the jungle and ocean in the distance. The kitchen was fully stocked and open to the forest, which was a delight to cook in. The showers were great - a treat to be surrounded by trees while you shower! We were originally a bit concerned about being so far from the beaches (not walking distance), but you really need a car anyway to get the full Vieques experience, so it wasnt a problem. Pam and Graham, who manage the property in the off-season, were wonderfully accommodating, very friendly, and very knowledgeable. I would stay here over the W any day!

Room tip: Room 3 was great -- though it's not the biggest, they consider it the best room in the main guest house because it gets the best breeze and has a great view of the ocean (rather than the front yard), and is right next to the upstairs patio with two hammocks.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelWarrior1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews