We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good for Ferry Travellers”
Review of Al's Mar Azul

Al's Mar Azul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A waterfront dive popular as a pool by day, and hangout spot by night.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location is good for Ferry Travellers”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Wish I knew how close this little dive was to the ferry. When you walk off the ferry, hand a left and go up about 2 blocks. You will want to have some grub and beer here before contemplating your next move. Getting of the ferry things can be a little crazy - this is a good spot to unwind. Food is decent/average, but the hot wings were definitely hot.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Haleh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    86
    24
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malden, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favorite dive”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This place is the first place I go when I land on the island. Its where I get my first taste- a Painkiller. The staff and owners are great people who welcome you as if you're there every day.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, NV
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Dive bar at it's best”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is the place where the locals hang. Awesome ocean vistas. It was our choice for sunsets. We were many times during our visit and always enjoyed it. A friendly place with good drinks and while they only serve bar food it's more than adequate to tide you over.
If you get an opportunity don't miss karaoke Saturday nights.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TahoeHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Isabelle II bar scene, best conch fritters!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Mar Azul was good enough to get us in our jeep to drive back to Isabelle II for happy hour and food on at least half of our nights in Vieques (we stayed on the other side in Esperanza).

Awesome sunsets, great low key atmosphere with wonderful service. We felt at home. We felt local.

Try the conch fitters. Repeat. Eat them with #15 hot sauce.

Specialty food nights were good... try the deep fired pork shoulder on Mexican night. Wow.

Sunsets, drinks and food, as a combo, were unbeatable here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GStarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Drinks and Great Service”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The folks here are super laid back and really nice. They made us some great rum drinks and have excellent food. Great place to watch the sunset. Close the ferry dock too which is nice.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bigbillyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al's Mar Azul also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Al's Mar Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing