We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Day Trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Bay

Sun Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Vieques Bioluminescent Bay Night Kayak Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If paradise had palm trees...they'd call it Sun Bay.
Dover, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Day Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We took a ferry to Vieques not know anything about the island. Upon arrival, we got off the boat and saw numerous taxi cabs taking tourists to different beaches. Not know any particular beach, we heard a cabbie say "sun bay beach"...so we went with him. The island is full of wild horses and we definitely saw a bunch during our ride to the beach. Upon arriving to the beach, we walked out and were amazed at the view. It's gorgeous. And shaded. We started walking around the beach to another area where they had a lot of boats anchored up. We rented some kayaks and paddled to a small island where we snorkeled for a bit. After that we went and had lunch at one of the nearby restaurants called "Ducky's" (I think). Drinks there were awesome. We looked around at the small shops then headed back to the main beach. That's when we noticed the wild horses playing on the beach. It was a great day trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    175
    49
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
124 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Awesome and secluded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great place to spend the day doing nothing. The beach is decently full of debris (old palm fronds and such), but the sand is still soft near the water and the bay is beautiful. Stick around for sunset if you can.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Beach with Shade!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Sun Bay Beach is gorgeous (my favorite after Caracas – the Red Beach). It is one of the few beaches were there is lots of shade due to many high palm trees and shrubs. It is a long beach with white sand and turquoise water – a true eye candy. And there are no people – as with any beach in Vieques! Feels like the beach belongs to you alone. I mean, there are a few people but you don’t really see them. To get there, you have to go through a small park area where you will see lots of wild horses just wandering around – be careful driving through as they unexpectedly move about. They are also walking around the beach area. There are no amenities there (as with most or all (?) beaches on the island) so be prepared. Get some water, snacks, beer and lots and lots of sun screen. The sun is brutal! Watch out for parking signs. The rangers come and check.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank blackslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Most beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Sunbay beach is one of my favorite beach in Vieques , PR . to go in with your vehicle you have to pay 2 dollars but is worth it , the beach is so clean there's areas for camping, showers, etc. If you come walking is free. But inside you get to see other beaches like Media Luna , Navio beach and the entrance of the Bioluminescent bay. Vieques has the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Santy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was a very popular beach since it was the first you came to in the Sun Bay Park. The first day we went there was no one at the gate so we got in free. The second day it was $2 to enter. There were a dozen or so horses roaming around in the front parking lot and along this beach- so neat to see. We preferred to keep driving to a more secluded area, but this is still beautiful with plenty of shade spots under palm trees.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Bay also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Sun Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing